We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”
Review of Hotel le Chat Noir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel le Chat Noir
Ranked #330 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed in this hotel during the festive period to welcome in the new year of 2010. It was a modern clean hotel with good size rooms and very nice showers. We didn't have breakfast ere because there are many cafes in the area where you can get a cheaper croissant and coffee. The price was a bit steep (we paid €175 per night without breakfast but it was the festive season..It is 2 minutes away from the Moulin Rouge and there is a subway terminal 1 min walk away. I think some parents who are more conservative would be cautious about this neighbourhood if you have kids but i really thought it was not in your face at all. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vrtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHAT2011, Directeur général at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Dear Guest ,
we came a year ago and still think about it !!! we hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again !!!

see you then, best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (965)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

379 - 383 of 965 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2012

We booked to stay here for 2 nights from 31st Dec - 2nd Jan. It cost £420 in total for both nights, which is pricey but as we stayed over NYE I think the price is reasonable. The hotel is situated in Monmartre on the main road and a 30 second walk from the Moulin Rouge so the location is excellent. There is metro stop literally outside the front of the hotel and a supermarket next to the hotel which is really convenient.

We booked the deluxe room so it was a bit bigger than the normal rooms, the bed was really comfy and the room also had a big bean bag. The shower was massive and the water never went cold. They provided shampoo, showergel, nail files, makeup pads etc which is more than other hotels provide. We were able to get free wifi in our room.

The breakfast was brilliant, a large selection of cereals, ham, cheese, breads, pastries as well as eggs. The service was excellent, all of the staff chatty and friendly. Overall we were really pleased with the hotel and it made our weekend perfect. Would recommend to couples as well as groups and families.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHAT2011, Directeur général at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

It was so delightfull to read your comment .
Be sure we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us . See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed here because we were going to Moulin Rouge, it's 2 minutes walk away! The road up and down from the hotel is full of sex shops and clubs but we expected this from the district it is in. Quite a noisy road, fine in the winter with the windows closed as the double glazing blocks out most of the noise. The room was clean and the beds were both clean and comfortable. The bathroom was modern and clean with a great walk in shower. The only complaint would be that the towels were only just bigger than a hand towel, certainly not bath size. We had arrived late afternoon and needed to shower before going out in the evening. We asked at reception for larger towels but were told she didn't know where the towels were kept. We could ask the cleaner in the morning to see if they had bath towels, not much help when we wanted the towels then. We didn't feel like searching for the cleaner in the morning so had to manage twice with tiny towels! Breakfast was okay, the usual buffet continential with enough choice. Apart from the towel issue everything was fine.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHAT2011, Directeur général at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

We read your comment with attention. we do apologize for the problem of the towel ! It could have been solve easily.... Otherwise thank you very much and we are looking forward to welcome you very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

This is very nice and charming hotel in Montmartre just few blocks from Sacre-Coeur... ston throw from the place that Amelia worked :) and few steps to metro station... It's nice, it's clean, it has helpful and friendly staff and from some rooms you can see the Eiffel Tower :) and with such view you can enjoy the Paris. We stayed there for five nights during our anniversary stay in June... We liked the hotel and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derodax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHAT2011, Directeur général at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

We can see that you spent nce time in Paris ! Thank you for your wonderful comment. We look forward to welcoming you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

This hotel is right in the center of the action. It's in Montmartre, the red-light district of Paris, right on the Boulevard de Clichy, Blanche Metro stop across the street, down the street from the Moulin Rouge. If you don't mind sex shops and that sort of thing, it's really a nice place to stay, in a bohemian area of the city that is funky and real. You can find some cheap clothing stores nearby. Good restaurants everywhere, and just a few blocks from Sacre Coeur. The rooms are small but you hopefully don't plan on spending much time in them. Internet is free but there's hardly a place to rest your laptop. The buffet breakfast is a bit steep but surprisingly good, and the dining area is sunny and overlooks the Parisian streets.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JogNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHAT2011, Directeur général at Hotel le Chat Noir, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Dear guest,
Your review of the hotel are very complete. We are continually updating and improving our service and hope to actually have the opportunity to welcome you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Hotel Le Squara
Hotel Le Squara
#942 of 1,804 in Paris
272 reviews
Montmartre
Le Relais Montmartre
Le Relais Montmartre
#56 of 1,804 in Paris
949 reviews
Montmartre
Montmartre Mon Amour
Montmartre Mon Amour
#428 of 1,804 in Paris
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Terrass'' Hotel by MH
Terrass'' Hotel by MH
#86 of 1,804 in Paris
839 reviews
Montmartre
Mercure Paris Montmartre Sacre Coeur
Montmartre
Hotel des Arts - Montmartre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Chat Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Chat Noir

Address: 68 boulevard de Clichy, 75018 Paris, France (Formerly Le Chat Noir Design Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#218 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#313 Family Hotel in Paris
#414 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $141 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Chat Noir 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Le Chat Noir is located at the foot of the Montmartre district, just 165 ft from the Moulin Rouge, Paris 18th district . Le Chat Noir Design hotel is close to "Blanche"metro station , walking distance to the famous "Rue Lepic", "Place du Tertre" or le "Sacre Coeur" and the artist's square (12 min walk). With the same name as the famous Chat Noir Cabaret, our hotel has contemporary decor with red and black tones. Each floor of the hotel is dedicated to a famous writer or poet from the cabaret period. Ours guest rooms at the Le Chat Noir Design are decorated in an original style and are air-conditioned, TV Flat screen, italienne shower. Some of the rooms have a balcony or offer panoramic views of the Eiffel Tower. The hotel is serviced by an elevator and the front desk is open 24 hours a day. We welcome you in a quiet and cozy atmosphere in the heart of one of the liveliest districts of the capital, so you just "lovez" in our hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel le Chat Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais De Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing