We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coq Au Vin for 2”
Review of A la Biche au Bois

A la Biche au Bois
Ranked #753 of 18,840 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: USD 22 - USD 43
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Bastille
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Had a huge Coq Au Vin craving & all reviews/blogs pointed our stomachs here.

I had the 3 course set (31.50 euros with starter/main/cheese & dessert) while the fiancé had her own Coq Au Vin.

The egg mayo was really delicious for starters, wiped it out very quickly. Next up was the heavenly pot of Coq Au Vin, generous serving of stew & chicken, it not only satisfied the craving but sent us to food heaven. We had to get more bread to finish the stew as well.

We went early when they opened and when we left it was packed with both locals & tourists. Great place to visit!

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank niwdlabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,026)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 211 of 1,026 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

This time in Paris was an overnight stop, (Thursday 31st) travelling from London to the South of France. With an early morning train from the nearby Gare du Lyon we stayed at the IBIS and this little restaurant is just adjacent to the hotel. We could have been luckier.
The waitress told us about the daily specials for Euro32.So we opted for that.
Starter was meat terrine
Main course Duck fillet
selection of cheeses
dessert
Water, bread and a glass of wine each totalled Euro79.60
Two happy bunnies strode 10 metres back to the IBIS contented.
We sat on the street as it was a very hot so there is plenty to view.
They certainly know how to pack the punters in, our dessert and bill were delivered through the portable shrubbery. Clientele appeared to be mainly locals who were made most welcome by the proprietor.
In the morning we came out to go to the station and everything moveable is cleared away and you can't quite believe what a lovely evening was had on the pavement the night before.
Well worth a visit.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 August 2016

The good: wine prices. The bad: Monday night cooking. Perhaps the regular kitchen staffers were elsewhere, but what came out of the Monday night kitchen was dreadful.
Maybe Parisian regulars understand this, for they were absent in droves. All present (there weren't that many) were English-speakers. It was our enjoyable visit a few years ago that brought us back; wish we hadn't.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vin-de-Pays
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Based on a recommendation on David Lebovitz's blog, we decided to try a dinner here. It wasn't the best meal we had while in Paris (6 Paul Bert was), but it was wonderful in its own way. As we don't like to have cigarette smoke mixed with our food, we chose to sit inside. It's a smallish room, but the mirrors make it feel much larger. It's tight quarters with the tables, so if you are an American, be like the French and keep your voices down. Be discreet. The staff was absolutely professional. Our hostess spoke English, which was a small help to us and critical for the couple that came in later and was seated next to us. We went with the menu for the evening, an excellent value yet not as good as with the bottled wine. You cannot eat here and not order a bottle of wine. The markup is far less than typical. We started with the hard boiled eggs with mayonnaise. Absolutely delicious. For the main we had coq au vin, a dish I've never had. Fortunately, in Europe you aren't rushed to finish and get out, like in the States. We needed plenty of time and still did not finish the flavorful main course. We needed to leave room for cheese and dessert.

If you are looking for a place without other tourists, forget about it. Paris is full of tourists in the summer. You will hear English spoken here, but the majority of the voices are French. Don't let the presence of other out-of-towners keep you away. This is a fine restaurant if you are looking for a bistro experience.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JackD135
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful meal for 4 here. Food was amazing. Service was great but what really stood out was the quality of the food. We will certainly go back next time we are in Paris.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank edhartnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed A la Biche au Bois also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to A la Biche au Bois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.