We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,579)
Filter reviews
1,579 results
Traveller rating
965
510
81
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
965
510
81
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsattached restaurantle garde mangerpost officethe main hotelbayeux tapestryannex buildingtrain stationfree lotd day beachestop floorfree parkingnormandy beachesmeeting pointthe hotel staffno elevatorstreet noisewould definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
993 - 998 of 1,579 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This hotel isn't flash or particularly modern but it is simple, clean and pleasant enough. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room itself was pretty small but that was all we needed. Breakfast was a bit naff - but then French breakfasts tend to be! :-) If this hotel really is the third best in all of Nrmandy then that says something about Norman hotels, but it served us well for one night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willcarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Made reservation online with no idea of what this hotel would be like. The location was great, but the hotel room was, as expected very small and poorly decorated. We were on the second floor and there was no elevator, which was not a big problem. Bayeux is a lovely city and should be part of everyone's visit to the Normandy area of France.

Room Tip: Street side rooms have wonderful view of ancient cathedral across the street, a landmark in Bayeux.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I loved this hotel! I based my choice on other Tripadvisor reviews and was not disappointed. It is very centrally located, almost across the street from the cathedral. The rooms are spacious and clean - though one comment would be that the walls could use a new coat of paint - other than that, it's great!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My husband and Istayed at your lovely hotel with our two teenage sons last week and we were thoroughly impressed. We had come to Bayeaux to visit the D-day beaches and the hotel was perfect. We stayed in the new annnex and it was lovely. The room was spacious, the bathroom was very contemporary and even though the building had been newly renovated-- it still had the charm of a medieval village. The staff was exceptional, friendly and extremely hard working as it seemed that they were always either helping guests, waiting tables or sprucing the place up. The location could not have been better-- it was centrally located--yet tucked away off the busy street. The room was also a great value and perect for travelling with a family.

Room Tip: Request the Annex if you can. We never saw the other rooms but ours was fantastic.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betsy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I had th pleasure of a large group dinner at the Mathilde last November 2011 on a brisk Norman evening and then a quiet dinner for two at the outdoor cafe in August 2012 - in both cases, the same experience - an excellent balanced menu / well-prepared and presented entrees / efficient and pleasant service / fair pricing, all in a convivial atmosphere in a charming setting within view of the Cathedral. I might have awarded an 'excellent' rating overall had the Poulet Roti not been quite as greasy, however the Mathilde comes darn close to the best in Bayeux.

We did not stay at the Hotel, but I am told by others that it comes close to the Churchill for excellence...but that would be a tall order, indeed!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews