We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel-Residence Saint Jean
Ranked #62 of 185 Hotels in Lourdes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Close to the Grotto and shopping streets. Lovely lake view. Convenient kitchen facilities. Clean room and bathroom. Check-in very late at 16h30. Not convenient. Check-out at 11h00. Too early for a hotel with such a late check-in. Nice staff.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2011

Lourdes was a big surprise for us. It is very touristy and not just a spiritual place. Yes the hotel is in a great spot. We were in room 301 and it was tiny. If we put a suitcase to open on the floor there was no room to get by. We searched high and low and found only one plug in the room. There was none in the kitchen part or the bathroom. Everything was clean and it is a budget hotel. Parking on the street costs 1E an hour, 3 hours maximim. You had to pay between 8am-noon and then 2-7. After that it is free. The free parking lot really is a fair walking distance away. We were lucky the parking ticket machine was broken so everyone parked for free. We couldn't get the air to work but then I guess it wasn't on from another review. The internet worked fine in the lobby. The kitchen is very small but would be adequate. We did find it noisy. The front staff were very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Read this #2 ranked hotel in Lourdes and booked it for 3 nights. On arrival, we got promptly checked in and was encouraged by our cab driver praising our choice. We have been to Lourdes before and hence was certain on the ease of the location (to Grotto).
We were given Room 201, a double bedder. Winter is just over and reception told us the central heating had just been turned off 2 weeks ago but aircon wasn't activated (and not anytime soon). Temperature was like between 16-24, unusually warm for the month and the heat made it really hot in the room.
As well located this hotel is, it is superbly noisy. As we opened the window to allow ventilation, the room got became so noisy that it is hard to rest/sleep. The only quiet time was from 0130 to 0530 (thats the amount of sleep you can get).
As for the room itself, the floor was squeaky and uneven (yes, it's slanted!!). The door/walls were badly insulated, you can hear loud neighbors returning in the night. The only plus was the mini kitchen, allowing for microwave.
All in all, Lourdes is a great place and despite this being our 2nd trip there, we will return again.... But perhaps at another accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahtew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Location: 2-5 minutes from the Sanctuaries, smack bang in the middle of a row of eateries and shops. What more could you want? Even a walk to the train station (17 minutes?) was doable with big luggage. It really was a great place to be.

Room: Modern, spacious (but not big), and self-equiped. It would've been great to stay more days-- you'd really be able to make yourself comfortable.

Staff: Very helpful!! Even the cleaning lady who came up to do a last minute check was quite enthusiastic in offering some suggestions on what to do on our brief visit. Although reception is supposed to close at 6pm, by 8pm the reception lady was still there (I dont know if it was a once off).

Wi-Fi: Free... but the code is essay length and you need to be in the reception to use it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kei_sainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

I am writing a review for when it was a Citea, though I suspect that the accommodation hasn't changed. I am one amongst many volunteers that come to Lourdes every year and St Jean is perfect for any volunteers needs. You can do your own thing: you can have lunch when you're able; and you can provide your own food - it really makes life much easier. I only stay with a friend, but all the rooms are excellent - from family rooms to double rooms - well worth the money, and excellent facilities.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMattster1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lourdes hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#3 of 185 in Lourdes
328 reviews
0.2 km away
Saint Sauveur
Saint Sauveur
#14 of 185 in Lourdes
348 reviews
0.4 km away
Notre Dame de la Sarte
Notre Dame de la Sarte
#41 of 185 in Lourdes
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Residence Le Soleil
Residence Le Soleil
#17 of 185 in Lourdes
274 reviews
0.9 km away
Best Western Hotel BeauSejour Lourdes
0.5 km away
Hotel Saint Etienne
Hotel Saint Etienne
#49 of 185 in Lourdes
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Residence Saint Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Residence Saint Jean

Address: 1 avenue du Paradis, 65100, Lourdes, France (Formerly Citea St Jean)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Lourdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Lourdes
Price Range: $59 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel-Residence Saint Jean 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence St Jean is located in the city of Lourdes, 250 metres from its sanctuary. The residence offers accommodations with an equipped kitchenette, a flat-screen TV and a buffet breakfast is available in the morning. All of the heated rooms at Residence St Jean have a private bathroom, kitchenette with refrigerator and microwave, and a flat-screen TV. There is also free Wi-Fi in the rooms. Grocers and restaurants are located less than 50 metres away. After breakfast, guests can use the free Wi-FI access available in the public areas. The residence is located opposite Lourdes Bridge and 250 metres from the grotto. The train station is 1.2 Km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel-Residence Saint Jean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antipodes Resort Residence Saint Jean Hotel Lourdes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing