We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A stunningly beautiful gite - in stunningly...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Belena

Gite La Belena, with private parking, dining area and BBQ
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gite La Belena, with private parking, dining area and BBQ
10x5m pool, 1.2m shallow end, 2 m deep end with child friendly ledge Master bedroom, en-suite and private balcony with table & chairs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Gite La Belena, with private parking, dining area and BBQ
10x5m pool, 1.2m shallow end, 2 m deep end with child friendly ledge
Master bedroom, en-suite and private balcony with table & chairs
Twin room with bunk beds
Fully equiped kitchen
Lounge with 2 sofas, flat screen TV
Open plan lounge
Relax on the sundeck overlooking the pool, with 8 seat table & chairs
Evening meals served on the sundeck, twice weekly
Honesty bar, with pub games. darts, cards & table skittles
Pool overlooking the grounds
Dining area from lounge
The view from your private balcony
Explore the 55 acres of paddocks, field and woodlands
La Voute surrounded by sunflowers
Local weekly market a must for all our guests
Beautiful village of Varaignes with weekly open BBQ's cooked by local French residents
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Angouleme, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
victoriaw...
wirral
1 review
“A stunningly beautiful gite - in stunningly beautiful grounds.”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We spent a week at La Belena in July 2013 - wished we had booked two! The gite was just as described and had everything that we needed to make our stay comfortable and relaxing. The grounds are steeped in history which John was very happy to chat about. The shared pool was just perfect to while away the sunny days. Paula and John were the most perfect hosts. They helped us endlessly. We would definitely recommend a stay at the property and we will be returning one day!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and surrounding grounds
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliBethW
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful gite in stunning, relaxing rural Frnace”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We spent an idyllic week at La Belena with our 2 children aged 6 and 8. The gite is a lovingly restored farm with a fantastic swimming pool nestled in the trees. It is such a relaxing place that we stayed there for days - swimming, playing table tennis under a tree... There's also lots to do nearby including canoeing and caves to visit. Paula and John are such friendly hosts and their lovely pets were a constant source of amusement for the children (as were the local lizards!). A highlight was a lovely meal prepared by our hosts and served on the veranda overlooking the pool. Bliss! Cannot recommend La Belena highly enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool and friendly hosts
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2013
Dear Ali & Scott,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review of La Belena, glad you had such a lovely time.
John and I would love to see you all again next year .
All the best.
Paula & John x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BjornH201...
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Idyllic family holiday”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The is our second year at la Belena. Paula and John are wonderful hosts and are so welcoming and helpful. The location is superb - it is far enough from shops (10minutes for the morning baguette) to allow you to relax (one car goes past the end of the lane every hour) ..... but close enough to lots of great towns and markets and things to do for the whole family. The accommodation is so comfortable and the lovely little touches make you really feel at home. The pool is superb - you can relax in the pool and gaze out over the countryside completely chillaxed. The most perfect place for a busy young family to relax after a long UK winter and spring. If I won the lottery, this is what I would do with the cash!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2013
Hi Bjorn,

Thank you so much for a great review, it was really good to see you all again.
Perhaps next year as well!!
Take care and love to all.
Paula & John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 18 March 2013 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a most enjoyable week at La Voute in 2011. The Gite was very well equipped and comfortable. Ours was a spring holiday in May so we did not make use of the lovely swimming pool. A ride on one of the carriages was a first for us. Paula and John are first class hosts who will go out of their way to make your holiday a special one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Paula John and their animals
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray P
Ross on Wye
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“An Absolute Gem”
Reviewed 15 March 2013 for a stay in July 2011

We have visited La Belena on two occasions now, once with our young children and a return trip on our own. Both trips have been idyllic.

John and Paula are fantastic hosts who couldn't be more welcoming. The accommodation is situated in beautiful unspoilt countryside and offers everything you could need for a peaceful relaxing break. The property itself is of an extremely high standard and spotlessly clean. The swimming pool offers a lovely area in which to spend a lazy afternoon and the outside patio area is superb for a BBQ and a glass or two of the local wine. John is a particular connoisseur of both the local food and wine and can point you in the direction of some lovely restaurants and vineyards!

The area is peaceful and quiet but there is plenty to do and see in the local area. Again both John and Paula will go out of their way to guide and advise you about places to visit and areas to explore.

If you want to either just relax and enjoy doing nothing or go out exploring and visting this beautiful area then this is the place for you.

Very highly recommended and we will certainly be visiting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome and the beautiful area
Liked least: Having to go home again
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing