We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Marie Antionettes hamlet was one of the highlights of our trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Trianons & The Hamlet

The Trianons & The Hamlet
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 91.83*
and up
Versailles Bike Tour with Skip-the-Line Entrance to Palace
Ranked #4 of 78 things to do in Versailles
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Marie Antionettes hamlet was one of the highlights of our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

I had no idea what it was before we took a guided tour. One of the most serene places I have ever been. Fantastic. We went through cityrama tours who had a good guide for the day versaille trip which included this. The trianons were ok. The versaille grounds and gardens are great. Cityrama tour to loire valley was not good, don't recomment.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank CndnJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    877
    404
    82
    12
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

The thing about last minute holidays is timing and sometimes the places you are visiting may be closed or not fully open. That's the risk of visiting Paris in the winter.

A visit to Paris was a last minute plan, but the purpose was to visit the Palace of Versailles and to see the Petit Trianons and Marie-Antoinette'sHamlet.

The official web site suggested that the Hamlet was closed this time of year, which was a disappointment, but we still wanted to visit the Palace, our home has more books on this period and Marie-Antoinette's than I don’t know what.

Can only say over the moon when we found that it was the inside of the buildings in the Queens Hamlet that you could not go into, you could still walk around the estate, which I have to say was more than enough.

Yes being able to go inside may have added another dimension to the visit, but looking through some of the windows, I don’t feel we missed much.

Just being able to walk around the buildings and gardens gave you the feeling of the pleasure it must have brought to her away from all the ridiculous courtiers.

Tips take some food for carp, masses of Koi in the Queens Hamlet and fun to watch.

Its a long walk to the Hamlet but at a cost you can hire a golf buggy or there is free transport for those that cannot walk well. However if you can walk we suggest you walk all down the Grand Canal, so much to see on the way to the Grand Trianon and Hamlet.

Great day out.

I would also recommend Paris in Winter, more of the locals have returned so you get that more authentic feel to the place, and of course less tourist

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Mitch2nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The more intimate side of court life?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

After the hectic Chateau this was both quiet and peaceful; somewhere you could feel what it might have been like for the household to get away from the politicking and other matters of State. Marie Antionette's Hameau is a testament to what boredom can drive you to do if you have endless time and money!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank geofftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Very very charming, unfortunately we were not in time to look inside.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank iCynS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
735 reviews
442 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,290 helpful votes
“Time well spent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

If Marie Antoinette could not resist the sight and stink of cute farm animals in her most eccentric hamlet, so should any ordinary tourist out to cover every inch of her historic extravagance. Relaxing vegetable and flower gardens. Restored cottages that apparently survived the French Revolution. Noticeably young and adults enjoy all the adorable farm animals, especially the oh so obese pigs. Don't miss. Bring some insect spray. Bugs everywhere. Drive to the Trianons or be be prepared for long walks. These attractions are just as beautiful as the chateau but much much more fun.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank ebbtide123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Trianons & The Hamlet also viewed

 

Been to The Trianons & The Hamlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing