We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anthony Bourdain was right.”
Review of Robert et Louise

Robert et Louise
Ranked #800 of 18,475 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Le Marais
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Food cooked in an open hearth. Seasoned with smoke and love. So friendly, so good. What a joy! An essential stop on a visit to Paris.

Date of visit: June 2012
2  Thank donna p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

625 - 629 of 1,400 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2012 via mobile

Sat at a communal table with two other couples, was fun (it helped that none of us spoke the same language, only one being french). Had good beef "filet" which seemed more like rumpsteak but was good anyway, and lamb chops, three, very delicate. For starters had good escargot and a nice vegetable salad. Dessert was an overly sweet berry cake which was left half uneaten (!). Service was ok, not very fine tuned but no complaints. Prices were among the best we've seen in paris.

1  Thank galiasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Reading the trip advisor feedback about this restaurant makes it sound unbelievable. My wife and I dined there last night and we were a little disappointed. We had made a reservation a few days prior and when we arrived were offered either two seats in the middle of a large shared table or two seats on a very small table of four with a random couple next to us. Understandably, they don't want to waste any seats anywhere as it's a very busy restaurant, but, sitting on the same small table as another couple seemed a little odd. Whilst we were trying to eat, plates were being cleared right beside us...

On to the food - We tried two different types of steak, which we decided to share. I do often order steak in restaurants and I can honestly say these were the worst two cuts of meat I can ever recall having in a restaurant. Chewing our way through the fat and sinew was not an enjoyable experience and these were not what we would consider 'restaurant standard'. Some supermarket cuts are far superior to what we had and that's what I don't understand?! Since meat is the speciality here, what's all the hype about this place?! The sides of potatoes were good, mashed carrot was ok and the salad was just literally salad leaves with a simple dressing.

The atmosphere is quaint and the service was good. Definitely not the worst restaurant experience we have had but certainly nothing worth raving about in our opinion...

Date of visit: June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank NSKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

This is a terrific restaurant and well worth the rating. Its rustic and unrefined but that only adds to the ambiance. No, it doesn't cater much to tourist trail and you have to wind your way thru the narrow streets of Paris but you should really go. I ordered "blind" took the Special of the Evening and ended up with beautiful lamb shanks with a North African spice and glaze. Awesome.

We ate in the cavern below, while sharing at table with locals. It all went well.

Date of visit: June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Libertine_1433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

It's not "fine" dining, but it's good food. Had read about this bistro on a few sites so when we passed by during our first shopping stroll after arriving in France I stepped in to make a reso. Me: "parle vous ingles" Her: "non", but we were mutually able to determine (in our best broken English/French) that a table for two could be had at either 7 or 9 pm. It was our 1st day in France, and we're from northern New England so 7 pm was perfect! We arrived and were offered our own table downstairs or a shared table upstairs, we chose downstairs(a bit away from the hustle and bustle of the open fire pit upstairs but a pleasant enough respite from our 1st day jet lag-if you are more adventurous share a table upstairs). Waitstaff downstairs did not speak English - but everything here is some type of meat with potatoes- so if you just know agneau and boeuf you'll do okay. The meat was melt in your mouth, the roasted potatoes delicious and the 18 Euro bottle of the house special Bordeaux was ripe, just a bit lusty and very meat friendly. Found ourselves too full for dessert but with a bit of red wine left asked for a cheese recommendation - a slab of nicely ripened Brie with crusty bread finished the night (and the bottle). We left sated and happy -and I think the tab was about 50 Euros for 2.

1  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Robert et Louise also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Robert et Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.