We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”
Review of Adagio Caen Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adagio Caen Centre
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Caen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Stayed here for 5 nights for a price of 75 euros per night. This is without breakfast. And, strangely, we had to pay for the carpark. It was 5 euro per evening. Personally I think that is strange. Cleaning is not included in the price, so bring your own towels, or be willing to pay for it.

The room was good. Smaller as anticipated, but perfect if you are only sleeping there and eating your breakfast. 5 minutes from the hotel there is a bakery and supermarket.

The staff was very kind and helping so nothing wrong about that.

Tip from me to you:
- Take your own towels with you, if you don't want to pay for it
- Instead of paying 11 euros, you can eat fresh from the bakery around the corner.

Room Tip: Room on the first floor is pretty quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaimy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

My stay was perfect. The location was perfect for exploring the area, and the car park was helpful as well. Loved having the option of a small kitchen to cook in. Laundry facilities were reasonable as well. However, the staff were all friendly and helpful which made the stay even better.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Kristi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adagio C, Directeur général at Adagio Caen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for having taken the time to write us this review. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Adagio Caen.
It is one of the main advantages of our Aparthotel to have fully fitted in each apartment. It gives you great flexibility for your meals - choice of eating in or eating out with many restaurants nearby.
I will pass on your comment about the friendliness of the staff on to my team, they will be extremely happy to read that their efforts are recognized.
We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you again in the future in Caen!
Best regards,
Jonathan GUILLOUX
Aparthotel Adagio Caen General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

We were looking for a hotel to use as a base camp while we toured the Normandy areas and stumbled onto this hotel. It's walking distance from the train station and very convenient to the Caen Tram line stop.

The room is an efficiency apartment, with kitchenette and a large internal space. The bed in our room was essentially a Murphy bed and would fold up into a sofa, creating a huge amount of open floor space. Even with the bed permanently down, it looks like it belongs there with side tables and headboard. It wasn't until several days later that I discovered it was really a Murphy bed.

The bathroom is huge with tub and shower, but what I really liked about it was the heated towel rack. We were on a 40 day European trip, and washing our clothes out was a must for us. The heated towel rack would dry our clothes out easily overnight. Wash and wear!

Two blocks away, along the river, towards the train station, is a mall with shopping, movie theaters, and restaurants, right across from the back of the train station. We were visiting in the summer and the mall was lined with outside tables for dining, late into the evening.

You can take the Tram into the city center to see the castle built by William the Conqueror back in the 1100s. You can also transfer with the same Tram ticket to the bus and go out to the Memorial de Caen, which really is a must see.

If you're interested in the WWII history, the museum in the Memorial de Caen is really incredible, I was very surprised at the quality of the exhibits and what we learned there. It's easy to get there on the bus.

We wanted to tour beaches of Normandy and see the invasion spots. You can book a number of tours leaving from Caen, but they fill up quickly. We tried Taxis Abbeilles Caen for a 5 hour Normandy tour, booked right from the hotel lobby. They picked us up at the hotel lobby and hit all the major sites, Omaha beach, Pont du Hoc, National Cemetery and others,

The hotel staff was very helpful to us, as we didn't speak French. They arranged the tour and answered all of out travel related questions.

They have a nice breakfast room with coffee, orange juice, lots of breads, and oh those croissants! Yogurts, jams, ham, and cereal. We ate there most every morning.

This is a large building which has rooms on an internal courtyard, which are very quiet, with no street noise. Not that this is a noisy area, but I found the room to be nearly silent. There's nothing in the internal courtyard, just an open space that lets in natural light.

We found a couple of grocery stores close by, about a block away, for wine and food items when we didn't want to go to a restaurant. Even PizzaHut is right around the corner.

The free WIFI in the hotel worked very well, I was able to quickly download a couple of books from my local US library.

After checkout, they held our luggage for hours until our train to Paris was departing.

This was a very convenient hotel for us that was economically priced for our Normandy area stay. We got a better rate, booking from our smart phone, right from the lobby.

Room Tip: The interior rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adagio C, Directeur général at Adagio Caen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear Guest,
First of all thank for this very descriptive comment. It was a real pleasure to read! It looks like you really got to enjoy all our region has to offer and made the most of the amenities from the neighboohood - restaurants, grocery stores, shoppping centre...
I am really glad you enjoyed your stay at the Adagio Caen and that you had good use of our apartements facilities.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Jonathan GUILLOUX
Aparthotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

Spot on. Big lounge with two single beds within the sofa. Breakfast was good too. Great running route up stream by the Seine by the hippodrome. Cocci market to the rear was cheaper than the carrefour supermarket over the bridge. Parking good and easy. BEWARE payment was immediate which we knew about but they took 3 payments: 2 apartments and then £59 for breakfast Unfortunately the bank charged £6.50 each time making this place £30 more expensive than I was anticipating (booked through booking.com)

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Snowdonia_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adagio C, Directeur général at Adagio Caen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Dear Customer,
My team and I would sincerely like to thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We are delighted to hear that you appreciated the quality of fully fitted & equipped kitchens and the buffet breakfast. I noted the issues of payments you had - I do apologize about it. I am glad to see that my team were quick at compensating you with complimentary car parking. You should note that we do not pre-debit all reservations. We debited your reservation because you decided to book a "promotional offer" that required pre-payment - it was indicated in the booking T&C's. We also have offers that do not require pre-payment. Payment can be done upon arrival with thos offers - however this flexibility in the payment conditions make those offer slightly more expensive. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in Caen!
Kind regards,
Jonathan GUILLOUX - General Manager Aparthotel Adagio Caen Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

About a 10 min walk from Caen train station, quite a large Aparthotel part of the Accor chain. Good sized bedroom and ensuite with quite adequate kitchen area. Cupboard doors very poor quality, breakfast available although we catered for ourselves. Towels and bed linen quite good. Located by the Orne River, Carrafour supermarket over the river, main shopping strip about 10-15 min walk. Good place for a family. A washing machine and dryer located on the ground floor, although another laundromat is located nearby just past the closest
railway bridge. The room key card is quite unreliable. The building has very good security.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adagio C, Directeur général at Adagio Caen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Dear Customer,
The entire Adagio staff team would like to join me in thanking you for your comment.
We were delighted to read that you appreciated the aparthotel concept, our location and the security measure put in place to ensure peace of mind for our guests and their belongings during their stay.
I noticed your comments about the key cards. They are very sensitive to magnets...we usually give one card extra to keep in a separate place in order to avoid for it to be demagnatised. Our reception being manned 24/7 there is always someone to assist with potential key card issues!
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again to one of our aparthotels.
Kind regards,
Jonathan GUILLOUX
Adagio Caen Centre General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caen hotels
0.9 km away
Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
0.5 km away
Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare
0.8 km away
Best Western Plus Hotel Moderne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Royal Hotel Caen Centre
0.8 km away
Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre
0.9 km away
Ibis Caen Centre
Ibis Caen Centre
#7 of 40 in Caen
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adagio Caen Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adagio Caen Centre

Address: 1 quai Eugene Meslin, 14000 Caen, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Caen
Price Range: $103 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adagio Caen Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Adagio Caen Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing