We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Royal Fromentin
Nearby Hotels
USD 504
USD 372
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Elysees Union(Paris)(Great Value!)
USD 218
USD 213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
USD 314
USD 256
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 451
USD 373
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Fred Hotel(Paris)(Great Value!)
USD 151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
USD 214
USD 205
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 252
USD 227
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
USD 304
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
USD 133
USD 119
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 575
USD 516
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (478)
Filter reviews
478 results
Traveller rating
65
211
133
42
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
211
133
42
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmoulin rougesacre coeurcage liftlittle tired in placesbudget travellerscharming hotelyogurtclean towelscharles de gaulleside streetvery nice stayreception areablancheabsinthemetroelevatornightlife
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 478 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

We booked this hotel via booking.com in may 2017. On completion of booking unknown to us they took out 109 euros from our bank. When questioning this and after their refusal to give it back. They declared it as a pre authorisation charge! At €109!!!!!! After much arguing they refunded it after 22 days.

Then on 31st July we decided to cancel it as found a better holiday elsewhere. It stated on booking.com it would be FREE to cancel before we travelled.

We cancelled the booking 22 days before travel, but yet one day later they still took money out of our bank account and yes again €109. We contacted booking.com and the hotel lied to us saying they never took any money. But we said we had proof in our bank they did and within 20 minutes it was part refunded as they charged us at the Euro rate and not British sterling so we still lost money.

DO NOT TRUST THIS HOTEL THEY ROB YOUR BANK ACCOUNT!!!!!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank oggs1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank P, Responsable réception at Hotel Royal Fromentin, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear oggs1975,

First of all please consider that it's the first time a guest have a problem about that. The first thing is that we are allowed to do pre-authorization on your account to guarantee the reservationlike the Booking condition said.
This pre-authorization doesn't mean that we take money on your account but only we block it, it's the same for everyone who want to reserve in hotel.
During June and July, We had some problem with the bank so we didn't refund in 48 hours as we usually do. Concerning the change between euros and sterling, i invite you to send us an email with the information about your reservation and the price difference and we will see with the bak wath is possible to do for give you back the money you lost. the email adress is info@hotelroyalfromentin.com.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

3.5 stars / good, would be my true rating but that is not available!

A traditional Paris hotel. No air conditioning, but a fan provided. No tea / coffee facilities in the room, which I would consider a minus. A horse for a course at the price paid. Would quite happily stay again.

Absolutely classic Parisian "open cage" lift within a circular staircase. They could offer it as a location for a Poirot scene!

Close to two Metro stations. I suspect that the regular slight "rumbling" when in bed may be Metro trains passing underneath. Quirky!

Yes, it is on a side street within an area of racy nightlife, if you are of a sensitive disposition, but then people go to Amsterdam and deliberately visit such an area as part of their trip!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank P, Responsable réception at Hotel Royal Fromentin, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your comment, so original. The comparaison between our hotel and an hercule Poirot scene is excellent.
It's true that is hotel is typical parisian style and the street next to the hotel is really special but not dangerous at all and it's a good axperience to see !
I'm really pleased to see you enjoy your stay with us and hope to welcome you back for a next trip occasion in Paris !
Best regards
Alexandre and the Royal Fromentin staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

Hotel OK but needs serious updating. Area only for adults. Plenty of fast food. Cafes and restaurants. And monoprix are supermarket nearby. Hotel needs tea and coffee facilities in the room as there was none. Also no room service on Monday when we were there which I wasn't to happy about as we were tired from a whole day of sightseeing. Stuck to local registered taxis and local buses. Don't use the metro or Rer trains as they were extremely busy and very confusing. Only use taxis for small journeys only as we got a taxi from gare de nord train station to Charles de Gaulle.and port as we couldn't board our train as the 1st one was full and the 2nd one didn't arrive at so we were extremely delayed and had to get to the airport as soon as soon possible. But it didn't work out that way as we got a dodgy taxi driver who brought us down every street and made every excuse in the book about the traffic. No taxi meter in the cab only a digitalised number with full fare as 55'€,but to our shock and horror arrived at cgd 45 minutes we before boarding flight so we were pretty late and couldn't relax or shop in duty free. He charged us 118.00€.which was absolutely scandalous and outrageous. So please don't take long journeys in dodgy taxis.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank hkeenan42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank P, Responsable réception at Hotel Royal Fromentin, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear guest,
First of all thank you for your comment. I'm sorry to read that the taxi wasn't correct with you... I hope it didn't change your opinion about your trip in Paris and your stay with us. Yes it's true that our hotel need some changes and we're working on it. We will do some renovation in couple of month and hope we will welcome you back to appreciate these changes !
Best regards
Alexandre and the Royal Fromentin staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

The fact that this hotel was located in the red light district is its greatest attribute. The hotel is old and run down with no signs of renovation. The sheets and towels were threadbare and there was no sound insulation whatsoever. We did not get a decent nights sleep in the 4 nights we stayed there. My recommendation would be to choose another hotel.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank P, Responsable réception at Hotel Royal Fromentin, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Dear guest,
I'm sorry to read that you didn't like your stay in our hotel. I'm really surprise to see that you didn't had a decent night during your stay.
All the Royal Fromentin staff do the best to offer a good stay for our guest and they are generally satisfied with the linen and the quality of our beds which were changed a year ago.
I would enjoy to share with you about your experience, do not hesistate to contact us at our hotel e-mail. while waiting for your reply i wish you a good day.
Alexandre and the Royal Formentin staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

Hotel is in the Red Light District so not suitable for families. i was propositioned 3 times in the 3 block walk to the metro.

The walls are thin so you hear everything including the metro each time it passes underneath the building.

Wifi is poor and only one outlet for charging in room. Beds and linens are older than i am.

Room Tip: Stay away unless you are into the sex trade.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ericsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank P, Responsable réception at Hotel Royal Fromentin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Dear Guest,
first of all, thank you very much for sharing your opinion about our hotel.
I'm sorry to read that tou didn't appreciate your stay in our hotel.
But i think it's wrong to speak about prostitution in this district.
We always welcome family ans they are all satisfied. Maybe you should walk 5 minute to see the typical pigalle district where there are some bar, restaurant and other activities.
For the wifi, we just change our operator and arount 2 months we will have a high wifi quality.
I'm sorry again that you didn't enjoy your stay here and hope you let us an other chance you welcome you back.
Alexandre and Royal Fromentin staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews