We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but very very basic cheap hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel des Deux Continents
Ranked #535 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2017

This hotel is in a good location, quiet near the river, and near the louvre and Notre Dame, but we had a triple room which was so BASIC, and a very basic bathroom, with HARD towels...
It was cheap but not inviting..I wouldn't bother staying there..

Room Tip: None.. I would not imagine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 100caroline_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Deux Continents, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Hello Caroline,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are deeply disappointed to know that you have not enjoyed your stay here. We are sincerly sorry and took note of all your remarks about the equipment so that we can improve our service.

We hope you had a nice trip back,
Have a lovely day

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 37 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2017

Staff was very friendly. The room was nice and clean but the shower has no curtain or screen which needless to say gets everything really wet. Walking distance to the louvre was a plus. Would definitely stay there again!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Deux Continents, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Hello Erica,
Thank you very much for your nice and honest feedback. Did you take time to stroll around in this wonderful Saint Germain des Prés? We hope you had a nice trip back and wish to see you again very soon. Have a wonderful day :)

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

My girlfriend and I just came back from spending 3 nights in Paris, staying at this hotel. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

Staff:
When we arrived, we were welcomed by a friendly member of the staff. Throughout our stay, the staff has always been very friendly, professional and helpful. I would like to thank Yann for his exceptional customer service.

One thing that has happened, was that we have explicitly put on the sign not to clean our room, which happened nonetheless. There were clothes on the bed and floor, which were neatly folded for us. But unfortunately, the trash was thrown out, and a paper shopping bag filled with personal belongings (nothing of major worth, but still), was thrown out too.

Discussed this with Yann immediately when we found out, and he was very understanding and apologetic. He would try to find out if he could retrieve it.

Hotel:
Our room (#140) was small, but cosy, and clean. It had a nice double bed, on which we slept deep and comfortably for 3 nights. The view from this room is not great, as the windows are facing other buildings and a roof.

I would have like to see more power sockets next to the bed. Each side had 1 power outlet, in which a lamp was already plugged. So if you wanted to charge your phone, you needed to unplug the lamp on the nightstand. Also the outlet was quite low, close to the floor. Kind of had to go on your knees to plug your charger in.

When we were here, it was quite hot outside, so the air-conditioning in the room was a pleasant addition.

The bathroom has a hairdryer, hand soap, shower gel, and shampoo. No toothpaste, toothbrushes or combs. 

The cleaning service replaced our towels after the first night, but we have asked the receptionist to inform the cleaners not to clean our room.

The room itself has a small digital safe for your valuables, kettle with tea and coffee bags. Unfortunately there was no mini-fridge.

I guess the building is a bit old, as the floors are quite creaky and you could hear people getting in/out of the lift, and hear the neighbours all around as well. Nothing too loud, but you could hear it.

Location:
The location is amazing, there are a lot of restaurants near the hotel. The famous Les Deux Magots restaurant is only a 3 minute walk away. In every direction there are little bistro’s and restaurants, and café’s.

In the near vicinity (5 minutes walking), there are a few (Carrefour) supermarkets as well (unfortunately not open on Sunday).

The Louvre could be reached in 10 minutes by foot, the Notre Dame in 20 minutes by foot. If you like literature/books, do visit Shakespeare & Company, which is 15 minutes away from the hotel or 5 minutes away from the Notre Dame.


Pros:
- Nice “boutique” room, clean, and tidy
- Free Wi-Fi
- Great location, walking distance from shops and restaurants
- Professional friendly staff

Cons:
- No mini bar/fridge
- Just one power outlet next to the bed, and quite low on the wall as well
- Cleaning service throwing away our stuff

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Deux Continents, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Hello Daniel, thank you very much for you honest, and very detailed feedback. It has been such a pleasure to read you and to know how you enjoyed your stay here. Obviously we took note of all your remarks and inconvenience during your stay and we'll make sure that those problems can be fixed as soon as possible.

We are so happy to feel like you've enjoyed the neighbourhood, that you took time to stroll around as much as you can.

We wish you a fantastic day and hope to see you again very soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

We have had a very enjoyable 6 nights stay at the hotel. The room had a Parisian decor, had a beautiful clean bathroom and a fresh supply of clean towels and bed sheets and the AC to cool us off. The location is absolutely fantastic - close to the metro, grocery shops, cafes, major attractions. All within walking distance, including a boulangerie with the best croissants in the world (Josephine Bakery). My 15 and 12 years old daughters and I fell in love with St.Germain de Pres neighbourhood. Our hotel was small, tranquill, with helpful staff who also arranged for our trip from and to the airport. This was a huge add on.. we didn't have to worry about the transportation. We'd love to come to Paris again and we would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Family room - (accommodates 3 people) is facing a quiet St. Jacob street (1st floor with an elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Iza L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Deux Continents, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Bonjour,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Hotel des Deux Continents,
It is such a real pleasure to read you and to know that every single detail that are important for us, have been appreciated by our guests. Did you enjoy your rooms ? The particularity of our hotel is that we can welcome single people, couples and even families. We love when families come to visit us, it always makes the hotel more lively don't you think ? However, our neighbourhood is one of the best in Paris because of all the resons you've just pointed and so many others that makes your stay even more Parisian and representative of a Parisian life.

We would welcome you again with much pleasure and are looking forward to see you again in a few years, maybe a few months ;)

Have a wonderful day,
See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Lovely, clean hotel with a very accommodating staff near boutique shops and great restaurant. Rooms are small but comfortable and well taken care of. Easy walk to metro station. Really enjoyed the jazz clubs near the hotel.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Deux Continents, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Hello Dennis K,
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at hotel des Deux Continents.
We are so happy to know that you enjoyed a lot of aspects of your stay here, in this beautiful city. We hope you had enough time to visit Paris and enjoying all the best places !
We can't wait to see you again,

Have a wonderful day,
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Prés
Hotel des Marronniers
Hotel des Marronniers
#360 of 1,809 in Paris
382 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Prés
Hotel de Seine
Hotel de Seine
#132 of 1,809 in Paris
577 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Prés
Welcome Hotel
Welcome Hotel
#357 of 1,809 in Paris
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Prés
Hotel Michelet Odeon
Hotel Michelet Odeon
#635 of 1,809 in Paris
362 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Prés
Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain
Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain
#244 of 1,809 in Paris
932 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Prés
Grand Hotel des Balcons
Grand Hotel des Balcons
#586 of 1,809 in Paris
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Deux Continents? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Deux Continents

Address: 25 rue Jacob | 6th Arr, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #535 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: AU$180 - AU$351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Deux Continents 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the mythical district of Saint-Germain des Prés, close to the Church and the famous Café de Flore and Deux Magots, is the Hotel Des Deux Continents. Jacob Street leads to the entrance of our 3-star hotel. Two charming lounges surround the lovely breakfast room. Breakfast is served between 7.30 am and 10.30 am, near a beautiful tapestry, or in the room. The 39 rooms are equipped with air conditioning, tea and coffee facilities, free WiFi and a flat-screen TV. The courtyard view provides quiet sleep and street view involves every customer in the atmosphere of Saint-Germain. Louvre Museum, Orsay Museum and Rodin Museum, with its famous gardens, are located a few minutes walk away. And for a sweet treat, visit Ladurée on the other side of the street ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel des Deux Continents reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Deux Continents Paris
Des Deux Continents Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing