We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Hotel Pommeraye

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pommeraye
Ranked #5 of 108 Hotels in Nantes
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
176 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Lovely hotel, friendly staff with English good value and great breakfast

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drjackyjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    260
    33
    4
    1
See reviews for
69
289
40
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
145 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

This is a great hotel for touring the old part of the city and the important sights on foot and for immediate access to great shopping.. There is also a great selection of fine and inexpensive restaurants nearby including Cigale's The rooms are spacious. Beds are very comfortable. Staff are helpful and friendly. Wifi is free and if you drive, there is public parking 150 metres away. There is no safe in the room but reception will hold any valuables if you wish though the hotel appears very secure and safe. For English speakers there is no English TV.. All 56 channels on the 32" flatscreen are in French.. Highly recommended for great value and a central hub.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CMC777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed 3 days. The hotel is in a pedestrian/shopping area with limited vehicle traffic, the hotel
itself, the location, the room, and the breakfast were all excellent but spoiled by the noise outside in street late at night and early in the morning. If it's warm it would be nice to have the windows open to the street, but then sleeping is difficult. In the daytime we had the windows open to the street and enjoyed some breaks reading and looking out.
Overall it should be fine if you intend to stay at the hotel during the colder seasons or
have a room facing the away from the street, otherwise I suggest you vote with your wallet and find a hotel somewhere else.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are noisy at night time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OregonArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed for one night in June as we were in Nantes to see a concert. The hotel is located right in the city centre, and our corner room had an impressive view of several streets. The staff were friendly and efficient, the room was very comfortable, and the breakfast was good. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul8472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

I hadn’t read much about Hotel Pommeraye before my husband and I stayed there for one night recently and we were pleasantly surprised. It’s a two-star hotel so the rooms are basic (the one we stayed in on the fourth floor had no air conditioning or tea/coffee making facilities) but reasonably sized and clean, and there is a lift. The bed was a bit squishy for our liking, the sink in the bathroom was small, and there was a loud creaky floorboard in our room, but otherwise the room was fine. Free WiFi is available at the hotel but our connection on the fourth floor was a bit patchy.

The hotel is centrally located with bars, restaurants and shops right outside the door. Look out for the amazing chocolate shop down the road, and beware of the inflated prices at some of the bars in Place Royal. Breakfast at the hotel was excellent (standard continental fare plus a basket of breads and pastries each!) and all the staff we met were friendly and helpful.

Our directions from Google Maps said we could drive right onto Rue Boileau from Rue du Calvaire but beware – you can’t! The road is blocked at that end by bollards although you can get to it from the south (I think) and park temporarily outside the hotel for loading. We parked our hire car at the Graslin car park, which is at most a five minute walk away. Overnight parking here is free when staying at the hotel, you just pay for any extra hours your car is there for (before 10pm and after 7am I think, or vice versa).

All in all this is a lovely hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunHat16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantes hotels
Graslin - Commerce
Oceania Hotel de France
Oceania Hotel de France
#1 of 108 in Nantes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Hotel Voltaire Opera
#3 of 108 in Nantes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Decré - Cathédrale
Okko Nantes Chateau
Okko Nantes Chateau
#2 of 108 in Nantes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Graslin - Commerce
Mercure Nantes Centre Grand Hotel
Hotel Sozo
#4 of 108 in Nantes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pommeraye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pommeraye

Property: Hotel Pommeraye
Address: 2 rue Boileau, 44000, Nantes, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Loire-Atlantique > Nantes > Graslin - Commerce
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nantes
#4 Family Hotel in Nantes
#5 Best Value Hotel in Nantes
#13 Business Hotel in Nantes
Price range (per night): $94 - $159
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pommeraye 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Nantes, an economic and cultural center, located at the entrance of the Passage Pommeraye, it’s the right hotel for active days and peaceful nights. It offers you serenity in the heart of a bustling city. After a busy day, you will find the peace and quiet you desire in your room, newly decorated in a tasteful combination of sleek, modern lines and colors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Pommeraye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pommeraye Hotel Nantes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing