We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good enough hotel for the money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Modern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Modern Hotel
Ranked #1,226 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good enough hotel for the money”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

we stayed 3 nights.Location and the service was excellent.the staff was very friendly and Thomas,in front deck speak very good english and friendly.room was very small in comparison to USA &Canadian motels and hotels..Bed was damp,but clean.sheets,towels was changed and room cleaned every day.Breakfast was small,but good enough with the good coffee.you could hear noise from the street& hall ways,but we were so tired from lots of walking, so I plugged my ears with ear plug and had good sleep.I would stay again in this hotel due to location and the price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    156
    110
    45
    70
See reviews for
69
176
47
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Romania,Transilvania,Medias
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We stay 4 nights in november 2011 when is outside the tourist seson and maybe for these reason it was cheap ( about 220 euro for 4 nights).The hotel is near to 2 metro station :Clichy and Pigalle, and in the neighborhood is manny place to eat.The hotel is very simple, the room it was small,clean and almost quiet.The staff it was verry nice.The breakfast it was not enough for me and my husband, it was a french breakfast :croissant, horns, butter,jam, juice, coffee, tea. The location is not to good for family with children because is to close to "red zone" with manny sex shops and in the evening is too manny strange people (like black showing like bandits).Neighborhood (District Montamarte) is famous for its picturesque and bohemian life here and Sacre Coeur is not to far to Hotel (Sacre Coeur is wonderful in the evening light).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrianaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Stayed n this hotel for 3 nights. Good clean good bathroom with bath tub (no shower curtain unfortunately), friendly staff, excellent location - walking distance to Monmartre, not far (30 minute walk) to Gare du Nord, metro station near by, lots of good restaurants

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alex_sashas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

If I go to paris again this is the place I'll stay at. Hotel is nothing special, the elevator was kinda dangerous and slow, I used the stairs a few times. the room didn't have any ac, but this was in september so no problem.

small breakfast but enough.

when I travel i spend so little time in the room. but the included breakfast is something I really need, even if it's not that big buffé.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gurtol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

This is a nice little hotel, a great location 200m from Moulin Rouge, the rooms and hotel is clean and simple. Great value for the price and the staff are very friendly.

Downsides - shower not very big, the door had a gap round the edge meaning you could hear the other guest coming back. But if you want simple and cheap then this is a good option.

If you want a late night drink near by then the irish bar is option until 5am (100m walk) and nice pizza place near the cinema.

Room Tip: I booked this online are there are some good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
République
Hotel Modern
Hotel Modern
#1,455 of 1,798 in Paris
142 reviews
Montmartre
Hippodrome Hotel
Hippodrome Hotel
#1,249 of 1,798 in Paris
84 reviews
Hotel Gerando
#1,468 of 1,798 in Paris
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel de la Felicite
Hotel de la Felicite
#1,511 of 1,798 in Paris
157 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
Hotel St. Georges Lafayette
#976 of 1,798 in Paris
378 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Pavillon de Montmartre
Hotel Pavillon de Montmartre
#1,101 of 1,798 in Paris
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Modern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Modern Hotel

Property: The Modern Hotel
Address: 3 rue Forest, 75018 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,226 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price range (per night): $81 - $186
Hotel Class:2 star — The Modern Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Modern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing