We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply stunning way to complete our visit to Paris”
Review of Le Petit Pontoise

Le Petit Pontoise
Reserve a table
2
Sun., 28/11
20:00
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #525 of 18,979 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: USD 33 - USD 56
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Quartier Latin
Description: Le Petit Pontoise is a genuine institution of the 5th district in Paris. It offers typical rich French cuisine in a "bistrot" atmosphere. The chef has been there for over 14 years preparing sophisticated dishes with fresh season products. He finds his inspiration in the most traditional French recipes. Located right next to the Seine river near the Boulevard Saint-Germain, this bistrot is always fully booked, you will meet people from around the world as well as regular Parisian clients which enjoy this typical French cuisine.
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Staying in a boutique hotel close by, some friends recommended this restaurant to my husband and I. So glad we followed their advice. This restaurant exceeded our expectations. The food was simply amazing.....you know it's good when you try your hardest not to swallow!! We sat out on the street and soaked in our last moments of beautiful Paris, eating some of the best food we have tasted and drinking some gorgeous French wine. When we re-visit Paris we will definitely also re-visit Le Petit Pontoise. We highly recommend.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sonya4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

295 - 299 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

Monday, July 18th 2016 was a very warm day in Paris. By the time of our 21:00 dinner reservation it was still quite warm outside. The outdoor tables were full so we sat inside and "toughed out" the heat(No AC like many places). All 3 of us were very happy with the food. My wife had the classic Sole Meuniere; our son enjoyed his Duck Magret and my Filet du Boeuf was great. The two ladies serving the 30 or so patrons worked tirelessly inspite of the heat. They were very nice throughout our meal.The wine list is modest in size with reasonable pricing. I would certainly go back in spite of the tight seating arrangement.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank 596MikeL596
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 July 2016

I had many fantastic meals here with friends. The food was amazing, really tasty and for Paris not that expensive for the quality that you get. The service is also exceptional. I have not a single complaint for this restaurant. Looking forward to my next visit!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lizemilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lepetitpontoise, Gérant at Le Petit Pontoise, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Merci beaucoup !

what a review....and so glad you had a great time at Le Petit Pontoise.

When will be your next visit...we can't wait to welcome you soon...

A bientôt

Jonathan & Alexandre
Le Petit Pontoise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

So everything was good BUT the Pig Cheeks were amazing, hot and stew like if it was cool out it would be perfect!

No complaints, deserves all accolades

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Coug8491
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lepetitpontoise, Gérant at Le Petit Pontoise, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Bonjour !

We like your comment. Simple and efficient !!!

Glad you enjoyed the pig cheeks : do you know that we cook the meat during at least five hours with the sauce and spices, and we add at the last minute the vegetables !
That's why the meat is so tender and the vegetables are so "croquant" !!

A bientôt for another Pig Cheeks

Jonathan & Alexandre
Le Petit Pontoise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016

On a Saturday night, we arrived at this tiny restaurant with indoor and outdoor (la terrase) seating after having made a reservation earlier in the day based on the TripAdvisor reviews. Perhaps not surprisingly, given that the earliest reservation we could get was at 9 pm, the restaurant was full. Strangely, though, all the diners were either American or British, with a French-speaking threesome arriving for a later (10 pm) dinner. While my husband thought the food was pretty good, I was disappointed in my main course, Canard Parmentier. The sliced roast duck was dry, hard, and over cooked -- difficult to swallow even with the help of the enormous portion of mashed potatoes underneath. The foie gras that topped it was serviceable. My husband's duck breast was much better, maybe because they had to cook the meat to order; if I had ordered this instead of what I did, I probably would have given it another star. The baked Camembert to share was a generous whole round cooked in its wooden box, topped with nuts. It tasted a little off to me, maybe too ripe to begin with, but good enough to eat the entire cheese. Again, my husband found no fault with it. The tarte tartin for dessert was good.

Our waitress was cheery and mostly attentive. Because she spoke English, I didn't have to resort to my spotty French, which made the evening easy in ways that could have been difficult.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bananas09
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lepetitpontoise, Gérant at Le Petit Pontoise, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Bonjour !
Thank you for your review and for the time you spent to write it.

I am very sorry you didn't like the Canard Parmentier which is one of our best main course with a unique recipe.
You should have telle the waitress that is was overcooked and we will change it immediately to another one. It can happen sometimes that the Chef miss a cook (he is only an human). But we have no problem in giving to you another meal or to do it again for you.
Do not hesitate next time to inform us and you will, for sure, spend a better experience, like your husband !

A bientôt

Jonathan & Alexandre
Le Petit Pontoise


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Petit Pontoise also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Petit Pontoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.