We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Winebar”
Review of Le Rubis

Le Rubis
Ranked #2,343 of 17,146 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Neighbourhood: Louvre / Palais-Royal
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Louvre / Palais-Royal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic Winebar”
Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

Style fifties French wine bar. Excellent wine and good food. Life like in the old days of France. Go there and enjoy!

Helpful?
Thank aupg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    66
    7
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
106 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Old style bar/bistro serving food from the south west”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Albert and his wife have been chef/patron here for nearly 20 years. Despite it's proximity to Rue St Honore - it's in Le Rue du Marche St Honore - the contrast between the luxe luxe of the main street and this very simple, yet hearty, offerings here is amazing.

They serve lunches only and later on til 9pm you can have gorgeous wine by the glass, 50cl or by the bottle with cheese or charcuterie on poilane bread. The wine is decanted into bottles from casks and they serve it in bottles with their own worn labels.....but it's the real thing. Customers sit and chat endlessly and Albert mans the old zinc bar, making up new platefuls of amuse guelle in advance. His wife tends the tables and keeps a careful note of each tables bill!!
The meals are hearty and simple, Jarret au lentilles, saucisse aligot, boudin noir etc etc. Home
made simple desserts. You are shown up the narrow wooden stairs behind the bar to eat.
A very casual place. Very relaxed. A place to pop into en passant. A piece of the Auvergne in Paris. Oh, and the mains are around 12 euros.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank miss-garnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne,Victoria,Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A terrific wine bar and French experience”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I stumbled upon this little wine bar while walking back from Musée de l'Orangerie and the Tuileries Gardens to our hotel near Opéra de Paris (I was just excited that I knew my way around Paris!!). With an avid wine buff of a husband, I knew he would be excited by the range offered by glass from all over France....so back we went!
We thought it was a very French experience to have the, shall I say, very mature Madame try her best to assist us with our limited French. We loved that the little tapas type dishes were delivered via a 'dumb waiter' near the bar. (we didn't realise there was a bistro upstairs!!) I just had the feeling that it was like the 'local'(in Australian speak) for many of the suited up and well heeled workers who stopped for a wine or two through the bar window after work (we were there at about 5.15pm so lots of passers by)
If you're into wine and a quaint French experience....give it ago...

  • Visited October 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank margfrommelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
411 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Memories of time past”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

There can't be many places left like this and before long it is easy to see this quirky cafe become another boutique shoe shop. Is the service rude or eccentric? I'm inclined to believe both and if it is rude remember this is Paris after all (where service and manners are improving over the decades). Formica tables, crowded bar with locals putting the world to rights with ever reddening noses. Easy, simple food served without any fanfare. Easy drinking wine with emphasis on Beaujolais. Great fun - long may this place last.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PBCinEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charming appearance, terrible service”
Reviewed 20 April 2010

While it can be a pleasant place to have a drink, the service is very disagreeable, and I recently heard the owner (who works at the bar), make racist remarks to two foreigners. While his wife is more friendly, I would stay away, especially if you do not speak French sans accent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank offinthedistance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Rubis also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Rubis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing