We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but for the seriously rich!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Honfleur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2010

This hotel is without a doubt totally faultless in its attention to detail, service, welcome, standards of room, spa and food.

However, there is a big 'but' it is incredibly expensive.

We waived the fact that the cost of the room at 150 euros for staying midweek (Friday night) rising to 290 euros for a Saturday night was a bit on the high side - but, because of the factilities it included, we went for it.

However, to be presented with a dinner menu - the cheapest - at 90 euros each, with wine at 9 euros a glass, a small beer 7 euros and a bottle of water 7 euros! We were beginning to get concerned.....the real thorn in the side was the wine list - lucky if you could get a bottle of wine (we are in France remember) for under 40 euros! Mostly the wine ranged from 50 - 150 euros upwards!

Breakfast at 22 euros was high but there was a fantastic cold selection.

When I complained that there should be a more reasonable dinner and wine menu and why had they presented us only with the expensive menus on a Friday evening - they were polite but totally dismissive.

A small compensation for that Friday 'mistake' would have made all the difference to us.

No, I wouldn't go back - we travel a lot and usually stay in 3-4 star hotels and I know we can get a better deal for the food.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeatriceOxofrodshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 264 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2008

We were tempted by the hotel web site and went there to spent a weekend.
The hotel clearly is a total disappointment. The photos on the hotel website clearly were taken somewhere else. We wanted to cancel our booking immediately after arrival - which was denied by the hotel management. Worse, our room was just above the kitchen and a noisy ventilation system was running all night.
We were finally granted a reduction in price due to noise, however we clearly would have preferred to have spent the weekend somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank frequent_flyer43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2008

We stayed here in July '07 as a base for touring Normandy. La Ferme St. Simeon is a converted farmhouse with separate newer wing that has a great indoor pool and small spa. The hotel is quiet and pretty and is tucked away on a small lane heading away from town. They've done a great job keeping the charm of the French country house in the conversion to an upscale hotel. We stayed in one of the rooms in the main house which was spacious and comfortable. The bed was royally comfortable. The view from the hotel is interesting but not pretty. You are on a bluff over an industrialized canal and a trailer park (I'm not kidding). The hotel grounds, however, are pretty and very well kept. Enjoying a summer evening outside after dinner was a real highlight. The front desk was friendly and helpful, and, gratefully, had at least one person who spoke English per shift to help us make local arrangements. Be warned - you are NOT near the Honfleur town center, and it is a rigorous 15 minute uphill climb on cobblestoned streets to get back to the hotel from town. The 5 minute cab ride from town is about $20. The hotel restaurant is outrageously expensive, very stuffy, but very good. It's popular with the 'old money' crowd, and it was full on all 3 nights we were there.
We spent about $700 per night on the room and $300 for dinner with wine for 2. Overall, it is a really nice small hotel, but get ready for some sticker shock. Honfleur is very pretty and easy to explore on foot, but it would have been nicer to stay closer to the town center. Sadly some of the locals were just flat out hostile to tourists. Unexpected and a big negative for the area.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank al1eng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2007

Stayed in a suite for 850 euros which was very poorly decorated and were promised a sea view. We had never been to Honfleur and were then surprised with a channel which looked across some very ugly industrial zone. The water temperature was hot enough not to complain about it, but not warm enough to be enjoyable. Half of the lgiht bulbs were fused. Upon arrival they wanted to know our dining time. Since my husband smokes, decided after having a drink at the bar, to cancel the restaurant and have a nice bottle of champagne and oysters that evening. We were told that the owner prohibits serving any kind of food at the bar. After long insistence, they said that only desert could be served at the bar but never oysters. We asked to speak to the owner but were told that she could not be disturbed since she was having lunch. We asked for her to contact us later but she never did. Big disappointment since it was our anniversary. The hotel is totally over rated.

Stayed: February 2007
11  Thank BaronessM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2006

My travelling party (wife, 9-year old son, me, father-in-law, mother-in-law) had a pleasant stay at the Ferme St. Simeon. I would recommend it, with qualifications.

My family had a one-bedroom suite, on the ground floor of the new annex. We were at the end of the building, so we had views in three directions. The living room opened with French doors in two directions, our bedroom had a nice size window looking north, and the bathroom opened to the main building. The suite was nicely appointed, with decent lighting. Although the hotel is not air conditioned, we always had a nice cross-breeze off the ocean that made even an 87 degree day bearable. The evenings cooled off enough that heat was not a problem.

The linens and bedding were of first quality, the bed comfortable. My son reported that his sleeper sofa was “comfy”.

The in-laws had a regular room, adjoining (but not connecting to) ours. It had windows only one side, and so no cross breeze. I think they were lot warmer than we were on the hot day. I heard no complaints, however.

Breakfast was a buffet – not extensive, but decent – and eggs were offered. The service at breakfast was good. We didn’t try the restaurant for dinner because of the very high cost for even the cheapest menu.

I had asked the hotel to make dinner reservations elsewhere for us before our arrival, and all arrangements were handled perfectly. When our rooms weren’t ready upon arrival, the reception clerk arranged for us to have a complementary drink on the terrace while we waited. Nice touch (and the wait wasn’t too long).

My wife and son reported that the indoor pool was terrific.

My only caution to fellow travelers would be the cost. The suite was around 850 Euros. I was willing to pay it because my wife wanted to stay someplace where Monet had visited. Compared to properties that approach that cost (which is the most I’ve ever paid for a suite), the Ferme St. Simeon fell a little short. It wasn’t bad – in fact, quite nice – but in the context of price (and compared to the other properties we visited on our stay – see, especially, my review of the Domaine des Hauts de Loire) it probably wasn’t worth it.

Was the hotel “overrated”? I don’t know how to define the term in the context. If it’s value one wants, then the hotel is a not a good value. If price is irrelevant, or only of minor importance, then the stay was pleasant, the staff helpful, and the rooms well-appointed.

Since we only stay in suites on our stays, we probably won’t be back, at least at the 850 E pricepoint. The price for the double room was also high, but not as high, comparatively, as the suite price. I think the in-laws would return.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank OrrvilleRedRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honfleur hotels
4.4 km away
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de Charme
Auberge de la Source - Hotel de ...
#1 of 1 in Barneville-la-Bertran
545 reviews
0.6 km away
Le Manoir Des Impressionnistes & Spa - Esprit de France
0.5 km away
La Maison de Lucie
La Maison de Lucie
#1 of 32 in Honfleur
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Les Maisons de Lea
Les Maisons de Lea
#8 of 32 in Honfleur
601 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel l'Ecrin
Hotel l'Ecrin
#5 of 32 in Honfleur
541 reviews
0.7 km away
Best Western Le Cheval Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux

Address: 20 rue Adolphe Marais, 14600, Honfleur, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Honfleur
Price Range: $304 - $2,315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a century after being frequented by impressionist painters seeking inspiration from the magic light of the Côte Fleurie, the Ferme Saint Siméon still seems to still be nourished by tender nostalgia. Perched on the heights of Honfleur, this Normand-style building infused with the soul of yesteryear delicately embraces modern refinement. Facing the Seine river estuary, the rooms full of noble furniture, woodwork, luxurious fabrics,comfort and colours are spread like flower bouquets across the farm, the central building and the ‘Press’.Beneath the garden’s apple trees or in the refined decor of the gastronomic restaurant, guests will be delighted to discover the regional cuisine, after indulging in a relaxing treatment at the Spa, peacefully overlooking the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Ferme Saint Simeon - Relais et Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ferme Saint Simeon Hotel Honfleur
La Ferme Saint Simeon Honfleur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing