We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but expensive, poor reception service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees
Ranked #434 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location but expensive, poor reception service”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Obviously well located near Champs-Elysees but price is steep compared to the quality of the room, which is OK but not fantastic. Disappointing reception experience, there was a long queue to check out and only one of the three staff present dealt with checking out, one of the two others being involved in a lengthy discussion with a delivery person and the other dealing with guest queries that the concierge should have handled but no one was at the concierge desk. This went on for a long time and staff did not seem to care about the obvious irritation this was causing to the guests in the queue waiting to check out. I would overall have expected better for the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeuhll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    342
    99
    31
    28
See reviews for
153
233
35
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

so,
my family has being going to hotel California for years, my father in law uses this hotel for 2-3 conventions annually in paris.
this May, he was there again and we booked a room to join him.
we have used an online booking site and got confirmation for "room with breakfast included" as we ordered.
Unfortunatly, when we arrived the hotel informed us that there's a mix up and that breakfast is not included. we politely explained that this is not what we paid for and since it was saturday-sunday we cannot verify this with the online site, the hotel promised to check and let us know.

After not getting a reply we asked to speak to the night manager, so we will know if we are eligible to eat breakfast the following morning. we have tried to explain that there's obviously a mix-up and we expect a hotel that we have been using for so many years to handle the cost of 20€ per breakfast for 2 days and sort it with the booking site the following week.
this was not on the agenda of the clerk Khaled, nor of his manger who was left speechless throughout the conversation. apprently Khaled had never heard the phrase "the customer is always right" and prefered losing a regular client then costing his hotel a total of 40 € (which would have been paid for by the booking site - who we paid for the hotel through)

the location of the hotel is good indeed, but not only the rooms seems old - but also the service and attitude towards the clients.
the staff is rude and obnoxious, and you might as well rent an apartment, where u can get equal service.

Avoid at all cost!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CThiry, Directeur général at Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear customer

I do apologize for the bad experience you had on your departure.
I have checked with my staff from the Front-office to the Reservations Department Manager, it cleary appeared on your hotel reservation that buffet breakfast was not included.
My staff was the most professionnal and decided to offer you a daily breakfast as good will gesture.

I thank you for your loyalty to the hotel Califonia Paris Champs-Elysées, and I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards

Clarisse THIRY,
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We have just spent 4 fantastic days in Paris staying at the Hotel California. Location wise this hotel is just a short walk away from the Champs Elysees and the nearest metro stop (George V) which is great if you are making your own way from the airport or using the metro to get around the city.

We stayed in a deluxe room which was very clean and had a king size bed. The bathroom facilities were very good with a separate WC and Bathroom. There were tea/coffee making facilities but would advise if you like your tea in a cup bigger than an expresso shot to bring or ask for appropriate cups.

We didn't partake in the hotel breakfast until the last day of our stay for ease. At 25 euros per person we were a little disappointed with the choice available. We would recommend, if you can do, to venture out into the city and visit one of the many boulangerie's for breakfast or brunch.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again and recommend it 100% for its central location.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leisa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level Contributor
97 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Have stayed here 3 times now, and overall have enjoyed each visit. The rooms are very hit and miss - since my first visit they have been refurbished so the decor and amenities are lovely. However the room sizes and room rates are incredibly variable - understandable I guess for somewhere so very central, right by the Champs Elysee I would recommend a room facing the street for a high ceilinged room with a picture window and balcony, the rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter, but smaller in my experience. My room this time was absolutely tiny but perfectly formed - a larger person would have really struggled with the bathroom! I was however incredibly disappointed with the concierge 'taxi booking' service. They advised us to book our taxis the evening before, which we did, and on arriving at the door at the agreed time were informed that the system was broken - so no taxis! An hour later we eventually flagged some down after wandering the streets of Paris, and we were all late for our meeting. Not acceptable.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LKW9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland, or
Level Contributor
107 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Just two blocks off the Champs Elysee, this is a very attractive hotel with extremely helpful staff (who also speak excellent English). Rooms are very large as are the bathrooms which have updated fixtures. We didn't find anything in need of updating. The nit picks: wifi didn't work for two days. Overall, there were clearly computer problems as the business center computers didn't work one day either. One of the two elevators broke down one day and wasn't repaired until the next day. Overall, this was a very enjoyable hotel and we would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: The ones overlooking the interior courtyard with its fountain are especially attractive. However, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank portlandorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Warwick Paris
Warwick Paris
#393 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Cristal Champs Elysees
Cristal Champs Elysees
#733 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Monna Lisa
Hotel Monna Lisa
#156 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Royal Hotel Paris Champs Elysees
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Francois 1er
Hotel Francois 1er
#179 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Le Marianne Hotel
Le Marianne Hotel
#167 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees

Property: Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees
Address: 16 rue de Berri | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#264 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#337 Business Hotel in Paris
#349 Family Hotel in Paris
#417 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price range (per night): $295 - $614
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1925, this Haussmanian style building has been the favourite luxury hotel of the American press and Hollywood Stars. More than just a hotel, this is an authentic art gallery for all art lovers with its private collection of over 3000 oils and lithographs. With its fine sense of luxury, this 4 star hotel has been turned into a fine family mansion just a step away from the Champs Elysees and belongs to Les Hotels du Roy group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel California Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing