We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
94
43
19
14
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
43
19
14
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small balconies eurostar package lovely room opera house enjoyed our stay coffee machine on arrival mini bar great location central location recommend this hotel the grand place square luggage facilities centre
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2018

I spent here four nights on a business trip to lille. The location was great, in the heart of one of the main squares. The room was nice and large, and had a personal espresso machine and high quality tea which made my stay even nicer. Breakfast was also very nice located at an amzing spot with views on the main square. Great stay!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tom Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcarltonlille, Responsable commercial at Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Dear Guest,

It was a true pleasure welcoming you to Carlton hotel on the occasion of your business trip. We sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, we really appreciate your positive comments.

We were delighted to learn that you spent an enjoyable stay and that our generous breakfast buffet met your expectations.

Your remarks represent our greatest reward and incite us to give you the best possible service at all times.

For your next stay in Lille, do not hesitate to contact us directly in order to get the best rates. We do hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back in a not too distant future, for another business trip or with your family.

Warm regards,

Julia, Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

We spent two wonderful days at the lovely Carlton Hotel. The hotel is everything we expected and more of a traditional french hotel. All of the staff were friendly, helpful and courteous. We loved the breakfast and were very happy with the location which is right in the centre of things. We booked the city tour and the museum tickets online directly with the hotel and were very happy with the trips which were very good value for money and would certainly recommend them. We would certainly come back :)

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcarltonlille, Responsable commercial at Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Dear Guest,

First of all, we sincerely thank you for choosing the Carlton Lille hotel for your trip to Lille. It is such a pleasure to receive your wonderful comments further to your recent stay amongst us !

We are truly overjoyed to learn that you spent a great stay and that the services fully met your expectations.

We are particularly pleased with your compliments with regard to the staff which represent a great reward for the efforts being made to make the stay of our guests as comfortable as possible.

As you underscored, the hotel is conveniently located just a step away from the main square and the historical part of Lille. It is offering us significant opportunities to enjoy the city !

It goes without saying that we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Sunny regards,

Julia, Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Staff are uncaring and unresponsive to any issues highlighted Carlton Name with out the service very poor. They are much more friendly caring independent hotels available in lille suggest staying there or alternatively find a nice appartment to rent

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Venture177833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcarltonlille, Responsable commercial at Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear Guest,

We are absolutely astounded by your negative comment further to your experience at Carlton hotel. We are truly sorry to hear that we didn't meet your expectations and regret that we were not able to make your time amongst us more enjoyable.

Firstly, please note that we are not part of a hotel chain, we are lucky to be an independant hotel and to offer 59 rooms and suites that have their uniqueness and that are in no way standardized.

Secondly, your comments are left to your own interpretation, nevertheless we are pleased to observe that in the vast majority of our customers' comments on TripAdvisor, the feedback with regard to the customer service is extremely positive. We are fortunate to have a team consisting warmhearted, dynamic and smiling employees concerned about the well-being of clients and making their stay as comfortable as possible.

We very much regret that our approach was not clearly understood, and besides for not having exchanged on site on the subject.

We remain at your entire disposal in order to discuss this matter and to enhance understanding.

Yours faithfully,

Julia, Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

The positives: the staff on reception and at breakfast were very pleasant. The room was clean and had nice views.Reception area was pretty.The negatives: there's no lounge area or restaurant in the hotel. So on a rainy day you have to go out and find a cafe. The "gym" is a tiny room with only 2 machines and a sauna inside it so the whole room is basically a sauna!The bar is a tiny raised area in the reception where no one ever seemed to go.We were in Lille on a 3 night family trip. I'd say this hotel is probably more suited to Business people who only stay one ngt. 3 nights with nowhere to go but our room in the evenings was a bit boring.I think it should be a 3* hotel rather than a 4* due to the lack of facilities.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcarltonlille, Responsable commercial at Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your impressions following your recent experience at Carlton hotel.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast and that the services of our staff met your expectations.

However, we are truly sorry to hear that we didn't meet your expectations and regret that we were not able to make your time amongst us more enjoyable.

As you underscored, the hotel is not equipped of a restaurant for lunch and dinner, but there are many nice restaurants in the neighbourhood in which you will always find what you are looking for.

In contrast, we have a lounge area in the hall near the reception desk which was fully refurnished last year in order to create a cosy atmosphere. We regret that you didn't perceive it as such.

We are delighted to welcome business customers during the week as well as couples, groups of friends and families during the week-end.

Furthermore, we are pleased to inform you that the hotel has well been classified as a 4-star hotel and it has been confirmed in May 2018 further to an audit.

It goes without saying that we hope you will give us a new chance for your next trip to Lille to impress you and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future. We will be happy to answer any of your questions or concerns and to provide you advice on nearby activites.

Warm regards,

Julia, Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

Chose the Carlton Lille mainly for location as on this trip I was travelling with my 90 year old mother and I wanted to be near to the Eurostar Station. The location is very central and as we had a hire car, the valet parking was helpful, although at a price (30 Euro). The rooms were well appointed, staff friendly and breakfast all as expected for the price. There is no on-site restaurant, but we knew this and there are plenty of options within a short walk. The only reason this review didn’t attract top marks is that both in advance by e-mail (unanswered) and upon arrival, I asked for a recommendation for a local florist, as my mother and I were visiting my great uncle’s war grave. This question seemed to perplex the staff and I got the answer “probably somewhere near the market square”. Really? You don’t know if there’s a florist in your city? Anyway, a Google search located three within a five minute walk, so it was hardly a spoiler, but you get the point. I’d recommend the Carlton Lille for a more boutique type hotel in a great location and at a reasonable price.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Graeme P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcarltonlille, Responsable commercial at Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for choosing the Carlton Lille hotel or your trip to Lille and for sharing your impressions with us.

We are truly overjoyed that you appreciated your time at our hotel. As you underscored, the hotel is conveniently located just a step away from the main square and the historical part of Lille. It is offering us significant opportunities to enjoy the city !

As regards the parking, indeed we provide a valet parking which is an undeniable benefit as it is located only 400 meters from the hotel.

However, please accept our apologizes for the inconvenience caused with regard to the recommendation for a local, we sincerely regret that the person who answered you was not able to provide you with the name of a local one. Please be assured that you remark has been taken into consideration and has been discussed with our whole reception team. Measures have been taken in order to avoid a similar disappointment in the future.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back in a not too distant future !

Warm regards,

Julia, Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews