We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the visit, good food, good service and an amazing view”
Review of Kong

Kong
Ranked #8,169 of 18,840 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: USD 41 - USD 128
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Saint-Germain-l'Auxerrois
Description: Bold, new and spectacular, the KONG was born on May 26th 2003. From the kitchen, decor and music, nothing was left untouched to ensure the success of this UFO that landed on the rooftops of Paris. Laurent Taieb dreamt up this creation, he hardly slept and still doesn't, in order to ensure the smooth running of his beautiful machine. From the very beginning, he has always been accompanied by his faithful talented team. 10 Years later, the daring and hard work has paid off with friends and success waiting in the wings : Philippe Starck took care of the decor, Richard Pommies, the kitchen, Beatrice Ardisson, the decks, and finally Ara Starck, the paintbrushes ! The atmosphere of the KONG bar entwines both the intimate character of a cocktail bar with the refinement and elegance of a luxury hotel bar. KONG infuses a mixture of a relaxed and elegant, classy and entertaining, lively and friendly atmosphere. On the 5th floor of a Haussmann building, every window boasts a different view: the Pont Neuf, Henri Sauvage's Art Deco design of the Samaritan building, Art Nouveau by Frantz Jourdain, the Seine, the Louis Vuitton HQ... On May 26th 2013, KONG was renovated, restored, refurbished and restyled to celebrate a decade of success and to enjoy the next decade in style and of course, good company.
Reviewed 20 August 2016

My wife and I had a fun night at Kong. We were lucky enough to get a great table to really enjoy the view and the food and service were both excellent.
Generally we wouldn't eat Asian fusion in Paris, but this was pretty good
Our children went a couple of weeks after us with some friends living in Paris and they also has a great night and really enjoyed the bar scene.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lasinv01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (3,447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

390 - 394 of 3,447 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2016

Touristic? Yes, Expensive? yes but for Paris not crazy. Although in Paris people dont get what brunch is, the choices were good, timely served, and of high quality. The view in the front tables is excellent. There are however works being done on one the buildings outside, being faced by one of the sides. Service was impecable, and i might even say that there was actually alcohol in my bloody mary, which is not always the case in this city.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GEORGIE_Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 July 2016

The best part of the restaurant is the view.
Had a sunset view from my table and you can see the Senna and some bridges. Amazing for that. Very cool, young and chic. Loved it.
Not the best good in town but that view is enough to go eat there.
Would totally go back.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Isabela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 July 2016

We went to Kong for an official lunch and were mesmerized by the ambiance and the view. Being a vegetarian, it is hard to find a lot of options but they had an amazing cream cheese based udon and mushroom dish which is to die for! We followed it with a light fluffy chocolate mousse which is the best that I have ever had!
It is a pricey place but so totally worth it! Our server was extremely polite and very efficient.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MimiG2489
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 July 2016

Our favorite dining experience in our two weeks in Paris! Cool & hip with a much needed culinary break -- Asian fusion. The view was stunning, but so was the people watching. Romantic couples dolled up for each other and trendy friends dressed to the nines just starting their night on the town. We'd go back just for the postmodern decor!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cincichic2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Kong also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.