We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg
Ranked #1,054 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in April. The location is great as it is close to the RER and many restaurants and shopping. I had a room on the 2nd floor facing the street, which was very noisy from garbage trucks and scooters. Request a room not facing the street. The room was clean and the staff was helpful and freindly. Our room was smallish but wasn't a problem for my wife and I.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fardog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 174 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This interesting hotel in the 6th arr is well located and fun. The combination of older furniture and original elements combined with new colorful and tasteful ecclectic design makes it good option for people who are bored with ubiquitous corporate or outdated hotels. The rooms are somewhat small, but that's normal for Paris. There is a small desk next to the bed, but it can barely hold more than a laptop. The bathroom was quite spacious and like the rest of the hotel in very good condition. Wifi was also free (request access codes at the reception). Other facilities are quite limited (no coffee maker in the room and such), but that is to be expected for this type of hotel in Paris. I didn't have breakfast at the hotel (but I almost never do in hotels).

Service was at least adequate and sometimes was quite good. We requested a room with a bath through e-mail and received it without any problems and getting tea, plates and cups late in the evening was no problem at all.

The location is one of the main reasons I picked the hotel. Metro/RER stops are a few minutes away, everything is relatively close by. Although the direct area isn't that exciting (but safe and nice), you have enough great options for whatever you want to do within 10-15 minutes by foot.

One of the only real faults I could find was the lack of a luggage storage room and the way the hotel (at least the person at the desk at the time) manages that fact. Suitcases left in storage at the hotel are lined up next to the reception desk. When we asked if they couldn't be stored in a secure location, the response (given with typical Parisian attitude) was "I'll be here all the time, our guests can be trusted and you can always take your suitcase with you if you aren't satisfied".

All in all we were quite happy with our stay and I am definitely willing to return here if the price is right (I was able to get a discount, the normal prices might be a tad steep if you aren't used to hotel prices in Paris).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S_Valmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We had a superb stay. Small but modern rooms. Quiet street. Very nice staff.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SmaRt1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stopped here for a long weekend. Arrived late at night due to late train (Tip - if travelling from Gare du Nord take the RER to Luxembourg not the Metro to Odeon). Room was a little on the small side but tastefully decorated. Comfortable bed and no disturbance. Strange double door arrangement to get into room but meant that no noise came in from the landing. Lots of cafes and restaurants round about and Pantheon, Monge, Botanic Gardens, Ile de France and Musee d' Orsay all walkable. Very enjoyable stay. We went to nearby cafes for breakfast - the Cafe Soufflot on the road to the Pantheon is the pick of the bunch - Le Fournil - a little bakery/sandwich shop on Rue Monsieur le Prince is the budget option.

Only minor grumble - the lift is absolutely minute.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank icemandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#323 of 1,804 in Paris
581 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel le Senat
Hotel le Senat
#552 of 1,804 in Paris
651 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Michelet Odeon
Hotel Michelet Odeon
#788 of 1,804 in Paris
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#179 of 1,804 in Paris
459 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Grand Hotel des Balcons
Grand Hotel des Balcons
#570 of 1,804 in Paris
561 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel le Bellechasse
Hotel le Bellechasse
#184 of 1,804 in Paris
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg

Address: 4 rue de Vaugirard | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#451 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#499 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $153 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
fontaines du Luxembourg offers, elegance, subtlety and friendliness in an ancient residence, transformed by King Louis XIV to house his grooms. From this flourishing age, the Hôtel Fontaines du Luxembourg has retained purity and calm with its indoor patio covered in Virginia creeper, around which our lounge, reception area and rooms are arranged.Return to the charm of the past at breakfast time. A generous buffet is offered in an authentic vaulted room dating from the 17th century, where a 12th century pillar from the fortified walls erected by Philippe Auguste still remains.The hotel enjoys a central location in the Saint Germain quarter and right off the Latin Quarter.Enjoy a drink in the lounge or in the patio. Room service is available daily, free wifi access, bathrobes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Luxembourg Paris
Luxembourg Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing