We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Caen trip from Australia via Liverpool”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Soliers

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Caen, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Irene C
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Caen trip from Australia via Liverpool”
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

A really lovely place to stay made even more fabulous by the help of Stephane, nothing is too much trouble. We would really like to thank him & if were ever back we would definitely visit again. Recommend this to all your family & friends, you wont be disappointed.
The Coppells on tour

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyD955
Spencers Wood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely house highly recommended”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Soliers is a lovely 2 bedroom single story house which is fitted to a very high standard. The house is in a quiet residential area of a small village with a local Bakery, Butchers, Bar/Tabac, Hairdressers (in case you have a style emergency) and a pharmacy, all within 3-4 minutes walking distance. There is a Carefour Connect also within 6-7 walking distance for supplies if you need them.
The beds are comfortable, the space is easy to move around in and it is very well presented by Stephane the lovely owner who had a gift basket of lovely local delicacies or us to try (he is very proud of the local produce) lots of advice on local attractions, activities and places to eat.
The kitchen has a 2 pot induction Hob, a microwave and a fridge freezer but no Oven so you need to be creative with the one pot recipe's - practice your French cooking before you go - a Hob is all you need for delicious French food.
The house has WiFi so we were able to keep ourselves amused and upload our photo's to facebook after each day's tours of the D-Day landing sites.
I should also add that one of our party is Mobility impaired - walking aid not a wheelchair. The Walk in shower and open and flat layout of the house were perfect for him to get around without a problem. The pathway to the front door is stepping stones, so possibly not idea for wheelchair access.

We highly recommend this house and if we are going back would very much like to rent it again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The care the owner took to make us welcome and support us during our stay
Liked least: Nothing we didn't like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jakblade
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recommended.”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My wife and I along with our two children, 9 yr old boy, 14 yr old girl, have just spent 5 nights in this wonderful, modern outfitted cottage. The owner is extremely friendly and could not do enough for us offering every assistance if required. The cottage is very clean,modern and well equipped,we wanted for nothing while we were there. It has a very pleasant garden and off street parking also.
Soliers is a very quiet and pleasant place to stay and is perfectly situated for visiting all of the Normandy WW2 sites,beaches, Bayeux and Caen etc.
There was absolutely nothing that we would have changed on our short visit and are seriously considering returning again to this delightful property and would definitely recommend staying here to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was just great.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice-A...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“marvellous”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This property was very nice, modern, spacious & spotless, the garden was also lovely and spacious, it also has a driveway for you to park your vehicle, it was in a lovely quiet area, easy access to local tourist spots and shopping complex.
The family who own the property were very welcoming and very helpful .
I was there with my partner and two children one is 15 years old and the other is 8 years old, they also loved the property, we all wish we were still there. We would definitely recommend this property to family and friends.
It was so nice and there was nothing that we would change about it .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything was perfect
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing