We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice if you're on a budget.”
Review of Hotel Amelie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Amelie
Ranked #757 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2012

If you are on a budget and looking for a 2-star hotel, I would recommend Amelie. If you can afford to stay at a more expensive hotel, you should definitely look elsewhere.

The Good:
Location location location! Excellent neighborhood with many cute shops and cafes around. 10 minutes walk to the Eiffel, 5 minutes walk to Invalides metro and 2 minutes walk to the fabulous Rue Cler where there many fresh fruit stands and cafes. Service was good- I love Parisians, including everyone I met at Amelie! They were all friendly and helpful, especially Anita.

The Not-So-Good:
The rooms are very tiny for 2 people, though if you're solo, this won't be a problem. Rooms in Paris are small to begin with and this is no exception. The bathroom was recently upgraded, shower was good, though hot water was spotty. While small, the room was very tidy and clean.

The walls of the room are very thin and you can hear everything in other rooms. In addition, all rooms face the spiral wood staircase (no elevator...unfit travelers beware!) which means you can hear everyone tromping up and down.

Again, if you are on a budget this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theworldiswide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Amelie
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 81 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

The only reason the rating isn't lower is the view when you walk to the end of the street. This hotel is dirty, grey, filthy curtains on the windows with holes. Black mold in the shower and on the ceiling in the bathroom. They may be ready to paint, everything is either patched or prepped for painting. Cracks in the wall, one outlet in the room under the desk, including the bathroom. The wallpaper is peeling off the wall in the corners. Noisy- noise from every other room and the strret. Cigarette smoke came into the room from smokers on the street. Floor coverings missing in hallway. 9 euro breakfast okay, cheaper at bakeries down or up the street, but only three tables and 6 chairs total. Really, I have stayed in cleaner camp grounds.

Room Tip: High up no elevator, but quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tiredandtravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I stayed only one night in this hôtel

Well located , close to the Eiffel tower, Nice to visit Paris.

The rooms are very small and you have to use stairs because there is no lift.

Moreover it is à little bit noisy, you can hear what happen in the neighbours room.

Choose this hotel only for à short stay

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ludo_boss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

I have just come back from 2 nights in Paris, staying at Hotel Amelie and I have absolutely no complaints!

The room was lovely and clean, spacious, for a single room. Nice bathroom, good bed, quiet and safe.

The staff were very friendly, willing to have a chat and help out in anyway. The location was very safe, SO CLOSE to the Eiffel Tower. The only downside is there is little to no reasonable priced restaurants in the area, meals were around 20 euros for a main. But for the budget conscious travelling, many supermarkets with a large antipasto range and cheap wines!

If I had to make one complaint, it was the lack of kettle in the room for an evening tea/means to warm up! Quickly rectified with a trip to Starbucks (yes I know, sacrilege in Europe, but sometimes a girl just needs an earl grey!)

All in all a very positive experience and a perfect way to end my European adventure.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I booked this hotel thinking I was going to have a time of my life. When I got to the hotel, I was shocked to hear that the receptionist was telling me that my room is on the 4th floor and there is no lift and you have to use the stairs. After miles and miles driving we needed to unpack and rest instead we are being told to run up and down flights of stairs all day. I checked the rooms out, they were worse then a horses stable. The space is restricted. So small there is barely room to move arround. I cancelled my reservation as these problems were not shown online. They charged me for one night. I left the hotel and luckily found a hotel ( hotel jardins de eiffel) on the same street with much better services.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank babastravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Malar
Hotel Malar
#902 of 1,803 in Paris
254 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Le Pavillon
Hotel Le Pavillon
#528 of 1,803 in Paris
231 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Grand Hotel Leveque
Grand Hotel Leveque
#767 of 1,803 in Paris
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Jardins d'Eiffel
Hotel Jardins d'Eiffel
#363 of 1,803 in Paris
860 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Eiffel Rive Gauche
Eiffel Rive Gauche
#1,284 of 1,803 in Paris
515 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Beaugency
Hotel Beaugency
#837 of 1,803 in Paris
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amelie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amelie

Address: 5 rue Amelie, 75007 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #757 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $155 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Amelie 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Amélie, our little charming hotel, with its atypical decoration and 16 rooms, conveniently located in the heart of the 7th district of Paris, only a few minutes' walk from the Eiffel Tower, the Seine, the Orsay Museum, the Rodin Museum, the Invalides, the Champs-Elysées and the Grand Palais, is perfect for a pleasant stay in one of Paris' best neighborhoods. L'Amélie Hotel offers different kinds of rooms : twin beds, double beds, and single bed. Each of our rooms have been decorated and customized differently so that each stay with us can be a whole new experience. We consider tasteful details as essential! From the breakfast room to the bedrooms, the walls are covered in art and poetry so that each part of the hotel tells a story. Paris is wonderful, and we believe that so should be your experience here. Our multilingual staff will always happily guide you so that your stay in Paris goes as best as possible in this dynamic neighborhood full of small restaurants and shops, all within walking distance. A buffet breakfast is served every day 7:00 to 10:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Amelie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amelie Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing