We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My best meal in Paris”
Review of Le Petit Bordelais - CLOSED

Le Petit Bordelais
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 0 - USD 60
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Description: Le Petit Bordelais features regular in the restaurant columns of French newspapers and magazines. This chic fine dining restaurant is between les Invalides and the Eiffel Tower. The décor is sophisticated and the service warm and welcoming.There is a definate South West influence in the regularly changing menu, for example the side of beef in a Bordeaux sauce.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My best meal in Paris”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We had heard about this restaurant through trip advisor and were not disappointed. Excellent food that clearly was crafted with skill and caring. Additionally, the chef owner was a pleasure to chat with.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Salil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    141
    29
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Really lovely dinner near Rue Cler/7th”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

My daughter and I stayed near Rue Cler, by the Ecole Militaire. This restaurant, which allows easy, easy reservations on line, opened at 8 and was a quick walk. We had the Prix Fixe dinner, plus wine pairings for 70E each. The wine choices were excellent. The foie gras was dense and buttery, and lightened by a superb pear sauce. The scallops were perfectly done, and our favorite. A serving of cheeses and a cream pastry plus coffee completed a lovely dinner. We were greeted at the door by the owner who came to the table a couple of other times to chat. Altogether, a very nice dinner in a lovely ambience.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank njschultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great find - thanks again, Trip Advisor”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Couldn't disagree more with the last review. Compared with many restaurants in the centre of Paris, le Petit Bourdelais is excellent value while serving innovative food. It is, as a previous reviewer said, rare to find a good Parisian restaurant serving a reasonably-priced fixed menu in the evening. We will definitely return - and, after this first experience, next time we are looking forward to ordering their Menu de Degustation.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WendyAnn_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La-Baule-Escoublac, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not what I was looking for”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I'd say this was a tourist trap for Americans. Funny thing was that we ended up sitting in between two other American couples. Over priced menu with average French food.
They were very welcoming but over the top. Not only did the chef come out to greet us but he stayed in the main dining room the entire night. Shouldnt he be back in the kitchen preparing our food?!?. Instead he came to our table 2 times that night. Not really what I was looking for.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfectly French”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

I booked this rest. For NYE. If you like a more traditional French fare then this restaurant is a must do if close to you. Food was excellent, Chef Phillipe comes to check on your satisfaction at least twice during the meal. The scallops and poached poultry were incredible. If you do prix fix menu come hungry because we rolled out into the street when we were done. We will be back next trip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank apop996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Petit Bordelais also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing