We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Meal From Start to Finish”
Review of Le Garde Manger

Le Garde Manger
Ranked #23 of 103 Restaurants in Bayeux
Price range: USD 14 - USD 70
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Our “Le Garde Manger” restaurant has a cottage feel with its old stones and modern touches. Get a taste of Normandy in our warm dining room or sun-soaked terrace with views of Bayeux Cathedral. We serve traditional Normandy dishes, starter platters, homemade hamburgers, the dish of the day, salads, crepes, ice cream and pastries for a well-deserved coffee or tea break ! We serve all day and every day.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

My companion and I spent a couple of nights in Bayeux and casually strolled into Le Garde Manger. To be honest I was concerned that the menu was too extensive for the restaurant to be any good. But to my pleasant surprise everything from our seating and service to the quality of the food was outstanding.

The raw oysters were salty and plump, the pork was tender and flavorful and the staff was pleasant and attentive. I can recommend Le Garde Manger to anyone eating in Bayeux.

2  Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel H, Responsable de salle at Le Garde Manger, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Larry M,

We thank you for your impressions you shared on tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We would be pleased to see you again in the future,

Kind regards

Delphine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 68 of 1,267 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Stopped by here after a long day out and were immediately greeted and taken to our seat. The drinks were served and our order taken. I chose the fish and chips with a banana split for desert. The meal was delicious and the atmosphere quaint. The establishment also has WiFi.

2  Thank larry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel H, responsable de salle at Le Garde Manger, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear larry b,
Thank you so much for your kind comment you left on tripadvisor. The satisfaction of our clients is our priority and according to your comment it was the case so we are very happy for this. We are pleased to see that you liked the home made fish and chips and the atmosphere.
The restaurant is open all the days and served non stop service.

We would be pleased to welcome you again in the future,

Kind regards
Delphine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We just dropped in for a spot of lunch, best decision we could have made.

The staff were lovely & very attentive & the food was first class.

Well done keep up the good work.

2  Thank minandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel H, responsable de salle at Le Garde Manger, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear minandy,

Thank you for your wonderful review you left on tripadvisor. It's a pleasure and a reward for all the staff to read your nice words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We would be pleased to see you again,

Kind regards
Delphine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Very pleasant staff, wonderfully decorated in keeping with the medieval area in which it is located. A splendid menu of a variety of classic dishes. Probably the best in Bayeux. Although visited on a cold day there is plenty of outside seating to sit and watch the world go by as you sip a drink or eat a meal.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Rita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel H, Responsable de salle at Le Garde Manger, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Rita W,

We are so happy to read your comment!!!
All the team thanks you for it.
It is a pleasure for us to know that you had a beautiful stay in our establishment, and it would be a pleasure to receive you again.

Kind regards,
Delphine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We had an afternoon tour of the D-day beaches and came out earlier from Paris to explore the town. Had lunch here and an excellent lunch with a very helpful staff.

1  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Garde Manger also viewed

 

Been to Le Garde Manger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing