We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Total relaxation, grand chateau style”
Chateau de Jalesnes; moated home to generations of French aristocracy - A short drive from Saumur.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chateau de Jalesnes; moated home to generations of French aristocracy - A short drive from Saumur.
The grand hall giving access to the principal rooms of the château. A 20m heated pool lies adjacent to the new orchard.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Chateau de Jalesnes; moated home to generations of French aristocracy - A short drive from Saumur.
The grand hall giving access to the principal rooms of the château.
A 20m heated pool lies adjacent to the new orchard.
An aerial view of the château and part of the estate.
The Cour d'honneur and Pavilion de Condé at dusk.
The grand staircase leading to our principal suites.
One of the Grand Salons for relaxing after a day exploring beautiful Anjou.
One of our 'classic' or smaller sized guest suites - note the super-king size bed!
A typical guest suite kitchen area - this one is designed for friends with reduced mobility
All our guest suites have en-suite bathrooms or shower rooms
This view shows the rear of the chateau through the wild flower meadow and our 'old variety' orchard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chateau -
16 Bedrooms, 22 Bathrooms, Sleeps 44
Saumur, Maine et Loire, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Fi293
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Total relaxation, grand chateau style”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I don’t usually write reviews, but this place was so gorgeous that I felt I had to let others know! A beautiful building, recently transformed into a collection of high spec apartments. The owners are very friendly and welcoming, with a wealth of knowledge about the history of the chateau. My partner and I stayed in a one-bed suite, which was bright and airy, with the comfiest bed I can ever remember sleeping in! The communal areas are grand, but very comfortable, and the gardens are incredibly relaxing and pretty. The pool is a generous size, and a good temperature. Large luxury bathroom and lovely fluffy towels. There’s even a chapel, which wasn’t in use during our stay, but would be an amazing space for a wedding or special event.

I wasn’t sure what to expect from a stay in a chateau, but this place was an excellent choice for a relaxing break. Thoroughly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2015
Hello Fi293 (although of course I remember your real name!) We are especially delighted that your stay with us prompted the unusual occurrence of a review; and such a lovely review at that. Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write, it means a lot. By the way, the chapel hosts it's first concert on 7th November.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia W
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Five star all the way”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We recently stayed at the Chateau for 5 nights. What can I say? What a treat. A fabulous, relaxing, luxury break, with all the home comforts plus a little bit more. I would thoroughly recommend this accommodation. Nothing was too much trouble for the hosts. Will definitely be visiting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Relaxing, ambience of a beautifully & sympathetically restored property
Liked least: Couldn't stay longer - had to return for work
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2015
Hello Tricia and thank you for writing such a lovely review of your stay. We are delighted that your family will be visiting us in the future. Please say 'Hello' to your son who certainly kept us entertained throughout your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra B
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everything you can imagine of a French Chateau and more - perfect for groups or small parties”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I (husband and 2 young children) couldn't have been happier with our choice of holiday venue this year, Chateau de Jalesnes is a real jewel and a credit to owners Michael, Jonathan, Jenny & David.

We were greeted with a very warm and friendly welcome and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. We had a 2 bedroom apartment on the first floor which wowed us as soon as we walked in. We were presented with a welcome basket containing everything you would need to get by until you could get to the supermarket. We were also delighted to find a bottle of local fizz in the fridge!

The high ceilings and huge windows with shutters all helped maintain the chateau experience. The renovation has been very carefully and thoughtfully done with quality furnishings, fittings and appliances reflecting the 5 star standard of accommodation. The kitchen was fitted out with hi-tech Bosch appliances including a washer/dryer, the bedrooms with beautiful crisp white bedding and the bathroom with luxurious white towels and dressing gowns. Both en suites were very generously sized with a bath (roll top in the main bedroom en suite) and huge walk in shower - great water pressure too. Each bathroom also had twin sinks and plenty of space for hanging towels and putting toiletries. The open plan living area was airy and bright with a 6 seater dining table, 2 couches and a large screen Smart TV. It was so nice to see they hadn't tried to cram in as many apartments as possible to this beautiful building and had gone rather for space and quality over quantity.

We were shown around the Chateau's awesome rooms, all with impressive features and very tastefully decorated. The grounds of the Chateau are beautiful and the moat adds such character and interest. The swimming pool was immaculate and the water kept at the perfect temperature to cool off in.

We ate in the apartment most evenings which was ideal for the children and there is a large supermarket (Super U) only about 5 mins drive from the chateau with everything you will need, even a British section if you prefer not to go local!

We borrowed the Chateau's bikes and took a lovely ride to a nearby village for a picnic and had an adventure through the woods. We didn't get chance to kayak but that's on our list for our next visit. We spent an fantastic evening with our hosts in Saumur where they had a local food and wine festival on complete with very cool local bands providing the music. We also visited the zoo - Bio Parc in Doue la Fontaine. There are lots of places to visit around the Chateau but we were also happy to stay within the grounds relaxing by the pool.

I really couldn't recommend Chateau de Jalesnes highly enough. The standard of the accommodation is very high and combined with the friendliness and warmth of the owners, the impressive venue and beautiful French countryside there is really nothing else you could wish for. We have already decided we will be returning for another visit and wish the owners every success.

Thank you for a wonderful stay and for some treasured family memories.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was excellent
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2015
Thank you for your review which is amazing! We are so pleased that you all enjoyed yourselves and that you weren't too disrupted by our team whilst they put the finishing touches to the Chateau. Say 'Hello' to the boys who were so well behaved.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing