We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (819)
Filter reviews
819 results
Traveller rating
172
399
171
57
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
399
171
57
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free parking city centre overnight stop nice spot small fridge old town nice hotel couple of nights superior room within easy walking distance reasonable size spent two nights car park other hotels first stop bars and restaurants breakfast buffet
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 819 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2017

ADEQUATE+
A bit of an upgrade would be welcome to justify the price of a room, even with a loyalty program discount. The rooms and hallways showed signs of wear so far as the painting and furniture. Really, they should remove the red and white chains by the entrance to prevent falls from the steps; not very elegant. The entrance/reception area was somewhat confusing and, particularly due to the lighting, not wonderful. A bit more color would be welcome. The high point was the breakfast, which was fresh, tasty and pleasant. I thought the front desk hotel staff was somewhat indifferent, although they did their job and answered our questions. I guess I am not used to the receptionists sitting down and looking at their phones while on duty. Free ground-level parking in a safe area behind the hotel was a great savings; the hotel entrance is easily accessible from the parking lot. Parking spaces are few in number for the size of the hotel. If there is a large reception in the hotel, you may not find a space. At other times of the day (I visited during rainy weather in November), there were always one or two (very tight) spaces available. The outside of the hotel is, in one word, ugly - this is concrete block-like architecture. However, the location is excellent - close to the train station, close to the Centre Pompidou-Metz, close to the lovely old town center and the cathedral and market. Don't miss the Cour de l'Or Museum (explanations are only in French) and the Centre Pompidou-Metz. And then walk to Chez Moi for lunch or dinner! Last comment: at night in November there was no noise as the hotel is not next to dinner restaurants or stores.

Room Tip: A long narrow hotel; rooms in front face a curved street - rooms in back overlook the parking & uninteresting buildings.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Location is excellent, within minutes walking of Metz city centre. Furthermore, the hotel has a free, private car park at the back of the hotel.
Staff is very friendly. Food at the restaurant and breakfast is good.
Our room (305) was a little worn out and the bed a bit below standard. This hotel would benefit from a bit of refreshing...
WiFi worked perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the car park are very quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANCIS K, Directeur général at Mercure Metz Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Thank you very much for letting us know your feeling about your stay. We hope see you soon ! F Kugler Mercure Metz centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

Good location with excellent safe parking ample breakfast, rooms basic but clean, Metz is a beautiful old city with good bars and restaurants and shops recommend for a stop over whilst driving south .

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANCIS K, Directeur général at Mercure Metz Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thank you very much for letting us know your good feeling about your stay, we hope see you soon ! F Kugler Mercure Metz Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

We stayed in Mercure Metz Centre for 1 night. Our booking (via Booking.com) was for two nights but due to a family emergency we could only stay one night. Upon arriving, the reception was very nice. The receptionist told us that no refund was possible as we booked via Booking.com which is totally understandable.

We received a Privilege room which is very nice: spacious, espresso machine, comfortable bed, nice shower. One minor flaw would be that the shower wall is too short and causes some water to spill onto the floor of the bathroom.

We also had dinner at the restaurant which was a lovely experience: friendly staff, the food was well prepared and the price very reasonable.

The next day (August, 18), we checked out and the contrast with the above could not be more extreme. The receptionist asked if we really wanted to check out early, shooting us frequent incredulous looks. He was flirting with the border between cool professional and downright impolite. After having received the invoice, my girlfriend went back inside as the invoice was not clear to us, At this point, the receptionist was downright impolite and instead of asking if our question was solved, he turned away.

This attitude to us did not reflect the hospitality we experienced during 10+ years of travel in France and certainly not the professional standards of an institution like Mercure. Despite the very nice overall experience, the impoliteness of the receptionist left us leaving this hotel with a bad feeling.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathieu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANCIS K, Directeur général at Mercure Metz Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you for letting us know your feeling and sorry for the incident encoutered during your check out. I will share it with my team, and renew my excuses. F Kugler Mercure Metz Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

We have used this hotel before and stopped en-route home. Great location just a sghort walk from the city centre. Staff were very friendly, room was comfortable and we slept well. With easy parking and a good breakfast we strted the next day recharged . Top marks.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Southcoasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANCIS K, Directeur général at Mercure Metz Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions about your stay at Mercure Metz Centre ! F Kugler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews