We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunningly perfect place for two”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Le Cerisier

Le Cerisier, taken from the owners' property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Le Cerisier, taken from the owners' property
Comfortable seating and the entrance doors Exposed beams
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Le Cerisier, taken from the owners' property
Comfortable seating and the entrance doors
Exposed beams
General view of upstairs living area
The kitchen
Dining area and kitchen
Super king size bed
The shower room
Shower
Shady spot by the pool
Perfect for a late evening dip
Relax!
The private garden
Private garden from another angle
Leading up to the gite
The scented white lilac tree in May, just next to the gite.
The Cherry Tree - just reach over and pick!
Full of fruit!
Spring time
Coffee on the balcony
From the pool
Corner of the garden
The height of summer
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cognac, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vanessa C
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunningly perfect place for two”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had the most relaxing and enjoyable week. The owners are on hand should you have any questions. The gite is perfectly placed on the property and is fully equipped with everything you could possibly need. The pool is an added bonus for those hotter than average June days and the bedroom remained cool throughout our stay. The surroundings will take your breath away, well, they did mine. You are surrounded by vines beyond the walled garden that were a true delight. I sincerely hope to return in the near future.

John and Yvonne, you have a true gem , in Le Cerisier.

Best wishes to you both and cuddles to Clyde

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Was ideal getaway for two
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write a review of Le Cerisier - we are really grateful. It's good to know that everything went to plan and that you were able to relax in the calm that is Le Cerisier. We too think we have found a gem and are more than happy when our guests tell us that they have enjoyed their time with us. We do hope to see you both back here again in the not too distant future. Clyde says thank you for the cuddles!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1webwiz
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Spectacular Accommodations & Ideal Loaction to Explore the Charente!”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

One just can't say enough about Le Cerisier. All the previous reviewers were completely accurate in their descriptions. John and Yvonne are wonderful hosts. They were totally prepared for our arrival and even invited us to join them for apéro our first evening there. As we are traveling through the the Charente and Aquitaine regions considering where we would like to live when we are both retired in two years, we really appreciated the opportunity to talk with them about their own experience living as expats in France.

In addition, our hosts provided great recommendations and advice about the area. One in particular that shouldn't be missed is a visit to the G & C Raby cognac producers located within walking distance of the gîte. Skip the tours of the big name cognac houses and go there instead. You will not regret it. We enjoyed a long and very detailed private tour conducted in English by our charming guide, Miriam, which included a tasting of two Pineaus and three cognacs. We purchased the Pineaus and a bottle of the best cognac to enjoy on the rest of our journey.

There are many beautiful and interesting locations to visit within easy driving distance of the gîte. We enjoyed discovering Pons, Saintes, and Cognac on one day trip and the coastal cities of La Rochelle, Rochefort, and Royan on another.

There were several days we were happy to just stay at "home" and relax enjoying the pool and various dining options of the gîte depending on the time of day -- back patio for breakfast, poolside for apéro, and front patio for dinner. My husband is a fantastic chef and was able to cook many delectable meals in the well-equipped kitchen.

The oversized (by French standards) bed was very comfortable and remained cool all day due to its downstairs location. My husband slept solidly every night which is a challenge for him even at home. It was quiet and peaceful the entire week. I couldn't be happier that we chose Le Cerisier for our week in the Charente.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attentiveness of our hosts, John & Yvonne, to every detail
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for this review. We are so glad you had a great time at Le Cerisier.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerry902
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect for two”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Beautifully designed for two, for a weeks stay. The small intimate patio was a real sun trap. John & Yvonne made us feel really at home. The view of the neighbouring vineyard gave you sense of solitude, allowing your mind to unwind very quickly.
If there is a downside, it is the pressure of the water for the shower, which was disappointingly low. Otherwise a great find and I'd recommend it to any couple looking for a bijou getaway in this beautiful part of France.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The design of the building and layout.
Liked least: The water pressure of the shower.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2015
Thanks for your review. We are aware of the water pressure problem and once this season is over we hope to rectify it. Unfortunately we cannot do anything about it once we have guests in the gite without causing them considerable inconvenience. Once we reach the end of the season at the end of September, we will then start work on it and hopefully next season there will be more powerful pressure.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiersMac
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 16 December 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Excellent stay from start to finish in this magnificent property. Idyllic surroundings, lovely pool and nice weather to boot. John and Yvonne were very welcoming and were happy to advise us on our multitude of queries - they even posted some items back to the UK for us that we had left behind, which was extremely helpful.

The property itself is perfect; open plan living, large bedroom & bathroom and nice terrace areas.

Not much more to say as I would just be echoing the other positive reviews - would wholeheartedly recommend. Thanks again to John and Yvonne for their hospitality.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Dec 2014
Thank you for this lovely review. We so appreciate people taking the time and trouble to review Le Cerisier.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonWam
LondonWAM
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing ......”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My wife and I stayed for the first week in September 2014. The directions to the accommodation provided by the owner were impeccable, they allowed us to find the location without any difficulty and set the tone for our stay.

The owners greeted us and gave a tour explaining the workings of all the appliances and facilities along with the grounds and pool area. They also provided a generous “welcome pack” which was a great start to a self-catering holiday!

The accommodation was absolutely first class and extremely comfortable and everything was of a particularly high specification providing all that is necessary for a perfect stay in comfortable surroundings.

The owners were utterly charming and possessed the local knowledge needed for their guests to make the most of their time and indeed we DO NOT have a single negative comment.

With regard to the area, the local supermarket in Segonzac (a 5 minute drive away) stocked all that is required and towns such as Jarnac, Jonzac, Cognac and Angouleme provided well priced restaurants for lunch and dinner.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have absolutely no hesitation to recommend it to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The extremely high quality of fixtures, appliances, furniture and grounds
Liked least: Absolutely nothing!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for this lovely review. We love our life out here and are so pleased when our guests have a great holiday in this beautiful area of France.
We would also like to thank all our reviewers for taking the time and trouble to write about Le Cerisier.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing