We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect French Hotel at resonable price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Madison Hotel by MH
Ranked #160 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect French Hotel at resonable price.”
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We just got back from our quick trip to France last night. Thanks to tripadvisor.com I was able to narrow down hotels in our price range. I was encouraged to book this hotel because of all the positive reviews and pleasant appearance of the hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Madison Hotel. The staff was very friendly and courteous and most spoke English which was very helpful. The beds were so comfortable with down pillows and down comforters!! Our travel agent accidently booked us in a standard room with a single double bed. Being that we are not a couple, the gentleman at the front desk was very understanding and put us in a room with two separate beds. The dining room and complimentary breakfast was nice. If you are up to walking a half hour to the Eiffel Tower, then I would say the Eiffel Tower is in walking distance. It is probably about a mile to a mile in a half away. But the walk is pleasant. The hotel is in a picturesque French neighbor hood with lots of little shops up and down the street. Our room had a great view of the St. Germain chapel from our window. Hope to return one day to stay longer than our two short nights we stayed this week. Overall, nice experience! :)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel by MH, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear Trisha C,

It was such a pleasure to read these lines and to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Please do not hesitate to contact me directly to prepare your next stay.

With warm regards from the team,

Yours sincerely,
Caroline Demon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    186
    35
    16
    6
See reviews for
137
345
40
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london,england
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

I booked this Hotel for a 2 night stay with my mother. This is a beautifully renovated hotel located right at St Germain des Pres. Very convenient for taxis, metro and buses and well located to so many attractions. We received a very warm welcome, and the staff was helpful and polite at all times.
Our room was 'Privilegie', which meant larger than than the standard. It was very tastefully appointed. Very confortable bed and linens, lovely brand new bathrooms and really nice soaps, creams etc. The room was very quiet, facing the 'courtyard' (no view) but I think the front facing rooms would be quiet as well due to the double glazing. We ordered a continental breakfast to our room. Very good and timely service.
I would return again.

Room Tip: I was in 28 which was very nice. There was only 1 sink. 26 facing the street had 2 sinks in the bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel by MH, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear rkahn,

Thank you very much for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor.
It was such a pleasure to hear that you and your mother enjoyed your stay with us !

We are all looking forward to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,
Caroline Demon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

This is a small but charming hotel in a great location. There are plenty of cafes & shops around. It is a short walk to the river boat & to Notre Dame. You can also take the open top tour bus from just outside the hotel.
Our room was lovely - we were upgraded to a suite on the 8th floor which had a sitting area, 2 separate WCs, bathroom & view of the Eiffel Tower. It was very quiet too.
Breakfast was fine - you have to ask for eggs & toast. I asked for porridge & got poached eggs - it was probably my French at fault! The dining area is quite small but as breakfast is served until 11am there was always a table available.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Deb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel by MH, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Dear Deb3,
We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Madison Hôtel. Thank you for this comment.
We are all looking forward to have the pleasure to welcome you again.
Kind Regards,
Caroline Demon - Generale Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Madison Hotel is centrally located for just about everything you could want to do in Paris. The St. Germain Metro stop is practically at the front door and a few blocks away you can walk along the Seine and head to Notre Dame. Hotel staff is very helpful. They made several dinner reservations for us as my French dates back to college days. The double room was not spacious but was beautifully appointed including separate shower/sink and toilet rooms and a view of the boulevard. Black-out curtains allowed us to sleep until 9:30 (us early birds usually get up with the sun). Champagne and macaroons awaited us per my request and we had a lovely time. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cultureseeker10131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel by MH, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Dear cultureseeker10131,

Thank you so much for this excellent feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back next year... !
Kind regards, Caroline Demon - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Your hotel was recommended by friends who had stayed there on several occasions. We are familiar with Paris, since we had visited the city many times through the years (on one occasion even rented a flat for a month). The price was above what we usually spend on accommodations, but amply justified by the excellent breakfast, very courteous and helpful personnel and location, as you can see by the "Excellent" ratings we are granting to your poll. We are amply recommending your hotel to all of our friends, warning those who have not traveled to Paris of the relatively small rooms in the city. Thank you for making our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schaechter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Madison Hotel by MH, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Dear Schaechter J,
Thank you very much for your complimentary comment.
I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and that the facilities and services lived up to your expectations. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Madison Hotel.
Best regards, Caroline Demon - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Artus Hotel by MH
Artus Hotel by MH
#82 of 1,801 in Paris
925 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel De Buci by MH
Hotel De Buci by MH
#66 of 1,801 in Paris
742 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#74 of 1,801 in Paris
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pas de Calais
Hotel Pas de Calais
#94 of 1,801 in Paris
440 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
#104 of 1,801 in Paris
1,076 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
#28 of 1,801 in Paris
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Hotel by MH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Hotel by MH

Property: Madison Hotel by MH
Address: 143 Boulevard St Germain, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Family Hotel in Paris
#116 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#127 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#218 Business Hotel in Paris
Price range (per night): $244 - $663
Hotel Class:4 star — Madison Hotel by MH 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Madison Hotel, in the Latin Quarter of Saint Germain-des-Prés, is a boutique hotel in a chic, contemporary style.This delightful hotel with its 50 rooms and suites is located on the Left Bank opposite the church of Saint-Germain-des-Prés and a mere stone's throw from the Seine, the Louvre and the Musée d’Orsay, and the Cathedral of Notre Dame de Paris.The hotel rubs shoulders on the Boulevard Saint Germain with the Café de Flore and the Café de 2 Magots, at the heart of a quarter famed for its cafés, art galleries, museums, antique dealers and designer fashion boutiques. The Madison Hotel is also firmly at the heart of literary Paris... Albert Camus spent some time at the hotel in the spring of 1940, and it was here that he completed his existentialist novel "L'Etranger" (The Outsider). Perhaps his spirit still hovers somewhere... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Madison Hotel by MH reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Madison Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing