We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic family house in an idyllic marina...”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Montjoie

The house viewed from the marina
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house viewed from the marina
The swiming pool The lounge and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
The house viewed from the marina
The swiming pool
The lounge and dining area
Looking out to the deck with view out to the marina
View of the house from the water.
Looking down onto the decking from the roof terrace.
The master bedroom with doors to the roof rerrace.
First of the two twin rooms
second of the two twin rooms
The fully equipped kitchen
View of the marina from the roof terrace
The main square of Aigues Mortes.
The ramparts of Aigues Mortes.
The city walls viewed from the canal.
Aigues Mortes from the air.
Riding horses on L'Espiguette beach.
Horses of the Camargues
The light house at the Grau du Roi
The Tour de Constance from the roof terrace.
The Roman Amphitheatre of Nimes.
Flamingoes in front of Aigues Mortes
The House in its Marina Setting.
The Arenas of Nimes
Marina View.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Aigues-Mortes, Gard, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
neilwrigh...
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic family house in an idyllic marina location”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We were looking for a holiday to celebrate my daughters 21st and we found an absolute gem of a location. The house, set in a gated estate, is styled like an old fisherman’s cottage and overlooks a beautiful marina. The accommodation of three good size double bedrooms, a bathroom, en-suite shower room, a well-appointed kitchen, large dining and living room was absolutely ideal for what we wanted.

During the day, we alternated between sitting out on the terrace having a bite to eat and a good family chat and sunbathing on the sun terrace, followed by a welcome dip in the swimming pool.

Most nights we took a short 15-minute stroll along the path by the canal into Aigues Mortes. There are many excellent places to eat at night and a lot of places during the day to grab a light lunch and a welcome drink. The main square is so atmospheric and beautifully lit up.

The house is in a great location. We flew into Nimes on a two-hour Ryanair flight but could have chosen, Beziers or Montpellier airports. Not only was the flight cheap but we prefer the more intimate small regional airports. It was easy to hire a car at the airport and the journey to the house is straightforward with a number of supermarkets on the way to stop off to get supplies.

Whilst we were there, my son and I played golf at La Grand Motte - a great course. We visited Montpellier and Nimes, both lovely clean cities with plenty to see and do. We happened to go to Montpellier during La Fete de la Musique so there was plenty of free music to enjoy.

I would also recommend going around the ramparts at Aigues Mortes. Reasonably priced and a good way to learn more about the history of the town and the region. The local market in Aigues Mortes is delightful. We drove to the beach at La Grand Motte and went on the boat to Le Grau du Roi. The boat was such good fun and a great way to get around the local area.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2017
Dear neil,

Thanks for your report. Glad you enjoyed it and hopefully you may come again in the future.

George
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare S
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely villa in a superb location”
Reviewed 4 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had such a lovely time staying here. The house was well equipped and had plenty of space for the 4 of us (we didn't use one of the bedrooms). We enjoyed eating out on the terrace every evening and cooking on the BBQ. The children (8yrs and 4yrs) loved the communal pool which was never busy and we had great fun paddling around the marina on our SUP-we even made it all the way down the canal into Aigue Mortes in a canoe!
Aigues Mortes is the most beautiful town-we had never heard of it and didn't pick the house because of where it was so it was an unexpected surprise to discover the beautiful walls the first morning when I was out for a run along the canal!
There is so much to do in the area-we found some spectacular beaches, brilliant restaurants, some educational tours (the Salt Marsh petit train was a great tour-the kids loved running up the salt mountain and the views were incredible, and of course we walked the ramparts which was also brilliant and loved by the kids.
All the communication from the owners was very clear before and during our stay and they were very responsive to our various queries. There is a lot of information in the house about things to do in the area and having a locked garage was a big bonus for storing our bikes. We hope to return one day!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2017
Thanks Clare, Glad you enjoyed it and it must have been quite a revelation discovering Aigues Mortes for the first time.You are welcome back any time.

George Tsiantar.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Quest5480...
1 review
“Historical France”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Aigues Mortes is a mediaeval walled town about 16 miles from Montpellier (Mediterranee) airport. The property is within the new marina complex just outside the town and is very convenient for the main roads to both Nimes and Montpellier. It is also convenient for the Railway station; TER/SNCF have a summer offer ticket 1 euro single ticket for any journey on the line between Nimes and the coast at Grau-du-Roi. The property itself is a modern well appointed house in a row looking onto the Marina and contains all the facilities needed for a comfortable Family holiday. The Roman Arena at Nimes is spectacular as is the Roman Aqueduct at Pont du Gard. The beach at Grau-du-Roi is good clean sand although the water is rather shallow if you like a dip in the sea, although there is another decent beach just west of La Grand Motte with greater depth of water. It is an excellent location for a Family holiday.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell K
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful house in a peaceful location”
Reviewed 19 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We both loved our stay in this delightful house. The location was quiet and peaceful, yet within short walking distance of the historic town of Aigues Mortes, with its wide selection of bars and restaurants. The house is well-equipped and comfortable inside, and the outside area is perfect for lazy afternoons and eating out in the evenings. Our favourite area was the sun terrace leading from the master bedroom on the top floor - lovely views and plenty of sunshine to be enjoyed whilst lying on our sun loungers! We would definitely wish to return here some day x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We liked everything !
Liked least: There was nothing that we didn't like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2015
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Did you make the most of the grapes on the vine?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing