We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Theatre National de Chaillot
Open today: 11:00 am - 6:00 pm
Review Highlights
amazing staff

the theatre is located in a very touristic place but still the theatre is trying to build it's... read more

Reviewed 18 June 2018
SamaaW5
Dance performances ranging from the sublime to the incomprehensible, exceptionally helpful staff,a nightmare of stairs,

I have had a subscription to this theater for years, where we can see some of the most well-known... read more

Reviewed 9 November 2017
enelram s
,
Paris, France
Read all 17 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Paris
from USD 109.27
More Info
from USD 247.42
More Info
from USD 97.77
More Info
from USD 109.27
More Info
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
12
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
5
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2017

I have had a subscription to this theater for years, where we can see some of the most well-known dance troupes as well as the most experimental. They also offer 2 or 3 "Days with a choreographer": In the morning there are dance classes with members of the company; you can have a buffet lunch in the foyer, looking out on the Eiffel Tower and then free round-table, interview, discussion with the choreographer in the afternoon and usually a short rehearsal of the performance.
The building is quite beautiful, one of those that remain from the universal exhibition of 1878 and has enormous picture windows looking out at the Eiffel Tower. I always rush to a table just in front of the window when I have lunch during a Saturday workshop.
On the other hand, when leaving a performance I feel I would like to strangle the architect: Nowhere have I ever had to climb up such a labyrinth of so many stairs to leave.
For anyone interested in modern dance, this is THE place to go of an evening in Paris. The "Days with a choreographer' are well-worth the experience.
It is also part of the pleasure of this venue to reserve with their friendly, helpful staff.
Do reserve well in advance for both performances and workshops as sometimes, for the most-well-known companies, they may be sold out.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank enelram s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2015 via mobile

As stunning as the exterior of the building may be the interior is even better. With its murals wide stairways and amazing gallery space.

We came to a Trisha brown ballet and the evening couldn't be better.

Date of experience: November 2015
1  Thank AshishGuptasfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2015

After being invited over to Paris to see the recent Focus on Australia season of dance, it was my first time seeing work in this venue. It is a vast building taking over many levels and it must have emptied many marble trees as the floors, steps, walls & ceilings are made from this opulent material. I ventured into the very large theatre, which must have had a 25m wide stage. The seats were comfortable too. I also went into the small scale basement theatre which sounded like people with high heels were walking on the roof & they really were as when we excited we were put out into the gardens of the eiffel tower. Friendly staff, great hospitality & so much classical art & murals on the wall to keep the eyes occupied.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2015

The "Théâtre National de Chaillot" is located at the site of the legendary "Palais du Trocadéro", built for the "Universal Exhibition of 1878". The actual "Palais de Chaillot", officially inaugurated in 1939, totally replaces the old "Palais du Trocadéro" and, curiously, was built for the "Universal Exhibition of 1937"! Amazing legends of a temple devoted to danse, music and theather! The actual theater, totally and magnificently renovated, has a capacity for 1.600 seats in three auditoriuns, and overlooks the gardens and fountains of "Trocadéro", the "Tour Eiffel" and the "Champs de Mars". From its lobby and outside terrace, you'll be able to enjoy one of the most astonishing views of Paris and its iconic Tower. Its interior is also fascinating, with monumental stairways, paintings and sculptures. Besides that, the "Théâtre National de Chaillot" is extremely active in France's cultural scene and any visitor should check previously its agenda. Last Summer, we had the great opportunity to attend a presentation of the "Les Ballets de Monte-Carlo", under the patronage of Her Royal Highness the Princess Caroline of Hannover. Choreographer Jean-Christoffe Maillot brought "LAC" to Paris: a modern reinterpretation of the classic ballet "Swan Lake", with Tchaïkovski eternal music (just a small example of what you could attend). Two last remarks: 1) The Theater is easily reachable by subway; and 2) as a State institution, tickets are sold at very reasonable prices. Enjoy!

Date of experience: June 2014
1  Thank LuizDutraNeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurentMassoni, Responsable relations publiques at Theatre National de Chaillot, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2015

We thank you for your review and hope to see you soon at chaillot. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

My family and I went to Theatre National de Chaillot to see "Octupus" by Compagnie DCA Philippe Decouflé and we found it extraordinary, the show manages all kinds of performig arts with exquisite quality.
I strongly recommend if you have the opportunity don't miss Philippe Decouflé.
The Theatre National de Chaillot is confortable, very well organized the entrance and accomodation.
Do not forget to buy your tickets in advance!!!

Date of experience: December 2012
Thank Edgar48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent1978, Responsable relations publiques at Theatre National de Chaillot, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Edgar48,
Thank you very much for your opinion.
I hope you will come again in our theatre.
Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews