We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, reasonable rooms, friendly staff.”
Review of La Manufacture

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Manufacture
Ranked #259 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good location, reasonable rooms, friendly staff.”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Stayed at La Manufacture which is about 60 seconds from Place d'Italie metro station. It is further South than most people would stay but it only cost us about 12Euro each from CDG airport after catching the RER (B) into Gare De Nord and then catching Metro Number 5 straight into Place d'Italie. In all took about 60 mins from CDG to the Hotel with all the signs really easy to follow at the airport and stations so need for expensive taxis if you only have one wheeled suitcase each.
Once at the Hotel, Place d'Italie has great bus and metro links to all the main aspects of Paris so it is really easy to get around and see all the sites.
The Hotel Itself is ok – better than I had envisaged. We were greeted very warmly and found all the staff very accommodating and friendly. We asked for a top floor room as we had read that it can get noisy. We were in room 723 which is ok but has a sloping ceiling so feels a lot smaller. Friends were in room 722 which is a much better shape. Room 724 looked by far the best on the top floor but I guess you would have to pay more for this. Bed and pillows were really comfortable. Area a little noisy being so close to the centre of Place d’Italie and did get woken a couple of times with police sirens, but no problems with noise from adjacent rooms or noisy plumbing etc. Room had TV with BBC world news and tea and coffee making facilities. All in all an enjoyable stay – no hassle or problems!
We did not take breakfast in the hotel so cannot comment on the quality or whether it is worth 13Euros, but there are plenty of places within a short walk that offer a 6Euro breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 723 has sloping cielings. Room 722 much better for the same money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    768
    662
    111
    22
    7
See reviews for
206
770
107
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

A pleasant small hotel close to Place d'Italie, with easy access to metro and bus transport. The staff were helpful and the room clean and comfortable if a little on the small side. The hotel itself was quiet, but there are some noisy roads nearby - but it is difficult to get away from this in central Paris!

Room Tip: Try asking for a room at the back, as there are no views from the front and these may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidCl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luneburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

It was our first time in Paris, so no basis for comparison, but we really enjoyed our stay. Very close to a metro stop that connected everywhere we wanted to go, and lots of nice restaurants and cafes nearby. Room was small but very clean and looked recently updated. We had a top floor corner room with a large balcony as well, which was a great addition and made the room feel much bigger.

Room Tip: Go for a room on a top floor to reduce street noise; it's near a busy intersection
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orunmilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Important features for my selection of this hotel were: that it was close to central Paris with easy access to 3 metro lines (Place de l'Itlatie), Wi-Fi was included, and there was an in-room safe.
A very warm and charming welcome.
Rooms are clean, quiet, but small. Touch-up painting required in spots.
Bathrooms are small and clean with a shower.
Night staff very welcoming and friendly.
Chamber maids and maintenance staff helpful and friendly.

Negatives:
Had to change rooms the first day when I tried to use the towel warmer which caused a power outage for the room which meant repacking after having unpacked everything. The attendant who managed the matter remained surly after. As if she didn't believe me that all I had done was turn on the towel warmer.
You are asked to turn in your key when you leave the hotel.
Furniture in lobby is becoming worn.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

The Good

- A medium-size room. Some others reviews suggest some of the rooms here are on the cramped side. Perhaps I was lucky. Perhaps others are a little fussy. I found the size to be just right.

- Comfortable bed. Two single beds were pushed together to form a double with a double sheet and quilt.
- Good lighting. Lots of options and a large window.
- Large flat-screen tv mounted on the wall. Around 40 channels with English news channels and general entertainment channels in French, German, Italian and Spanish.
- Controllable air-con.
- Warm, comfortable decor and nice wood furnishings. No noticeable wear and tear.
- High standard of cleanliness.
- Really quiet. My room was at the back of the building facing into an inner courtyard. There was no traffic noise at all. Lift shafts were next door to the room but made very little noise.
- Mini-safe in wardrobe, nice towels, free toiletries and face cloths, hair dryer, telephone, tv guide and other magazines all included in the room.
- Free and fast Wifi in all areas of the hotel. No excuse these days to charge hotel customers for wifi.
- Friendly and helpful staff.
- 24 hour bar.
- Really nice location. Near an interchange metro station and lots of restaurants and shops.
- Away from the tourist areas so you're mixing with real Parisiens living their lives.
- Breakfast included in the room price. A typical continental spread of breads, cheeses, cold meats, cereals, pastries and boiled eggs. Really lovely.

The Bad

- A really narrow bathroom. I actually rather liked it because it was different and quirky. That said, the toilet was about 30cm away from the other wall so using it was difficult even for a skinny guy like me. People of larger proportions would probably have to sit on it sideways.
- The shower was right in front of a window. The glass was slightly frosted but there was no blind or curtain. On top of that, a bright halogen bulb lit up the shower area like a shop window, so showering at night would probably only be for the brave.
- Central faucet on sink. It's one of my hotel bugbears. Seems every hotel has them these days. Really annoying to use.
- During one afternoon, I placed the 'Do not disturb' sign outside my room. I had walked a lot that morning and fancied a nap and had noticed the chambermaid was working on my floor. After a short time, I was woken up by the phone ringing. It was reception wanting to know when I would be vacating my room. It's my personal opinion that if a hotel has "Do not disturb' signs, they ought to respect them and that if I'm paying for a room for three nights, it should be my decision whether I want the room to be cleaned or not. It's worth pointing out this was the only customer service issue I had though.

The Verdict

Despite the annoyance of being woken up unnecessarily, I really enjoyed my stay at Hotel La Manufacture and would highly recommend it to you. It's well-appointed, well-run and offers everything you could possibly need. Rooms are a good size, quiet and comfortable and include all the necessary extras. It's often a requirement of people visiting Paris that they avoid the chain hotels and stay in a typically Parisien hotel. This hotel would meet such a requirement since it's set in a typically Parisien-style building (with large iron main entrance door) and is independently-owned. Next time you're in Paris, I'd say Hotel La Manufacture is definitely worth at least short-listing.

Room Tip: This review relates to room 1 which I highly recommend for a solo traveller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Fred Hotel
Fred Hotel
#240 of 1,801 in Paris
746 reviews
Home MODERNE
#270 of 1,801 in Paris
1,058 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
Hotel Exquis by Elegancia
#116 of 1,801 in Paris
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Francais
#99 of 1,801 in Paris
1,971 reviews
Hotel Apollon Montparnasse
#153 of 1,801 in Paris
1,030 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#96 of 1,801 in Paris
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Manufacture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Manufacture

Property: La Manufacture
Address: 8 rue Philippe de Champagne | 13th Arr., 75013 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Gobelins
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in Paris
#122 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#144 Family Hotel in Paris
#217 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price range (per night): $57 - $330
Hotel Class:3 star — La Manufacture 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a charming 19th century building, La Manufacture is an elegant establishment, decorated with taste and style and blending the past with the present. The use of soft, natural colors and the careful attention to detail reflects perfectly the inviting atmosphere to be found. Oak floorboards, wicker chairs, cotton rugs, wooden furniture make this charming Boutique Hotel a real feast for the eyes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Manufacture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Manufacture Hotel Paris
La Manufacture Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing