We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

A great little hotel, right in the middle of Bayeux.

My wife booked on the basis of other reviews and we were not disappointed. Visited for four days with the In-Laws and we had a great time.

Staff very attentive and rushed off their feet (poor things), but always very eager to help, if at all possible. Very clean, good breakfast, nice bar/restaurant and a bustling atmosphere all made to help a good trip.

Room Tip: No lift, remember this if you are elderly or have difficulty climbing stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve_henllys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    446
    76
    11
    8
See reviews for
315
710
77
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This hotel isn't flash or particularly modern but it is simple, clean and pleasant enough. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room itself was pretty small but that was all we needed. Breakfast was a bit naff - but then French breakfasts tend to be! :-) If this hotel really is the third best in all of Nrmandy then that says something about Norman hotels, but it served us well for one night.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willcarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brea, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Made reservation online with no idea of what this hotel would be like. The location was great, but the hotel room was, as expected very small and poorly decorated. We were on the second floor and there was no elevator, which was not a big problem. Bayeux is a lovely city and should be part of everyone's visit to the Normandy area of France.

Room Tip: Street side rooms have wonderful view of ancient cathedral across the street, a landmark in Bayeux.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I loved this hotel! I based my choice on other Tripadvisor reviews and was not disappointed. It is very centrally located, almost across the street from the cathedral. The rooms are spacious and clean - though one comment would be that the walls could use a new coat of paint - other than that, it's great!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glencoe, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My husband and Istayed at your lovely hotel with our two teenage sons last week and we were thoroughly impressed. We had come to Bayeaux to visit the D-day beaches and the hotel was perfect. We stayed in the new annnex and it was lovely. The room was spacious, the bathroom was very contemporary and even though the building had been newly renovated-- it still had the charm of a medieval village. The staff was exceptional, friendly and extremely hard working as it seemed that they were always either helping guests, waiting tables or sprucing the place up. The location could not have been better-- it was centrally located--yet tucked away off the busy street. The room was also a great value and perect for travelling with a family.

Room Tip: Request the Annex if you can. We never saw the other rooms but ours was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
0.1 km away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
0.2 km away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reine Mathilde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reine Mathilde

Property: Hotel Reine Mathilde
Address: 23 rue Larcher, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price range (per night): $101 - $221
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Reine Mathilde 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Reine Mathilde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing