We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant find, this quiet Oasis!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Ranked #149 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The ambience is superb with its elegant decor and sense of history with its comfortable rooms named after historical leaders including Henri IV. We had a balcony room overlooking the peaceful nearby park, but only a stone's throw away are the bookshops, eateries, bars, supermart and a handy little food market just a block away where one could purchase cheeses and wine amongst other delicacies. Nearby attractions we visited were the Pantheon, Jardin du Luxembourg, Musee du Moyen Age, and it is also a short walk to the River Seine and Notre Dame La Grande. There are 2 or 3 Metros nearby to travel further afield.
The people at Henri lV are lovely and very helpful -Unfortunately my partner and I on this trip (my 5th to Paris) had two occasions where the staff lent their invaluable assistance- we were unlucky to be robbed near Notre Dame and the staff helped us with police station and insurance applications. My partner later needed to see a dentist urgently and a choice of 2 nearby dental surgeries was found for us immediately! We loved Henri lV - it is a home away from home!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Quirindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,021)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

351 - 355 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2012

My husband and I just returned from a long weekend in Paris. My mother had booked us into Henri IV for my 40th birthday present. What a find! It's brilliantly located right in the heart of the Latin Quarter but is tucked in a quiet corner so a lovely peaceful retreat after a long day marching the Paris streets. We were in a standard room on 6th Floor which was perfectly spacious and even had a bath and it's own private balcony overlooking the rooftops. The room has its own fridge, sink and hob so you can heat water to make a cup of tea in the morning. There is no kettle but a pan works just fine. The staff are very helpful and speak excellent English. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HATLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This was my second stay at the Hotel Residence Henri IV, with the last being about five or six years ago. How wonderful to report that nothing has changed...the rooms are still well maintained and clean, and the service is truly exceptional. Having had our luggage "delayed" by Air France, the various concierges on duty went above and beyond in helping track what was happening, and even made a call to Air France for us. When we requested anything be taken care of in our room, it was immediately done. We can't say enough good things about how well we were treated.

We were two adults and two teens in one of the two-room apartments. My European standards, we had an excellent amount of space. It was lovely to have the large windows to open in both rooms with a view onto the park. The furnishings are well-worn antiques, but you do get the sense that you are staying in old Paris, which is lovely. There wasn't any dust anywhere despite the numerous picture frames and ledges in the room.

The hotel offers complimentary WiFi which worked wonderfully. We did not partake in the continental breakfast, but did see it being delivered to the room next to us (there are only two rooms per floor, which makes things very quiet). Breakfast looked lovely, and you have the choice of it being offered in your room or in the breakfast room. Instead, we opted to go to nearby cafes for coffee (take-away is available), and picked up fresh fruit, pastries and juice at the nearby market.

The hotel is very conveniently located between two Metro stations, and is about a 10 minute walk from the RER for St Michel-Notre Dame if you are coming in from the airport. Notre Dame, the river and the Latin District (with its numerous restaurant choices are all within a lovely walking distance) as is the Sorbonne and the Pantheon.

At risk of not getting a room on my next stay, I must say I highly recommend this 3-star hotel, with its wonderful attention to service and its excellent location.

Room Tip: The double rooms offer a double pull-out couch and most double bedrooms can be made into twin rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Perpetual-Motion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Stayed here twice (just finally got around to opening a trip advisor account). The hotel is ideally located and the staff is tremendously helpful. The rooms are quite spacious by Parisian standards and one of our rooms actually had a lovely balcony overlooking the park/school. You can easily walk to multiple metro stations and Notre Dame is just a short jaunt away. We've never tried the breakfast because we sleep late (or we go to the very conveniently Eric Kayser outpost located just one block away). Either way I'm sure you will enjoy your stay should you choose to stay at Henri IV

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 007trader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We spent a weekend in Paris and I wanted a traditional hotel as it was my girlfriends first time in the city. This is perfect it is in walking distance from the centre of town with a major attraction nearby (Notre Dame) and a good night life (Latino Quarter). This place fits the bill perfectly, great attention to detail in an immaculate room, huge comfy bed decorated in a period style and free wifi. The staff were extremely friendly, and helped us with our French when we needed it. Plus being located in a cul-de-sac it was very quiet. I can not recommend this place enough, we will be back to see more of Paris and we will stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank spamboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#81 of 1,802 in Paris
1,188 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#357 of 1,802 in Paris
1,003 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel La Lanterne
Hotel La Lanterne
#205 of 1,802 in Paris
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#135 of 1,802 in Paris
1,680 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#119 of 1,802 in Paris
1,697 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Monge
Hotel Monge
#3 of 1,802 in Paris
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Henri 4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Henri 4

Address: 50 rue des Bernardins, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Paris
#81 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#108 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $233 - $506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Residence Henri 4 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Residence Henri 4 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Henri 4 Paris
Residence Henri 4 Hotel
Residence Henri Iv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing