We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its reputation says it all ”
Review of Louvre Museum

Louvre Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 23.13*
and up
Louvre Museum Direct Entry Ticket
Ranked #8 of 2,275 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Home to Leonardo da Vinci's Mona Lisa, the Louvre is considered the world's greatest art museum, with an unparalleled collection of items covering the full spectrum of art through the ages.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Obviously a great collection of artwork. It’s nice just to walk around the outside even because the building is beautiful. We went on a Tuesday which was a rookie mistake because it’s closed on Tuesday. We then went on Wednesday because it’s open late that evening/ night. We were told it’s less crowded after 6, but it was so packed! Maybe if we would have come later it would have been better? We were there right at 6. We entered through the pyramid, even though people said not to because of the lines.. we had a stroller and we didn’t even have to wait because of it. They let us right in! We grabbed a map at the front desk and were able to find what we wanted to see straight away. The crowds around the Mona Lisa were insane, but we were already prepared for that!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank MargaritaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92,570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"mona lisa"
in 14,510 reviews
"winged victory"
in 936 reviews
"glass pyramid"
in 771 reviews
"audio guide"
in 1,865 reviews
"plan your visit"
in 445 reviews
"works of art"
in 746 reviews
"art lovers"
in 552 reviews
"take your time"
in 595 reviews
"paris pass"
in 544 reviews
"skip the line"
in 748 reviews
"buy tickets"
in 509 reviews
"long line"
in 459 reviews
"visiting paris"
in 470 reviews
"venus"
in 2,459 reviews
"louvre"
in 17,149 reviews
"milo"
in 2,715 reviews
"paintings"
in 5,094 reviews
Filter

4,476 - 4,480 of 92,594 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

Another one to line up for ,enjoyed my day wandering this amazing place .Be prepared for the crowed areas & lots of walking .

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank JoanneQ163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Our kids are 15&18 and we had not been to the Louvre before. We were pretty excited. We purchased the self guided tour through aviator/ trip advisor- and picked up our tickets before hand at a little store near the Louvre. The guy who walked us over there was super nice and informative- and got us to the entrance- no line- that was great. But- the map he gave us and the highlighted pieces of art he suggested on that map- were extremely hard to find and the map was unhelpful. I would never do this again. I would absolutely spend the money for a tour- a guided tour. And we are not really into guided tours. But the Louvre is SO big that you really need help getting through it. We are 2-3 hour museum people ( a day) and for this...we should have invested in the guided tour option. Do not do the self guided tour. Either do the guided tour or get aVERY GOOD map AND figure out where/ what you want to see before you get there. AND- get there early and go to the Mona Lisa first before all of the obnoxious tourists flashing their cameras and doing selfies get there.

Date of experience: April 2018
2  Thank johanns_sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

The good news is the Louvre is one of the largest repositories of art in the world. The bad news is the Louvre is one of the largest repositories of art in the world. Check it out online and map out your visit so you're sure to see everything you want. It's so big it would take you a week to see everything. Of course the Mona Lisa should be on your itin. Be sure to really look at it vs. just taking a selfie of yourself with it. It's a beautiful little treasure. If you love ancient Egypt, you'll absolutely love this exhibit. It's extensive with many of the items thousands of years old. The Winged Victory is impressive as well. She's a beautiful symbol of the power of women. This is a must see on your Paris itin.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Vickie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Long lines. Buy tickets online for a specific time slot but make sure you print the tickets off before you go. This was the shortest line at the louvre. Beautiful

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Alyssa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Louvre Museum also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Louvre Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing