We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting Museum in Cave” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Musee du Vin (Wine Museum)

Musee du Vin (Wine Museum)
Ranked #314 of 1,085 things to do in Paris
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Close to the Eiffel Tower, discover oneof Paris’ oldest limestone quarries fromthe XVth century.Our permanent collections include more than2000 artefacts, owned by the “Conseil desEchansons de France” since 1984, and presentedso as to highlight the historical depth of our heritage.Visits with audio guides are available in English, Russian, Chinese, Japanese, Spanish, Portuguese and GermanIn order to preserve the transmission of knowledge around wine, the Musée du Vin Paris offer wine tasting, assumed by our wine experts team
NJ
Level Contributor
183 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Interesting Museum in Cave”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Better than expected. Fun self guided walk thru wine cave with lots of old artifacts adn info on wine making. Free verre de vin at the end.

Museum is in a beautiful location and neighborhood. Great views of Eiffel tower.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Handman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    51
    28
    20
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Unfriendly reception and not much to see”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

We were really disappointed with this venue. If you have time and love wine, it is much better to rent a car and drive to Burgundy or the Loire Valley for a day to visit vinyards.

Helpful?
Thank Schnubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

My husband and I were so excited to do the cheese and wine tour at Musee du Vin...when we arrived we were asked to tour the museum on our own with a little device that explained the artefacts, however this was not very effective as it could not be timed to they way you walk….
Then we came back to a little alcove where they had prepared 3 wines and 3 cheeses - the lady explained what wines they were but did not provide any information on what wine goes with what cheese... which was the part I was looking forward.
They had a conference on at the same time and it left us feeling as though were we 'put aside' and forgotten as no one came back to check on us, so we just left feeling disappointed.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank JudithKula03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dnipropetrovsk, Ukraine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not interesting. Expected much more.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

I expected to see and hear how wines are produce in France (probably in different regions). Instead I saw glasses and bottles... Disappointing.
Wine tasting also havn'r pleased. No sommelier... Pure wine selection...
Th only 1 positive thing is ancient vault.
Don't waste a time!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank 123_Olena_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Hope, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Best of Both Worlds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

The tour of a wine museum and then lunch within the same building is just amazing. It doesn't hurt that it is in a 15th century monestary either.

Make sure to get the audioguide. It is free and one will do nicely for two people.

Before I go any further, you need to be cognizant of the fact that if you are coming from Trocadero, you need to pay attention to the street and not miss the turn to the left down the long stairway. Again, at the end you need to do almost a 180 degree turn to your left to find the Wine Museum.

The artifacts in the museum are very interesting to say the least, the audioguide is very beneficial.

Once we were done with the Museum we made our way to the restaurant area. If you have lunch the museum tour is free.

The food was amazing. We had the Dionysius Menu for 35 Euros each. I was very, very good and more than enough food.

The waiter was attentive and the menu was available in French and English.

I would recommend this musuem and restaurant for anyone, not just wine enthusiasts.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank ParisSurprise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Musee du Vin (Wine Museum) also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Musee du Vin (Wine Museum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing