We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for two”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Le Cerisier

Le Cerisier, taken from the owners' property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Le Cerisier, taken from the owners' property
Comfortable seating and the entrance doors Exposed beams
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Le Cerisier, taken from the owners' property
Comfortable seating and the entrance doors
Exposed beams
General view of upstairs living area
The kitchen
Dining area and kitchen
Super king size bed
The shower room
Shower
Shady spot by the pool
Perfect for a late evening dip
Relax!
The private garden
Private garden from another angle
Leading up to the gite
The scented white lilac tree in May, just next to the gite.
The Cherry Tree - just reach over and pick!
Full of fruit!
Spring time
Coffee on the balcony
From the pool
Corner of the garden
The height of summer
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cognac, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jerry902
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect for two”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Beautifully designed for two, for a weeks stay. The small intimate patio was a real sun trap. John & Yvonne made us feel really at home. The view of the neighbouring vineyard gave you sense of solitude, allowing your mind to unwind very quickly.
If there is a downside, it is the pressure of the water for the shower, which was disappointingly low. Otherwise a great find and I'd recommend it to any couple looking for a bijou getaway in this beautiful part of France.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The design of the building and layout.
Liked least: The water pressure of the shower.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2015
Thanks for your review. We are aware of the water pressure problem and once this season is over we hope to rectify it. Unfortunately we cannot do anything about it once we have guests in the gite without causing them considerable inconvenience. Once we reach the end of the season at the end of September, we will then start work on it and hopefully next season there will be more powerful pressure.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiersMac
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 16 December 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Excellent stay from start to finish in this magnificent property. Idyllic surroundings, lovely pool and nice weather to boot. John and Yvonne were very welcoming and were happy to advise us on our multitude of queries - they even posted some items back to the UK for us that we had left behind, which was extremely helpful.

The property itself is perfect; open plan living, large bedroom & bathroom and nice terrace areas.

Not much more to say as I would just be echoing the other positive reviews - would wholeheartedly recommend. Thanks again to John and Yvonne for their hospitality.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Dec 2014
Thank you for this lovely review. We so appreciate people taking the time and trouble to review Le Cerisier.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonWam
LondonWAM
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing ......”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My wife and I stayed for the first week in September 2014. The directions to the accommodation provided by the owner were impeccable, they allowed us to find the location without any difficulty and set the tone for our stay.

The owners greeted us and gave a tour explaining the workings of all the appliances and facilities along with the grounds and pool area. They also provided a generous “welcome pack” which was a great start to a self-catering holiday!

The accommodation was absolutely first class and extremely comfortable and everything was of a particularly high specification providing all that is necessary for a perfect stay in comfortable surroundings.

The owners were utterly charming and possessed the local knowledge needed for their guests to make the most of their time and indeed we DO NOT have a single negative comment.

With regard to the area, the local supermarket in Segonzac (a 5 minute drive away) stocked all that is required and towns such as Jarnac, Jonzac, Cognac and Angouleme provided well priced restaurants for lunch and dinner.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have absolutely no hesitation to recommend it to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The extremely high quality of fixtures, appliances, furniture and grounds
Liked least: Absolutely nothing!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for this lovely review. We love our life out here and are so pleased when our guests have a great holiday in this beautiful area of France.
We would also like to thank all our reviewers for taking the time and trouble to write about Le Cerisier.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talisca
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

A lovely cottage, very well equipped and surrounded by lovely rolling vineyard countryside . The owners are very friendly and helpful. We stayed for a week and had very warm weather which encouraged us to relax, explore locally, enjoy the local pineau drink and laze by the pool. Fabulous.
Locally the towns of Cognac (we did the Martell tour which was very good) and Saintes (don't miss the Roman amphitheatre) were attractive and interesting to visit. The coast at Talmont and Meshers are about one hour away and fascinating to explore. The harbour side restaurant "Caravelle" served a good seafood menu.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBP-in-SY
Doncaster, England
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A perfect place to do nothing yet there is so much to do”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have just returned from a wonderfully relaxing week at Le Cerisier and wish we could have stayed longer. The gite is as seen in the photographs and the owners, John and Yvonne, were warm amd welcoming, full of helpful advise but gave us the space to enjoy their wonderful place uninterupted.
The gite is very well equipped with everything that you could need. The sheets were very good quality and the towels super soft ( the most important things to me wherever we travel). I loved floating round the pool (on the provided inflatables), dozing in the secret garden and sitting on the little verandah until late at night drinking the local rose wine. My husband loved the fact that he could catch up with the Commonwealth Games and Open Golf on TV!
We went to several excellent, free musical events in the area and there were many interesting places to visit - you do need a car.
If you want to slow down and relax this place is perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Nothing to not like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing