We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“May 2012 in Paris” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees
Ranked #434 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Congleton
1 review
“May 2012 in Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

We have just spent 4 fantastic days in Paris staying at the Hotel California. Location wise this hotel is just a short walk away from the Champs Elysees and the nearest metro stop (George V) which is great if you are making your own way from the airport or using the metro to get around the city.

We stayed in a deluxe room which was very clean and had a king size bed. The bathroom facilities were very good with a separate WC and Bathroom. There were tea/coffee making facilities but would advise if you like your tea in a cup bigger than an expresso shot to bring or ask for appropriate cups.

We didn't partake in the hotel breakfast until the last day of our stay for ease. At 25 euros per person we were a little disappointed with the choice available. We would recommend, if you can do, to venture out into the city and visit one of the many boulangerie's for breakfast or brunch.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again and recommend it 100% for its central location.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leisa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    323
    97
    29
    28
See reviews for
144
226
33
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Level Contributor
99 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Have stayed here 3 times now, and overall have enjoyed each visit. The rooms are very hit and miss - since my first visit they have been refurbished so the decor and amenities are lovely. However the room sizes and room rates are incredibly variable - understandable I guess for somewhere so very central, right by the Champs Elysee I would recommend a room facing the street for a high ceilinged room with a picture window and balcony, the rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter, but smaller in my experience. My room this time was absolutely tiny but perfectly formed - a larger person would have really struggled with the bathroom! I was however incredibly disappointed with the concierge 'taxi booking' service. They advised us to book our taxis the evening before, which we did, and on arriving at the door at the agreed time were informed that the system was broken - so no taxis! An hour later we eventually flagged some down after wandering the streets of Paris, and we were all late for our meeting. Not acceptable.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LKW9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland, or
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Just two blocks off the Champs Elysee, this is a very attractive hotel with extremely helpful staff (who also speak excellent English). Rooms are very large as are the bathrooms which have updated fixtures. We didn't find anything in need of updating. The nit picks: wifi didn't work for two days. Overall, there were clearly computer problems as the business center computers didn't work one day either. One of the two elevators broke down one day and wasn't repaired until the next day. Overall, this was a very enjoyable hotel and we would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: The ones overlooking the interior courtyard with its fountain are especially attractive. However, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank portlandorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutz, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. First of all the finishings are deluxe. But the room was quite small, and only one sink in the bathroom. Although room was small, it was highly ergonomic and an efficient use of space. I had used booking.com and gotten a great rate on what I thought would be a deluxe room (the pictures definitely showed a larger room and much larger bed). The main problem was the size of the bed was so small that my hubbie and I had to take turns sleeping on our backs/sides. Well, it was a romantic holiday and we had a nice time in Paris, making the best of it. But for 4 nights, I think they could have put us in a larger bedded room. We were offered one for "just 40euro more" per night. The other problem was a lack of concierge. The front desk staff absolutely did not know area restaurants. Although I had done considerable research on dining, I was so excited to be in Paris I just wanted to get going to dinner (it was 9 ish) so we thought we'd just ask for a recommendation...We were sent about 10 blocks away to a restaurant that was closed...actually it had been turned into a different sort of nightclub restaurant...Another night we wanted some help with directions to a chosen restaurant and they were unable to find the number or to tell us how far away--it ended up a good 45 minute brisk walk away...and was just closing because noone was there! (fortunately there was another alternative across the street which was fine) Another time they sent us to an extravagantly priced Indian restaurant, it was very nice, but our most expensive meal of the trip, and foodwise was not truly exceptional...Anyway, there was no specific concierge, just whoever was staffing the front (even a bellhop!) would answer a question. That said all the staff were very pleasant, and the hotel is quite nice, and has an awesome location. We did not eat there, there is a Mark and Spencer on the corner nearby where one can pick up breakfast items, and there is a coffemaker in the room so breakfast in the room is no problem. Like I said, although the bed was small, the room functioned well, as furnishings were high end, so no big complaints. In fact the bed and pillows were high quality. I would consider staying here but opt for the bigger room.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

The location was great. the staff and service were wonderful. The hotel is beautiful! And the rooms were big,comfortable and clean, Oh the food was good as well!
I would recomend The hotel california to anyone traveling to Paris!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Warwick Paris
Warwick Paris
#301 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Cristal Champs Elysees
Cristal Champs Elysees
#744 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Monna Lisa
Hotel Monna Lisa
#203 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Royal Hotel Paris Champs Elysees
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Francois 1er
Hotel Francois 1er
#140 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Fraser Suites Le Claridge Champs-Elysees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees

Property: Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees
Address: 16 rue de Berri | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#254 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#337 Business Hotel in Paris
#350 Family Hotel in Paris
#418 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price range (per night): $268 - $579
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1925, this Haussmanian style building has been the favourite luxury hotel of the American press and Hollywood Stars. More than just a hotel, this is an authentic art gallery for all art lovers with its private collection of over 3000 oils and lithographs. With its fine sense of luxury, this 4 star hotel has been turned into a fine family mansion just a step away from the Champs Elysees and belongs to Les Hotels du Roy group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel California Paris Champs Elysees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel California Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing