We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete Waste of Time”
Review of Mundolingua

Mundolingua
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 8.09*
and up
Mundolingua Museum Admission Ticket
Ranked #24 of 2,263 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Language is one of the fundamental abilities that makes us human. It has also played a key role in the evolution of people and modern society. To reveal the secrets of language, Mundolingua gives you the opportunity to discover language, languages and linguistics. A real little "discovery area", Mundolingua invites you on a voyage in an unusual, fun and cozy setting, in the heart of the Latin Quarter: between the Luxembourg Gardens and Saint Sulpice. The different themes and services of Mundolingua: - Language Continent - Languages Continent - "Fun with language" Continent / Relaxation Space - New Technology & Linguistics Continent - Micro-Cinema, Shop. Mundolingua is open to everyone! Whether you are a beginner or an expert linguist, our exhibition has 3 levels of difficulty, so that you can go into more detail at every step. You are welcome to follow our news to hear about our events (conferences, panels, workshops...). Enjoy your visit!
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Its geared to middle school students (maybe). Despie its claim to be multilingual, most everything is European. Almost no Asian or Middle Eastern languages. Canned presentations are juvenile at best.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mundolingua, Propriétaire at Mundolingua, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Really sorry it was not to your liking - fortunately most people seem to like the museum as witnessed by the majority of the Tripadvisor comments. We make no secret of the fact that there is very little content that is new or orignal - there are libraries full of all the information relating to languages and linguistics. What is new is the way it is presented - aimed at the general public rather than university students. We feature no particular languages but rather look at phenomena that concern all languages. There are examples in many languages from around the world - all our information is presented in the 6 official languages of the United Nations: French English Spanish Russian Arabic and Mandarin Chinese. Perhaps because of our situation in Western Europe, 95% of our clientele turns out to be European but we try as much as possible to present everything with as little bias as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"enigma machine"
in 6 reviews
"interactive stations"
in 2 reviews
"older kids"
in 2 reviews
"small museum"
in 4 reviews
"interesting place"
in 2 reviews
"three hours"
in 3 reviews
"great museum"
in 3 reviews
"few hours"
in 3 reviews
"topic"
in 9 reviews
"video"
in 10 reviews
"information"
in 25 reviews
"exhibits"
in 15 reviews
"development"
in 5 reviews
"expert"
in 3 reviews
"study"
in 3 reviews
"human"
in 2 reviews
"session"
in 2 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

This small museum is a find indeed. Over 2 floors it covers a lot of aspects about language, with many interactive displays. We spent nearly 2 hours in there but still couldn't complete it all! Very educational and very suitable for children as well.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank sus67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

I brought 11 college students here during a summer study abroad session (July 2017) teaching with the European Council in the University System of Georgia. The museum originator gave us (for a small extra fee) a brilliant and engaging one hour seminar and tour of us own museum!! He is a world expert on the topic no doubt and highly engaging. My Human Development students were exposed to new and wonderful ideas and concepts and they were just enthralled with the museum and the hands on exhibits and interactive stations. A dream come true for anyone, but especially those with students traveling and or living in Paris. A rare gem, an authentic learning experience - I highly recommend it. PS An Enigma machine!!!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank carlabluhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

This is a private initiative, a low-fi little place stuffed into two rooms and a vast basement in the university quarters of Paris. But it is incredibly well-researched, interestingly presented and illustrates language and languages from all conceivable angles. You might think this a pretty specialist subject, and I admit I went because I am a translator. But come to think of it, language is something we all use and, many argue, one of the things that defines us as human. So actually it is a topic for everybody, and that is how it is presented. There is fun to be had for young and old, for linguists and lay people, and when we left after almost three hours we had a feeling we had just begum tomscratch the surface....

Date of experience: May 2017
2  Thank Andreas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2017

I spent an interesting and enlightening 2 1/2 hours here and will return when next in Paris. Full of such interesting information and plenty of hands-on activities and exhibits. I had no idea how the Enigma Machine worked, the different methods of learning a second language or how fish communicate - there was such a variety of exhibits and I gained a lot of information during my visit. A pleasant atmosphere.

Date of experience: April 2017
4  Thank sheelagh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mundolingua also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Mundolingua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing