We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming experience in a rustic setting”
Review of La Guinguette

La Guinguette
Ranked #10 of 17 Restaurants in Giverny
Restaurant details
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

Guinguettes were popular open-air drinking/café establishments located in the suburbs of Paris and other cities in France. Guinguettes would also serve as restaurants and, often, as dance venues. The origin of the term comes from guinguet, indicating a sour white light local wine.
In the town of Giverny our host recommended this popular open plan, open to the elements, rustic restaurant. Located across the road from our B&B and adjacent to the river that runs through the Gardens of Monet. It's an interesting setting, a deck of timber construction with a canopy that overlooks the cattle grazing on the meadows beyond. A simply delicious meal with wine for two weary travellers on a Saturday evening was a most acceptable €70.

1  Thank Aggworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RemiGiverny, Directeur général at La Guinguette, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Thank you very much for your appreciation !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2017

The restaurant’s bucolic surrounding was nice BUT its layout was basic, the food tasteless and prices definitively too high. We had a small slice of quiche with a little salad at 14€ and a tartar with industrial chips at 20€. The kind of tourist trap you expect to find in Paris near Eiffel tower or Montmartre… Positive reviews on this place were probably written by restaurant owner’s friends or relatives.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank StevenWrightKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RemiGiverny, Directeur général at La Guinguette, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for your appréciation about thé location. WE are sorry if you didn't enjoy your meal. WE absolutely dont have any "Friends" comments. But if seems that many customers think diferent than you. Cordialement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Well worth checking out, despite being on the way out of Giverney. The lights on the road help, and you will get a very friendly welcome and great food even if it's not the biggest menu around.

It's right next to the small river and listening to the bull frogs whilst you eat is à new experience. My wife and I greatly enjoyed our evening there.

1  Thank royri1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Very simple and full of atmosphere but lack of choice and not enough tables to make a real guingette with lots of clients and music. Cool green surroundings.

Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RemiGiverny, Directeur général at La Guinguette, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

We thank you for this post. Yes, we may understand you felt a lack of choice, but we only want to serve fresh and home made dishes, wich can be incompatible with a huge menu. And some nights, there may be many music and dancers !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016

A friendly informal eating experience. Unpretentious French food at its best. Great salad, charcuterie and cheeses. Lovely outdoor setting beside a stream. For me it was the perfect end to a perfect day visiting Monet's garden.q

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank 272kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to La Guinguette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing