We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Disappointing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Paris - Vendome
Ranked #413 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Bucks
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Location, Disappointing Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

We stayed at the Westin as part of our Silver Wedding Anniversary celebrations. You cannot fault the location and its accessibility to all that Paris has to offer. Once you get passed the impressive hotel entrance the rest of the hotel seems dark and in need of a refresh. There was a terrible smell in the ground floor area that lingered on for the 2 days we were there. The rooms are large but decorated in sombre colours, the bathrooms are a huge disappointment, small baths, old fashioned and lacking the amenities you would expect from a hotel of this class. No trouser press, shoe shine kits, umbrellas, mirror in the bedroom above the dressing table area etc......
The reception area was a nightmare to check in and check out with only 3 of the desks manned at the busiest of times whilst the Starwood preferred guest area was manned but no guests to check in. The Conciege area seemed to be where everything else happened - umbrellas, luggage deposit as well as information on restaurants and places of interest. If you needed anything you just had to stand in line and wait and wait.
The room where breakfast is served is the main restaurant for lunch and dinner and is decorated in a dark pink/red velvet theme. It just doesn't work as a breakfast area with dim lighting and a night club atmosphere.
The Spa and the Spa staff were a delight and the treatments offered a fantastic treat. It is in a very small area of the hotel but arranged very cleverily.
I would not return.

Room Tip: Not sure where the good rooms are
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abraham_foucherot, Assistant front office manager at The Westin Paris - Vendome, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Dinton,

Thank you for posting your online review.

I deeply regret you were disappointed by your recent stay with us and did not appreciate the hotel in general.

Please my accept my apologies for the long time spent waiting at front desk and with the concierges.
I have well noted your other comments on different areas we could improve and will share with our teams.

On a more positive note, I will pass your nice comments to the team of the SPA!

Trust to have the pleasure to welcome you back when travel brings you to Paris.

Sincere regards,
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,358
    1,205
    496
    241
    162
See reviews for
682
1,479
161
625
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (744)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

What a wonderful location - across the street from the Tuileries Gardens and just down from The Louvre- If you're a walker, you can walk anywhere because you are starting in the center of Paris! If not, the metro is right up the street - The hotel lobby is wonderful - a lovely glass enclosed center courtyard is open for drinks if the weather is accomodating. The Napoleon banquet room is gorgeous, old Paris! Looks like it came out of Versailles! More than enough daily newspapers are spread all over the lobby.
The concierge service was outstanding, as well as the front desk staff. They were all so helpful and responsive!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abraham_foucherot, Assistant front office manager at The Westin Paris - Vendome, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear joshmom,

thank you for your kind review!

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and could see our wonderful Napoleon banquet room!!
Thank you also for you nice words on our teams.

Be well,
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

For Paris the room (junior suite) was very large. Which was fine until we came back one day to find the message light blinking and had to change rooms (or have no useable bathroom) in the 20 minutes we had left to be prepared to host a formal event... All could have been avoided if the message center had picked up when my husband tried to reach them when he first saw the light a couple hours earlier... The new suite had a huge unidentified wet spot on the carpet. The hotel forgot to notify our group that we had changed rooms which resulted in massive missed communications, things being delivered to our old room etc. Generally it was hard to reach the front desk or housekeeping... and the electronic card keys failed at least twice. Why do hotels use those systems if they can't get them right? Very mediocre.

Room Tip: Distances from the elevator can be very very long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank longtermexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abraham_foucherot, Assistant front office manager at The Westin Paris - Vendome, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear longtermexpat,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

I am so sorry to learn you were disappointed with your stay, due to various inconveniences encountered with your suites.

thank you for bringing those details to our attention, this is what helps us improving our level of service.

I regert not to have been able to meet with you during your stay, and sincerely hope you will give us another chance when coming back to visit paris.

Kind regards,
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

We just got back form the Westin Vendome in Paris and loved it. We are SPG members and used 100,000 starpoints for our 40th birthday get away. We have stayed at Westin hotels in Hawaii, Madrid, Venice and Florence and must say the Paris Westin was memorable in every way. We got upgraded to a Eiffel Tower view room with a balcony which gave us a magical view at our disposal. Highly recommendable if you can pay a bit more, you wont regret it! The entire staff was nice and accommodating...no issue there at all. The rooms are a bit small but we are in Europe which is expected. Yes, there are imperfections with the rooms but again, we are in Europe and things are excepted to be old...so don't sweat staying there even if you see a picture of some rust or a chipped wall as some have posted.

The location rocks! ....walking distance to the metro,Louvre Museum,shops,dining,bistros,ect... you can't walk to the Eiffel tower but for 1.75 euros you can take the metro which is the very best way to get there.

Overall, we felt this place gives you the best quality, location, service and value that you would expect from a Westin hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hectorkeren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abraham_foucherot, Assistant front office manager at The Westin Paris - Vendome, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Dear Hectorkeren,

I am so happy you decided to stay with us for your 40th birthday anniversary and had such a memorable stay!

Thank you for this great review, and hope to have the pleasure to meet with you next time coming back to Paris!

Warm regards,
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

I am a big hotel snob and found that the Westin lived up to my standards. Everything was clean, the room was big and we had no problems from the staff. Heavenly Westin beds and nice down quilts made for a wonderful rest at the end of every day! I never heard any noise out of the surrounding rooms.

We stayed on the 4th floor and had a lovely little balcony with a view of Place Vendome and the Tuileries. I loved staying at the Westin.

An added bonus--It smelled just like all the other Westins! The familiar scent made me feel right at home!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJCarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abraham_foucherot, Assistant front office manager at The Westin Paris - Vendome, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Dear MJCarney,

thank you for taking the time to post about your recent experience with us.

I am glad you had such a great stay with us and enjoyed our comfy Heavenly Bed!!

Hope to see you soon for another renewing experience with Westin!

Best,
Abraham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Opera / Bourse
W Paris - Opera
W Paris - Opera
#339 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#108 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Opera / Bourse
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Le Meurice
Le Meurice
#43 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Paris - Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Paris - Vendome

Property: The Westin Paris - Vendome
Address: 3 Rue De Castiglione, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Spa Hotel in Paris
#248 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#369 Family Hotel in Paris
#387 Business Hotel in Paris
#472 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price range (per night): $360 - $1,078
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Paris - Vendome 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Westin Paris. Overlooking the Tuileries Gardens and the Eiffel Tower, The Westin Paris is an idyllic retreat in the midst of the invigorating French capital. Savour the flavours of the City of Lights at le First, restaurant boudoir paris, which gives you a taste of the contemporary. Our Spa, a place to relax, revive and experience complete renewal, the first Six Senses in Paris – Six Senses at rue de Castiglione. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Paris - Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Paris - Vendome Hotel Paris
Westin Paris
Paris Westin
Westin Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing