We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I loved the experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge de Jeunesse MIJE Fauconnier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge de Jeunesse MIJE Fauconnier
Ranked #23 of 155 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I loved the experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

The location, nice functional rooms, and the breakfast are really great for the price. We had a great time. The toilet is a shared one, hence there are some problems that are usual. But otherwise , it was a good choice!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kumadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    97
    29
    6
    6
See reviews for
33
21
76
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

I stayed here for 6 nights in a single en suite. The room was good -- clean, relatively quiet. The location can't be beat. Easy to walk to Ile de la Cite, Marais, the Metro. The breakfast was good -- coffee/tea/cocoa, juice, pain au chocolat and a baguette with butter and jam.

The only negative would be the school children who don't know the volume of the noise they create. That was a bit annoying, but not the problem of the establishment -- it's kids being kids.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank historychick13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

I stayed there because I had a job interview in Paris and the behaviour of the staff was unforgivable and blatantly racist. It felt like I was somewhere in the deep south of the US or in apartheid South Africa circa 1950. Appalling.
The worst offender was this French girl at the reception who at first refused to speak English despite the fact that it was obvious that I could not speak French and was aggressive and rude for no reason; she had a lack of people skills and behaved as if you were an intruder and not a guest. The fact that there are black and North African staff is not a redeeming feature as they seem to be the type that have self-loathing issues and are embarrassed of their origins. It was rather sad.
Other people on this board have mentioned clean sheets, rooms and showers but if I am to be honest, it is the least that can be expected.
I only stayed at this one and I wonder if the rude and inappropriate behaviour is the same at the rest of the MIJE hostels. I hope not.
Overall very disappointing.

Room Tip: Go for the single room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Anonymous851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manarola, Italia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Although this hostel is a little more expensive it's worth it because you're staying in a restructured historical building. Sometimes there are groups of loud school-aged children, which can be loud. I recommend getting a private room, as guests are separated into different rooms according to gender. Good breakfast and friendly service. Recommend it to all.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nico_bigollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

After reading some previous reviews stating that the MIJE hostels were infested with bedbugs, I was a little worried - however, I can safely say that my bed in a 6-bed dorm was clean and comfortable and I did not get a single bite during the 2 nights I was there. The staff were friendly and helpful, and spoke decent English. The bathrooms were very clean (note: bring your own soap), and the architectural details of this 17th Century building were an additional treat. I appreciated the free luggage storage and lockers, in a locked room - I felt very secure leaving my luggage there before I checked in and after I checked out. The breakfast could have been better. But best of all was the location - 2 minutes' walk to the Seine and all its attractions, with the Notre Dame just a stone's throw away. Despite the presence of a couple of school/language student groups, it was quiet and calm at this time of year. Definitely recommended to anyone looking for a no-fuss place to stay on a budget in Paris.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Artemisia11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Auberge de Jeunesse MIJE  Fourcy
République
Les Piaules
Les Piaules
#28 of 155 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#3 of 155 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gobelins
Oops! Hostel
Oops! Hostel
#17 of 155 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Arty Paris
#9 of 155 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Quartier Latin
Young & Happy Hostel
Young & Happy Hostel
#32 of 155 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de Jeunesse MIJE Fauconnier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de Jeunesse MIJE Fauconnier

Property: Auberge de Jeunesse MIJE Fauconnier
Address: 11 rue du Fauconnier | 11, street of the Fauconnier, 75004 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 155 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Price range (per night): $46 - $159
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Youth hostel MIJE Fauconnier is located in "le Marais" district, in the very heart of Paris. MIJE three hostels are old mansions from XVIIth century, at walking distance from Notre Dame Cathedral, Ile Saint Louis and Latin Quarter. MIJE provide an perfect housing in the very center of Paris, for a really affordable price. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing