We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid! Avoid! Avoid!”
Review of Le Regent Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Regent Hostel
Ranked #9 of 166 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Avoid! Avoid! Avoid!”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Do not be misled by the pictures found in 'Gallery' at the official website. The current condition of the hostel is much worse.

Never stay in room 12, the filthiest room I’ve ever come across. The noisiest room in the hostel as it is next to the lift, just above the kitchen, facing the road and located on the 1st floor. Strong smells of urine and feces in and from the toilet. Nightmare.

Ask to view the room 1st before making payment. Ask for receipt after making payment or else it will not be given. Full payment is required upon checking in.

Wifi is available on the ground floor only.
Indifferent staffs. A few are arrogant.
Seedy neighborhood.
There were shouts from the streets every night at 2 or 3 am during our stay.
No towel, soap or shampoo. Towel is on loan at 1€/piece. Toilet papers are provided.
Bed sheets are given when checking in and returned when checking out.
Small lockers available at 0.5€.
Internet access at 1€ for 15mins, 1.5€ for 30 mins, 2.5€ for 1 hour.
Kitchen opens from 11am to 10:30pm.
Laundry service is available. Washing machine 4€. Dryer 3€.
Supermarket is 5-10 mins walk away.
Sacré-Cœur is 10 mins walk away.
Entirely non-smoking hostel.
Lift is available

We will NEVER return to this hostel.

Room Tip: If you really have to stay, view the room 1st before making payment. Some rooms are in better condit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveleveryyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    381
    207
    58
    52
See reviews for
87
168
299
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gadsden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

I stayed at this quaint hostel on my first solo trip abroad. It was perfect for a week in Paris spent exploring the many areas of the city. The view of the Sacre Coeur was such a special treat too. If you are a simple and efficient traveler I highly recommend it. Safe, secure, and all of the quirks of Europe on a budget (for example the shared hallway shower). The free breakfast helped keep on par with money as well. I would definitely book there again in the future.

Room Tip: Balcony and a view of the Sacre Couer are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2011

My boyfriend and I had a private room with en-suite. I had asked for a room with a view of Scare-Coeur and despite several emails flying back and forth between me and the concierge they were very non-commital as to whether we would have the view. We did...and it was fabulous!! So romantic! After a long day seeing the sights my we stopped off at the local supermarket to pick up some cheese and wine which we ate while soaking up the best view in Paris.
The location is superb - 60 seconds from Anvers metro and a short walk from Pigalle with restaurants and a bit of nightlife.
This is a hostel and it makes no apologies for itself. However the rooms on the top floor were quiet and away from the general hubub. Negatives are peeling paint in the shower, light stains on the carpet (probably red wine from other revellers!) ...but these minor details and far outweighed by the positives. Despite being a little rough around the edges it is clean and neat with fresh linen and hot water, great connections and location, friendly helpful staff and a decent breakfast.
I

Room Tip: I think the view is only available for the ensuite rooms on the top floor. If you are going as a cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boosid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Le Regent is well located about a five minute walk to the Sacre Coure in Montmarte. The area has lots of shopping and restaurants and is a ten minute walk to Gare Nord train station. The hotel is a block from the Metro and one can walk to the center of Paris if the weather permits. Le Regent provides a great kitchen to prepare lunch or dinner and provides a good breakfast of juice, cereals and a croissant or muffin along with coffee or tea. I would stay at Le Regent again and enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: I was in a top floor room. It was a bit warmer than a lower floor but also quieter. I would stay a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlust52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Positives:

We stayed in a private room (with ensuite) and I asked for the advertised view of the Sacré Coeur. When we got upstairs to our room and looked from the balcony, our jaws dropped-we couldn't believe our luck! I'll add a couple of pictures to show what I'm talking about. They really under-sell the view on the website!

The room was exactly what was advertised to us and the bathroom was good too; the shower pressure was actually quite strong compared to other places I've been in so I was actually able to wash my hair with ease! There was a little hair-dryer in there (but if you've got space in your luggage, I recommend you bring your own). It even had a flat-screen TV with about 30 channels!

The kitchen was very spacious and there was plenty of space to keep your food in the provided fridges. There was loads of space to hang out, use their wifi and meet other travelers. The free breakfast until 10:00 was a great way to start the day.

Another point they under-sell is their proximity to the (underground and therefore silent) métro. It is literally 30 seconds away making it a breeze to reach anywhere in Paris (pick up the 10 pack of métro cards or the under 26yr cards at the weekends for best value).

Negatives:

This is a 2 star hotel/hostel. After reading some of the reviews, I'm wondering if people actually realized this...don't expect the Ritz. Of course it's going to be basic. For example, the tiles in our bathroom could have done with a revamp. It smelled kind of funky the first day we got there but that went away.

As for the 'unsafe' location, Anvers métro stop is one over from Pigalle which is the red-light district and again over from Barbes-Rochechouart which is a bit dodgy. However, it seems to be a safe-haven in the middle of the two. We encountered no problems, even at night.

Overall, a hugely positive experience. The view and the location were amazing and for the sort of place that it is, I couldn't have asked for more.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with the view of the Sacré Coeur!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChessieHorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#2 of 166 in Paris
782 reviews
Vintage Hostel
#12 of 166 in Paris
757 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Villette
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Arty Paris
#7 of 166 in Paris
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Regent Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Regent Hostel

Property: Le Regent Hostel
Address: 37 boulevard de Rochechouart | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 166 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Price range (per night): $44 - $173
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Regent Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Paris from the heart. You are not 20 mn away to the center , 10 mn to the center but just in the center . Ideally located in front of the most visited site of Paris : the Sacré Coeur and a short stroll away from the Moulin Rouge and Pigalle ; the staff of the Regent Hostel will welcome you day or night and will make your stay inforgettable. Come and meet fellow travelers, cook in our common kitchen, hang out in our cool lounge (with great football table) or enjoy the free Wi–fi while just hanging out. share stories and tips. The welcoming ambiance of the Regent Hostel will be just what you are looking for while visiting all the wonderful sights of Paris.We offer:• A parisian breakfast from 7:30 am to 10 am (Juice, fresh croissant, coffee, French bread with butter and jam,hot drinks)• a kitchen fully equipped opens from 12 am to 10.30 pm • 24 hour reception• Free Wifi in the whole hostel• HIGH SPEED internet kiosks (paying) • Cleaned daily• Elevator ( lift )• English NEWSPAPER• FAX SERVICE • parking nearby ( charge ) • Free Day storage luggage after check out • 100% Hostel smoking Free • Free Iron ; Ironing boarding• Hot water 24 hours • Free Use of major mobile phone recharger • Free maps and knowledgeable advice• Lockers at the reception ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, HostelWorld, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Regent Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Regent Hotel Paris
Regent Paris
Paris Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing