We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm and quiet”
Review of Villa Lara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Lara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2017

After a 11+ hour flight from Los Angeles and a three hour van ride, our family of six ranging in age from six years to eighty years was ready for some rest and relaxation. Villa Lara delivered. We had lovely accommodations with beautiful views of the small park, riverside and cathedral spire. With the Bayeux Tapestry museum within walking distance and many restaurants surrounding our location, we had everything at hand to begin our Normandy exploration. We stayed a total of four nights and found the staff consistently helpful, assisting us with our questions and requests. It was a wonderful start to our two week vacation in France. Though the hotel is not inexpensive, we would recommend Villa Lara without reservation.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lovebargains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (995)
There are newer reviews for Villa Lara Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 995 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Right from the moment when we walked into the hotel, we were greeted and felt very welcome. The service here was amazing. The rooms are large for a European hotel and very comfortable. The breakfast, for an additional charge, was excellent. You also cannot beat the location. Walking distance from everything. Great views of the cathedral. We will definitely stay again.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Erika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

This is a great property right in the middle of town. Excellent services--I think there are only 29 rooms but this is a high quality hotel. We had a suite with a queen bed and a pull out queen bed. Marble bathroom with large rain shower and tub and two balconies. The hotel is situated literally 5 minute walk to the cathedral and the Bayeux tapestry. A bunch (must be at least 20 if not more) of restaurants and wine bars within a 5-10 minute walk from the front door. We took a train from Paris to Bayeux and it was maybe a 5 minute cab ride (7 euros) to the front door. Hotel staff is excellent--very accommodating and they know the area very well. There was turn down service every night. Room was immaculate. We visited the Bayeux tapestry, the cathedral and then took a tour of the Normandy beaches including Utah, Omaha, Sword, Juno, Gold, Pegasus bridge, St Mere Eglise, the June 6th museum in Bayeux (dont miss this--excellent museum) and the British war cemetery next to the museum. The invasion beaches are about a 20 minute drive. If you like pastries there are at least 3 bakeries/patisseries within a 5 minute walk (definitely get the eclair du chocolate). The hotel has air conditioning (something we did not always find in other European hotels) and has an elevator. We did not have breakfast there but I hear its really good--(we would stop at the bakery every morning and get our eclairs!). Overall an excellent hotel-I dont know about the other hotels in town but this is an outstanding hotel booked by our travel agent. When we come back will definitely stay here again,

Room Tip: ask for room with a view of the cathedral--lit up at night-very pretty
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jxfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

We stayed in two double rooms at Villa Lara. This hotel is lovely. They have thought of and provided every comfort. The rooms are large, beautifully decorated and have every amenity. There were plenty of outlets for electronics and they didn't have those ridiculous toilet rooms with no sink for hand washing. The buffet breakfast was extensive and delicious. The hotel location couldn't be better. And the people were the best...from front desk to housekeeping to breakfast room to bartender. We had a wonderful stay and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 871ginny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Beautiful small hotel in great location, lovely furnishings, views of The cathedral, and excellent service.

Re: service : Had reserved a suite with a small terrace for 3 nights. But when we arrived and checked in discovered the rooms looked straight at a wall - no view at all. Understandably annoyed (had made the reservation six months in advance) we spoke to the manager, who apologized, told us the room we would like was currently occupied, but would be available the following day, and that if we left our bags in our room the next morning they would be moved to the new suite as soon as it was vacated and cleaned. We left for sightseeing the following morning and when we came back our bags were in our new lovely suite, with its small , very private terrace, and perfect view of the cathedral!!! Hotel management had stepped up and taken care of the problem, and additionally, gave us substantial credit for each night of our stay.

There were lovely furnishings throughout the hotel (chic updates of classic French) and very soft luxurious blankets on the bed. I however really don't like using blankets in hotels and prefer duvets. When I mentioned this to the owner (who had made an extra effort to meet us personally and apologize for the room thing) guess what ? During our evening turndown service (while we were at dinner) voila! Fresh clean duvet on the bed!

Great service made this already lovely hotel even better.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,183 reviews
0.2 km away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
712 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,435 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,349 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara Hotel

Address: 6 Place du Quebec, 14400, Bayeux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range: $378 - $854 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Lara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Lara is a small privately owned luxury boutique hotel with a chic but casual atmosphere in the historic center of Bayeux, along the Aure River in a very quiet square facing the 11th century majestic cathedral and just next door to the famous Bayeux Tapestry. Our 28 rooms are appointed in an elegant French style with 8 different color schemes. All the furniture is made by Moissonnier, a well-known French company founded in 1885. Its cabinetmaking skills have been passed down generations, bringing the past to life with light touches, suggesting without imposing, breathing new life into traditions to make the present feel magical again, and creating jewelry for the hotel while cultivating an offbeat style-such is the spirit of Moissonnier today. All the rooms are accessible by lift and equipped with air conditioning, a minibar, large flat-screen TV and safe. The marbled bathrooms have a walk-in shower and also a separate bathtub in most of the rooms. The rooms range from 30 to 50 square meters with a view on the Bayeux Cathedral. Beds are minimum 1.80 x 2 meters and in most of the rooms can be up to 2 x 2 meters. Wireless high speed internet access is free throughout the hotel, which features a cozy bar/lounge area with a fireplace and a library, a marbled lobby, and a breakfast room set in a traditional French style where the breakfast is prepared and served in front of the guest. Our complimentary fitness center is available 24/7 and equipment includes a treadmill, bicycle, and strength training machines. A private carpark is available with 15 spots and a drop-off space for buses. Although we meet the official government criteria of a 5-star property, we do not have a restaurant, a spa, and a formal bellman at the front door. We do not want to mislead our future guests who attribute these specific amenities to their image of a 5-star property, although we do of course provide porterage and turn down. And, as always, our commitment to 5-star service is at the forefront of our day-to-day operations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Lara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing