We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The "Love Lock" bridge in Paris”

Pont de l'Archeveche
Ranked #173 of 1,169 things to do in Paris
Attraction details
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The "Love Lock" bridge in Paris”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Personally I think it's romantic and like a tourist draw for people to put these locks on a bridge. Of course it's no good if it damages historical buildings but if so was the case I would expect the mayor of Paris to put up a sign to that effect and inform people of that fact. Also, I'm sure the value of the tourist draw this has far outpaces the cost of cutting these locks down if it becomes a problem.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
56 Thank Markus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    127
    47
    3
    21
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“My favorite Paris bridge”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

There is really nothing very outstanding about this bridge. It was built in 1828 and is the narrowest road bridge in Paris. The attraction it holds for me is purely romantic! The shadow of Pont de l'Archeveche is where Gene Kelly and Lesile Caron danced in the 1951 film, An American In Paris. What more reason could you want to see it? It's also where we boarded our Batobus river boat tour. There was an accordian player sitting near the bridge entertaining the tourists, accepting Euros for his efforts and he will play requests. He played La Vie En Rose for me, albeit, badly!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
22 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Yet another vandalized bridge”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

After relaxing in the shade on a bench behind the magnificent Notre Dame, I headed south on my way to the Latin Quarter and to my disappointment the lovely Pont de l'Archeveche was covered in the stupid Locks of Love. As romantic as ithe idea sounds, it's not - it's vandalism.

Imagine thousands of litte keys floating down the Seine - what impact will they have on the environment? What happens when these locks, after being exposed to the elememts, start to corrode? Is that what you want to see behind one of the world's greatest cathedrals? Not me.

The view from the bridge is spectacular (take a look at google street view to see it "sans-locls" to see what I mean.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
60 Thank F1racegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“What a romantic spot. A MUST see spot in Paris!”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This is the brigde to the north of Notre Dame across the Seine. Everyone puts a lock on the bridge with the names of someone or those they love. It is a truly moving site and with the stunning Notre Dame Cathedral as the backdrop, it is an amazing photo opportunity.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
31 Thank rosebank1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pont de l'Archeveche also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Pont de l'Archeveche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing