We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient but Not Worth the Discomfort (Dirty!)” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gerando

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Gerando
Ranked #1,465 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Convenient but Not Worth the Discomfort (Dirty!)”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Pros: Convenient location and a balcony in the room.

Cleanliness:
Greeted by a bug on the bed upon arrival was not quite an auspicious start. Saw one more tadpole like bug crawling on the bathroom floor on the second day. Comparing to the bugs, the stale carpet with irregular dark patches all over and the urine smelling hallway (5th floor) did not seem so bad!

Location:
2 minutes walk from Basilique Sacré-Coeur. 45 minutes from CDG by RER and train (Anvers stop). However, it was hard to find. We asked four locals and only one knew where the street is. Very noisy with people screaming at midnight from the restaurants and bars nearby. Single women be prepared of lots of head-to-toe stares and catcalls. Stay away from the overpriced souvenirs shops. Items such as postcards here were double the price of those at the Eiffel Tower souvenirs shop.

Security:
No safe nor "do not disturb" sign. Cleaning lady (which is also the one who serves breakfast) came in around 10 am during our sleep to collect towels for laundering. We were told she would come back with them fresh at noon. You would have to air dry yourself on the balcony if you want to take a shower between 10 am to noon.

WiFi:
Free but only works at the lobby, unlike otherwise advertised as full functioned in the rooms.

Breakfast:
Serves between 7-9 am. One bread roll and one croissant with jam and butter. One orange juice and one coffee.

Vaiue:
I understand "you get what you pay for" but it was not worth the discomfort. The least any budget hotel or hostel can offer is a clean room but Hotel Gerando failed terribly.

We only stayed one night but even that seemed too long. We definitely would have found another hotel if we had to stay longer.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petitmacaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    72
    88
    37
    35
See reviews for
31
121
26
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
254 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

The lift opens and stops half way up each flight of stairs, and is very small. There was no baby cot or high chair available, and the rooms were very small, with no air con, and thin walls. It just about served its purpose as an overnight option near the train station, but other than location didn't have anything to recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank nimbledolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Oxford
Level Contributor
135 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

The hotel is located just a short walk from the main train station.

Our main bedroom was fine however bathroom quite dirty, for example, the shower curtain. Water leaked easily from the shower.

Steep stairs may also be an issue for some guests.

Breakfast was the most modest on offer throughout our trip: a warm drink, orange juice, croissant and bread roll.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank callcrookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed in this hotel for four night book it through Hotel.com. The price is right. The location of the hotel is great. Close to transit. We took the train from the airport to Gare Du Nord (train station), 15 minutes walk to the hotel. The room we stayed in was very small and the bed was also very small. I am only 5' 7, my feet would go off the bed in the middle of the night. The room was old and not very clean. You can't expected to much for the price you pay. But again, the location is great. I will not stay in the hotel again.

Room Tip: Low price, great location, not very clean, shop around before decide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davekfli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

My husband & I needed a place near Gare du Nord/Gare de l'Est for a late evening train arrival to Paris, and so this hotel was conveniently located for this. It was 88 euros, about as low as you can go in Paris and be physically close to anything that a tourist wants to see. It is very close to Sacre Coeur and Montmartre with many close, convenient Metro stops. The gentleman at the front desk was very kind and helpful, even though we had to report a couple of problems right off: the sink was plugged & we couldn't open it up, and the wi-fi (free, one of the attractions to this place) wasn't working. We suspect that someone in the hotel or on our floor was using excessive bandwidth because, though the staff fixed it for us somehow, it was a problem again that evening (a bit irritating when we were wanting to check in to our flight & do some other personal business online). But the staff was apologetic & responded immediately to our requests. The room was very clean - not much bigger than the bed (three twins pushed together!) - but that was inconsequential for a one-night stay. They had boasted about sound proof rooms on their website, but this is not true in the least. First of all, a room with a window on a Paris street is always going to be noisy, and shortly after we'd gone to bed for the night, we heard several loud-talking men come back to the room next to us, and we continued to hear them through the wall until they finally quieted down. Nothing some earplugs couldn't help with, though. Another plus was they were willing to keep our bags for us after checkout while we explored the city before an evening flight home, although they would just be left in the dining area behind the main counter. Probably safe, but seemed a bit risky, so we opted out. But it's still nice that they let you do that. In general, we were satisfied with our stay.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AmyO45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
The Modern Hotel
The Modern Hotel
#1,283 of 1,794 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
#928 of 1,794 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Hotel du Square d'Anvers
#1,458 of 1,794 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenir Hotel
#1,235 of 1,794 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Entrepôt
Metropol Hotel
Metropol Hotel
#1,377 of 1,794 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Liberty
Hotel Liberty
#1,526 of 1,794 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gerando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gerando

Property: Hotel Gerando
Address: 11 rue Gerando | 009 Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,465 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price range (per night): $81 - $148
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Gerando 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hotel Gerando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gerando Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing