We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Hotel D'Anjou
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Angers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We chose this hotel as a stop over on our way home after visiting the Loire valley and was pleasantly surprised. The hotel was well situated to explore the town and on a main road with lots of bars and restaurants. It has art deco styling and is actually very pretty. The lift is very small but better than no lift at all.

The room was of adequate size. The bathroom had a shower over a small bath. It was not possible to use the shower without taking it off it's rail as it slipped down and pointed in an odd direction. It was not a bother as we had much worse on this trip. There was a fridge and coffee making facilities in the room.

We did not have breakfast at the hotel and had supper in a small restaurant nearby.

Internet is free in the hotel.

We found the staff at the front desk very friendly and helpful. Our room was not ready when we arrived and the desk clerk arranged two coffees whilst we waited.

We used the lock up hotel parking which is very conveniently situated a few yards from the hotel in a side road. Note however that there is no drop off point at the hotel. We initally parked at a nearby public undercover parking and dragged our bags to the hotel for some distance. It is better to park, get the codes and then take your bags from the hotel parking.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RBCorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 115 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

A room in a city centre hotel on a busy main road should not really be so quiet ! Nicely appointed and a very acceptable buffet breakfast make this conveniently located hotel a good find.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rover044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

Hotel is situated just near the center or Angers. Castle of Angers is just 10 minutes by foot.
Rooms are clean with very good style, very quiet. Good choice of food for breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deniska336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

My husband and I stayed two nights here while he had business in Angers.

The hotel is obviously a long-established landmark that predates its branding as Best Western. One night, returning from dinner across town, we had only to tell the cabbie the hotel name -- he knew it without the address.

The decor in the common areas is elegant and antique-looking, with stained glass over the reception desk and on the ground-floor door of the microscopic (middle of the staircase) elevator. (The hotel is apparently not handicapped-accessible, with stairs to different levels everywhere, and no obvious ramps.)

The hotel offers secure parking half a block away for an extra charge. The best strategy is to unload luggage on the rue de Menage, and then park in the garage after checking in and getting the garage access code.

The room was big enough to move around the bed with one's luggage, but not spacious. The sound-proofing of the room is excellent, as there was construction in the street outside that was not at all audible with the window shut. The bed was hard, but in a good-for-your-back way, not a torture-device way. (Interesting that the reviews in English say the beds are hard, and the reviews in French say they're soft.)

The bathroom was recently renovated, clean, and well-maintained. The shower should be considered a hand-shower, since using it while it was on the bracket was possible only for skinny midgets.

We ordered the in-room breakfast one morning, which had an assortment of pastries, cheeses, and sweets; we ordered eggs and ham in addition. The other morning, we ate elsewhere, so did not experience the breakfast room.

The staff were helpful regarding everything we asked of them. There is free wifi access in the rooms, with a single access code that worked for our whole stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetpianet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

My husband and I recently spent one night at the Hotel d'Anjou, conveniently located near the main tourist attractions in Angers--the cathedral and the chateau--and next to a large, beautiful public garden. The street in front of the hotel is being torn up, but we noticed no particular noise or dirt from the construction. Because of the construction, it was impossible to stop the car in front of the hotel, so we turned the corner and went in a side door, unloaded the luggage, and were then directed to the hotel garage about 30 feet on down the street, which was very easy to access. Tthe elevator was small, but not smaller than a lot of European elevators. My husband and I and two large suitcases fit in comfortably. When we got to our assigned room, we found a minuscule space with hardly room to walk around the double bed. We didn't use anything in the room, and, before we set out sightseeing, I asked if they couldn't do better for us. The friendly desk guy said the hotel was pretty full, but he would see if anything opened up during the afternoon. We did our sightseeing--definitely visit the Apocalypse tapestry at the chateau--and when we returned, he offered us the room next door to the one we had. They sent someone up to help us move our luggage and to check the cleanliness of both rooms, which were spotless. The new room was twice the size of the other, furnished with pseudo but pleasant antiques, and with a very large modern bathroom. There was an individually-controlled air conditioner, which was very useful since the day was warm. We opted to eat a simple meal at one of the numerous cafes and restaurants nearby, and had a quiet, restful night. The breakfast wasn't quite up to the usual Best Western standards, but was fine. The restaurant area where breakfast was served was like the rest of the hotel, old, opulent, fairly dark nineteenth-century style with lots of marble, draperies, etc. When we left, a young clerk actually helped us take our luggage to the car where it was parked in the hotel garage. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. Our stay there was like a throwback to another century, but totally enjoyable. And a great deal at 90 euros.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VirginiaMartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Angers hotels
0.1 km away
Mercure Angers Centre Gare
0.2 km away
Hotel 21 Foch
Hotel 21 Foch
#1 of 33 in Angers
180 reviews
0.7 km away
Ibis Angers Centre Chateau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Mercure Angers Centre
Mercure Angers Centre
#5 of 33 in Angers
477 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#16 of 33 in Angers
165 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Ibis Styles Angers Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel D'Anjou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel D'Anjou

Address: 1 boulevard du Marechal Foch, 49100, Angers, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Angers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Angers
#1 Family Hotel in Angers
#3 Luxury Hotel in Angers
#3 Romantic Hotel in Angers
Price Range: $101 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel D'Anjou 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Anjou is located in the center of Angers. It is an elegant, discreetly-furnished hotel, renowned for its restaurant "Salamander" with its splendid neogothic decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel D'Anjou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Angers
Angers Best Western
Best Western Hotel Angers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing