We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“don't be too worried!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #37 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
england
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“don't be too worried!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Well after booking this hotel and reading reviews a while ago, decided to recheck some things about it again on tripadvisor and couldn't believe how bad it sounded, so went with bated breath, Anyway the first room we were given had been renovated with lovely bathroom etc but it was on the back of the hotel without a view so we asked to be moved to a room at the front, it hadn't been refurbished but it was OK, the view was lovely of the canal, it wasn't noisey as we had the windows closed at night because it early season and not too hot. I would class it a two star though as no tea/coffee facility, televison in french only, no room service, but a comfy bed with fresh linen both days, plenty of hot water, it was fine, we found it to be in the perfect location, not too far to meander to la Cite, near restaurants, Le Terminus bistro was good value and only around the corner, we did a canal trip, more for a sit down than anything, in all a really enjoyable mini break.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank digEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    45
    61
    34
    58
See reviews for
22
100
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Hotel Bristol feels a bit outdated but we found the staff to be kind and helpful and the room basic and clean. Our shower didn't work quite right but was good enough. Overall, ok but i dont know if i'd choose it again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wiscongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We read the reviews for the Hotel Bristol after we'd booked the room and were a bit worried about the number of negative points people had made. This did not put us off too much as it was a bit late to change hotels and in the past we've found that some people can be rather harsher than we are. However, I have to say, I find myself agreeing with a lot of the unimpressed reviewers.
The hotel is in a great part of town, near the station and the 'bus stop that is serviced by the airport shuttle and the upper floor has good views of the Canal Du Midi. As soon as you enter you are taken by how faded and tired the place is with cracked steps and dull surroundings. We were given our keys and went to the first floor to our room, it was VERY tired and dreary inside and we decided to ask for a different room as we were going to be there for five nights. After a bit of teeth sucking from the receptionist we were given a much nicer room on the top floor with Juliette balconies in the bedroom and the bathroom. This room was not fantastic but it had a certain quaintness about it and we had no problem spending time in it. The worst part about it was the toilet (see pictures) which was in the bedroom not the bathroom and it was really quite grubby and sordid.
Our towels were changed and our bed made every day and we always had a fresh supply of soap and shampoo/shower gel. If the place wasn't quite as depressing and grubby it would be acceptable.
We decided not to eat in the restaurant, thinking the kitchen wouldn't be the cleanest in the world if the public rooms were so shabby.
The staff in the hotel were very nice and friendly and I'm sure it was a much nicer place to stay twenty years' ago. We will certainly visit Carcassonne again but doubt that we will be using this hotel but please, if like us you've already booked your room don't be too concerned as it is not terrible, just not as good as it should be.

Room Tip: Great location for train and airport links, good view but onlyl slightly better than poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin_Langford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carcassonne hotels

Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Booked this hotel due to its proximity to the train station. When we checked in, in the late afternoon, we were given a small room which was yet to be cleaned. Then shown a new room which overlooked the canal & had a really nice view.

Didn't spend much time in the room & went off exploring the town. Got back late to "enjoy" the sound of the late night techno bar but eventually fell asleep due to tiredness.

Overall the hotel is shabby & in major need of refurbishment - we knew it wouldn't be great but booked it due to location.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrendaOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

As much as the facade and location are good on first impression, the interior is a disgrace!
old smelly carpets, nails sticking out of bannisters, wires keeping it standing up! Then you go to your room...It took 3 attempts for us to find a half decent one!: the first 1 had a broken shower and loo seat, the second smelled of stale tobacco the 3rd situated at the front was larger and better, however it faced the train station (high speed trains all through the night) and was next door to the techno music bar open until 2.30am!
The staff was embarrassed to be working there and the owner did not care!
I would recommend you stay well away from the Bristol, the Etap'Cite for that price is a much better hotel and has no stars!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salsaqueen54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel de la Bastide
Hotel de la Bastide
#20 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#30 of 39 in Carcassonne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#22 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Brit Hotel Bosquet Carcassonne
Brit Hotel Bosquet Carcassonne
#15 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.7 km away
Ibis Carcassonne Centre
Ibis Carcassonne Centre
#35 of 39 in Carcassonne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Soleil Terminus
Hotel Soleil Terminus
#24 of 39 in Carcassonne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: 7 avenue du Marechal Foch, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price range (per night): $55 - $116
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bristol 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carcassonne Bristol Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing