We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all Ibis hotels are the same apparently”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Styles Metz Centre Gare
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Metz
Reviewed 5 January 2015

Booked this hotel for a small citytrip and thought all Ibis hotels are the same. We stayed in an Ibis in Karlsruhe a year ago and there the breakfast was outstanding for an economic chain of hotels. But not every Ibis is the same apparently. This one here is an Ibis Style and that's a big difference with Ibis... Size of the room is the same, tv also but the bathroom was older. They changed the washbasin and toilet but left the old shower. The shower was very small and could need a good cleaning. The heating in the room was not optimum: made a lot of noise (water going around in the radiator) and in the bathroom the radiator wasn't working. They must know about this problem because there was an electrical heater in the room. No place in the bathroom to put Your things, so You need to go up and down the room all the time to get Your beauty case, soap, brush, ... and put it on the closes toiletseat. A shelf or cabinet would be useful in the bathroom. Also a power socket in the bathroom would be helpfull, the hairdryer hangs next to the door and 2 meters away from the mirror??? If You want to use a styler for instance You have to sit on the bed and take the mirror in the hall from the wall and put it on the floor next to the bed... The breakfast was poor, very poor. No eggs. Just cake, bread that is to small to put in the toaster to get it out again without burning Your fingers or break the bread. So why they put a toaster there is a big question. Nothing fresh. The fruit (bananas and kiwi) was almost rotten and didn't look appetizing. Even on the first of January, a holiday around the world, they didn't do an effort to make the breakfast a bit more extensive. It was the exact same breakfast as the day before. The third and last day of our stay we didn't even bother to go to breakfast. Never had such a poor breakfast in the last 7 Years in a hotel. Next time I look for at least an Ibis again, because Ibis Styles is not Ibis...
The reception staff was friendly. The cleaning lady knocked on our door the second day even when we hanged the 'do not disturb' sign on the door. We left the hotel a half hour later and took away the sign from the door, but she never came back to clean the room or change the towels. So she comes around once and if she can't come in the room, You're unlucky. Other hotels keep a list of rooms still to clean an do come back.
The freed wifi is good and has a good reach, that's a plus.

Room Tip: in room 214 You have a lot of noise from the radiators and the radiator in the batroom doesn't w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Staessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLORIAN B, Responsable relations clients at Ibis Styles Metz Centre Gare, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2015

Dear,

Thank you for your comment.
We hope to welcoming you in a future stay

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 642 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2014

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 October 2014

Great location near the Metz railway station. Car parking was available nearby and as we were there on a Saturday afternoon, we were able to park on the street (charges stopped at 7:00PM and no charges all day Sunday) for very little. Staff were very good and helpful, room was on the 4th floor and was reasonably spacious and clean. Linen for the bathroom was a bit scarce... noise level was OK.
Our one problem with this hotel was the filthy state of the breakfast room floor... so much had been spilt on it over time that (it was carpet!!) it was sticky to walk on and people were tracking this all over the room. We could only handle one breakfast there... We would be loathe to trust another Ibis...

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellabunka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2014

Whilst the hotel itself is nicely situated in a grand old building on a leafy avenue, the rooms are just your average, modern Ibis rooms. They're perfectly fine but relatively no-frills.

The location is very convenient for the train station and is a short 10 - 15 minute walk to the centre of the city - cathedral, bars, restaurants, shops etc.

By far the worst thing about this hotel was the breakfast. The breakfast room itself wasn't the best - but it was the service which really let it down. When we arrived ~8:30am there was no coffee (or teaspoons), no cereal, no croissants, a total of 2 pots of yoghurt, some cheese and a greasy looking pain au chocolat. Some of the items did eventually re-appear - coffee turned up after 10 minutes but you had to be quick and it was all gone again in a minute! In addition to the lack of food, the tables were never cleared.

There is no car-parking at the hotel itself but the nearby underground carpark at Rue de Neufbourg seems secure and is reasonably priced for an overnight stay.

I suppose if you're skipping breakfast, this is a half decent hotel! Otherwise I'm sure there must be better hotels in the same price-bracket in Metz.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Emyr_Elen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2014

The hotel is an old building refitted according to today's hotel standards, the old structure is still to be seen, what gives some charme to the interiors. The room was big and well furnished. The hotel is well located and not far from the city center. Sad to say but the employee in the reception was performing below the offered structures, he was "just" in all aspects. Unfortunately it seems to be a problem in all IBIS chain, where the weak point seems to be the personal. The real only unpleasant point to mention was that the wireless internet was temporarily not working during our stay, but that can happens even in our home.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank I D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Metz hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Le Mondon
Hotel Le Mondon
#2 of 30 in Metz
325 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel La Citadelle Metz - MGallery By Sofitel
0.2 km away
Mercure Metz Centre
Mercure Metz Centre
#3 of 30 in Metz
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Ibis Metz Centre Cathedrale
3.8 km away
Best Western Plus Hotel Metz Technopole
0.7 km away
Novotel Metz Centre
Novotel Metz Centre
#10 of 30 in Metz
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Metz Centre Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Metz Centre Gare

Address: 23 avenue Foch, 57000, Metz, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Moselle > Metz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Metz
Price Range: $106 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Metz Centre Gare 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Styles Metz Centre Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
All Seasons Metz
Metz All Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing