We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Location, Stairs and earplugs”
other travellers have booked this property
NOTRE DAME
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
NOTRE DAME
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
NOTRE DAME
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
Entry
Machines
Baby Pack
NOTRE DAME
Hotel de Ville
Pedestrian street, rue de la Verrerie
Tour Saint Jacques
Typical Parisian Local Market
Le Marais
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Paris, Ile-de-France

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
David B
Anchorage
2 reviews
“Great Location, Stairs and earplugs”
Reviewed 5 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This apartment is perfect for an active family or couple that wants to explore Paris, and have a home base with easy walking access to shipping, biking, the River Seine and the Metro Subway system. My wife and I (40's) went with our two teenagers and had a blast. The apartment was plenty big enough, though I wouldn't call it spacious. The kitchen was well equipped for breakfast, snacks and the occasional full meal while we were there. Again, not huge, but had everything we needed. The only minor negative for us was the proximity to the police station. For the entire stay we heard sirens all the time. To be clear, there was not any problem regarding crime here, but I think the police cars turn on the sirens at the intersections to alert pedestrians, and this apartment is on a heavily traveled pedestrian street shared with vehicles. This was not any problem during the daytime, but we found that in order to not be awakened by the sirens we needed to use earplugs. This would NOT keep me from renting this place again.
It was so easy to get onto the Metro subway from the room, and get to anywhere in Paris in a matter of minutes. Eiffel Tower, Notre Dame (Walk there,) Arc De Triomphe, The Louvre. So many places to explore, and staying here gave us a great home base. Even if we wanted to take a break in the middle of the day from sightseeing, it was close enough to do that.
Another item that one should be aware of is the apartment is situated on the 4th floor up a fairly narrow, spiral staircase. We had no problem with the stairs, as we are pretty active, but I had images of several relatives of mine that would not have liked the daily climb. Our family also took walked the stairs at the Eiffel Tower too, so be the judge of your own physical limitations.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the apartment. We met the owners Hiroko when we checked in, and Theirry when we checked out. We did have a couple questions that were readily answered during our stay, along with great suggestions on dining and grocery shopping in the local area. I always appreciate the ability to meet the actual owner, rather than property manager when I rent a vacation property, and these two people were perfect. Very easy, no surprises. Highly Recommend!! Thanks Thierry and Hiroko! Merci beCoup

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Earplugs
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2016
Bonjour David & Family, it's was a real pleasure to welcome you.
Kind regards
Thierry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert P
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“What a Gem”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was a great place to stay. We (family of 5) with no issues and found the location was amazing. We were steps away from le Hotel de Ville, Notre Dame, Centre Pompidou, shops, cafes, etc...

The apartment was on a higher floor of a great building. The old stairs on the way up were great. We loved that they were original and had a lot of character. It was an easy climb, even with kids and luggage, so don't be turned off by stairs.

The apartment was amazing with a great kitchen, and plenty of space to sleep, and relax. When we return to Paris again, we will certainly try to rent this apartment again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great space, amazing location.
Liked least: Toilet room was not as updated as the rest of the space.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sneezes
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Paris”
Reviewed 9 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed a week in the apartment, which had everything we needed including kitchen, washing machine/dryer and enough space (given it is a central Paris apartment) for the family to spread out. Other reviews have outlined what's in the area in detail. I would sum up by saying the apartment's location is convenient for sightseeing, for walking, metro, or just hanging out and trying out local eateries and shopping.

Yes, it is a bit noisy - but that is your trade-off for location and we were prepared to live with that, so it didn't bother us. We keep busy during the day, so were tired enough to sleep fine. Yes, it is on the 3rd floor (no lift), but we knew that and so not an issue for us (and we travelled with smaller suitcases so we could take them up the stairs without too much trouble).

Thierry was excellent to deal with by email - although direct through Paris Interiors rather than TripAdvisor. Welcoming person was helpful enough. Agree with others that weekend rate charged by greeter company is steep. Damage deposit was returned promptly after our stay ended.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and I would recommend the apartment to others (and if you have older kids).

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnTheRoad...
Burlington, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice but Noisy”
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We arrived from Canada early morning on our check in date. Luckily the flat was available and they were able to let us in early. We met Astrid of the welcoming team who was very nice and informative. We arrived before she did but enjoyed a nice cafe au lait in the cafe just across the street. I was worried about the climb to the flat but it was not that bad. It is a spiral staircase of 3 flights with about 20 stairs each. The flat is not large but has everything you need. The kitchen is well appointed with plenty of dishes if you are a few people (we were 5 adults). We did not cook there but had breakfast and snack foods. There is a grocery store right outside the front doors as well as a bakery and deli around the corner. There are also many cafes so you will never be without sustenance. The beds (including the pull out couch) were very comfortable. The building is also secure, clean and in good repair.

The location of the flat is excellent. It sits in a area which leads into an all pedestrian area with many restaurants and small shops. It is also very close to Notre Dame and the Louvre. We were able to walk everywhere with no trouble. There is excellent shopping and restaurants right outside the door and is very close to Hotel de Ville metro stop. We took the RER from the airport and had no problems at all, it was easy. My only complaint would be the noise factor which was a big problem for us as we are used to quiet. Since this flat is situated in a busy area, in a busy city you hear all sorts of noise at night and all night long. Sirens and traffic noise are brutal. You can also hear every word people say as they walk home late at night from the bars and cafes. We heard many fights, many conversations and people being sick after a night of drinking. We had a lot of trouble sleeping due to the noise but this is not to be unexpected in a big city.

Before arriving, I dealt a lot with Thierry via email. He was always pleasant, informative and punctual with his responses. He was really a pleasure to deal with.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveStann...
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable, well-equipped, great location. Learn to whistle!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Having taken an early morning flight from Manchester, we arrived at the apartment well before the check-in time. The greeting service contacted the cleaner who allowed us into the apartment to drop off our luggage which was great. It enabled us to nip across the cobbled street and grab a much-needed drink at Le Verre Luisant, just yards from the front door, without having to worry about our suitcases.

It was about noon when the greeter came to find us and show us around the apartment. It is superbly located, comfortable and very well equipped. The sofa-bed converted quickly and easily and was very comfortable (as were all the beds). The kitchen has a toaster, coffee machine, combi microwave and a dishwasher as well as electric and gas hob. The bathroom cupboard houses the washer and condenser dryer and the shower is powerful if a little difficult to find a temperature between scalding and freezing. There is also a bright shaving light over a large mirror. All in all, a great apartment.

Best of all though - the location. There are 4 eateries within a few yards of the front door and 2 supermarkets just a few yards along the cobbled Rue De La Verrerie. The Hotel De Ville metro line is only 2 minutes' walk. Notre Dame is about 10 minutes' walk and The Louvre maybe 15 minutes away. We also walked all the way to the Arc De Triomphe one day and around The Marais on another - taking in Village St Paul, Place Des Vosges, the Bastille and the Musee Carnavalet. There is also a Batobus station at the Hotel De Ville which allows a pleasant hop-on, hop-off journey on the Seine to Musee D'Orsay and the Eiffel Tower among others.

A few minor gripes - there are a lot of steps up to the apartment so might not be suitable for everyone; It is a lively area and a busy street so, although the windows do shut out most of the noise, you do hear an occasional car horn, siren and the bin men on Thursday morning; There are no locks on any doors and the toilet room is very small and dark.

Finally, I didn't read the description properly and was surprised to be charged 40 euros for checking in and out on a Saturday - particularly 20 euros for the checkout, which consisted of leaving the keys on the dining table and closing the door, seems steep. Having said that, I wouldn't hesitate to book Le Marais Notre Dame again next time I come to Paris.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location - everything you need is just a few yards away.
Liked least: The toilet room could be decorated more brightly and better lit... ...and a lock on the door maybe?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing