We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated, in my opinion.”
Review of Apostrophe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apostrophe Hotel
Ranked #174 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Overrated, in my opinion.”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Really tiny rooms. Artistic but barely enough space to get around. Good point was the free wifi but for the price, charging for breakfast felt a little like overkill. Location was good, near metro and the RER station. But coming from Rome where we got really outstanding service, the lack of basics (at least to us) like free tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary drinking water felt like glaring misses. Will definitely stay somewhere else the next time we visit Paris.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yilin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoemHotel, General Manager at Apostrophe Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
We are sorry to read that our hotel did not meet your expectations.
Perhaps you did not get the whole picture of what our hotel is all about. We strongly recommend that you visit our website and get the right information before booking (size, amenities...)
Just to let you know, we are not a big chain hotel but nethertheless we go beyond our habilities to provide an excellent service and a pleasurable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    183
    27
    4
    3
See reviews for
40
437
49
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I have zero complaints with my stay. I'll also say that a review of any travel experience is always measured against expectations.
My expectation (and what I was looking for in a hotel) was a clean, boutique hotel in a convenient area in the latin quarter of Paris. All expectations were met and exceeded. Overall, I loved my stay, enjoyed the hotel and the staff, and would absolutely recommend the hotel without hesitation.

Room: We stayed in the "Man" room symbolized by the upside down "A". The room was as advertised. Queen bed, very comfortable (not two twins, but a true queen). Large closet. As in other reviews, of note is that the shower and bathroom sink are a part of your room. I thought this was charming. It helped that the shower was incredible. The toilet is its own bathroom and is private.

Staff: The staff were all exceptionally helpful. Someone at the desk 24/7. They had recommendations, made our reservations, called our room an hour before to ask if we needed taxis. When we came downstairs, they had maps printed to get us to our restaurants. Made the stay that much nicer. Also of note, I booked through Tablet.com. When I received my confirmation, I emailed and asked for as nice a room as possible (seemingly obvious but can't hurt) as every room at the Apostrophe is different. They were so accommodating, giving us the top floor room with a view. It was much appreciated.

All in all, a great boutique hotel. Not for the people looking for amenity-driven hotels or luxury. But I wouldn't call it "no-frills" either. It was charming, very comfortable, modern and well appointed. But definitely a Paris Boutique hotel and not a luxury or chain-like establishment.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 February 2012

A great location, walking distance to everything and close to the Metro. It's a funky, interesting hotel, each space depicting a peice of Paris history. Our room was tiny but cleverly designed. With a bit of discipline we were able to stow our gear and still walk around the bed (not over the top of it as with some Paris hotels!). I definitely need to comment on the shower. With multiple shower jets it's a heavenly way to refresh and relax at the end of a long day. English speaking staff were lovely, helpful and couldn't do enough for us in terms of recommendations of where to eat and what to see. Breakfast delivered to our room (for the same price as to eat downstairs) was an added bonus. We loved it and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Our room ('S') was tiny but you can get bigger (if you pay more, I guess). In a quiet side s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Simply the best hotel visit I've ever had. The staff was extremely helpful, and all were very kind and thoughtful. The room was beautiful, and even a little larger than I expected. The location was great; steps away from the Luxembourg Gardens and Catacombs tour. I didn't even need to use the Metro once, as all the major attractions were within walking distance. Fabulous neighborhood with restaurants, bakeries and shops. I would recommend this hotel to anyone; I'm returning with my family next spring and we can't wait! Believe all the great reviews of the Apostrophe!

Room Tip: Take a look at their website, you can request particular rooms which appeal to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

This is real boutique hotel, with a unique theme, small in size and with attentive service. Located in typical Parisian building, it is newly renovated, modernly designed, functional and well located for sight-seeing, dining and getting there and away. The hotel is less than 10 minutes’ walk from RER Port-Royal which is direct line from Charle-de-Gaulle airport. Vavin metro station is 2 minutes’ walk and it will take you 10 minutes on foot to get to Montparnasse tower and railway station with a lot of restaurants and cafes on your way, some of them quite famous, like La Coupole. The area around Montparnasse is known as one of the areas to dine and wine in Paris. There is a shopping center and Galeries Lafayette in the Montparnasse tower. We walked several times to Latin quarter – another area packed with restaurants and cafes, center of student life, bustling with activity and hence tourists as well – which took us pleasant half-an-hour or so, along picturesque boulevards of central Paris. Central location makes all Parisian sights easily accessible by metro.
We stayed in room «Livre» (book). It is small. Even smaller than average hotel room in Paris. They do put the little space available to best use – the room is functional, everything necessary is there (big wardrobe with full-sized mirror, safe, table, chair). The sink is in the room, but well blended into its design. Excellent modern jet-shower. Restricted space gives inconveniences, for example, very little space between the wall and the bed. With the wardrobe located next to the window you need to squeeze that way several times a day. It was autumn, so to store our coats after a walk we had to cross the room all the way to the window, first removing our shoes, with coats in hand. Limited space to store luggage. Not a big deal, you just need to set your expectations right. For me the big plus for a Parisian hotel was that it is newly renovated, shower and all appliances are new and working properly, good water pressure in the shower which is by far not a given in a hotel situated in the center merely because most buildings are old and originally not constructed for modern requirements in electricity, heating and water. Design of each of their rooms is unique and has a history behind it, which is described in the booklet in the room - makes it special.

Service is excellent, our room was very clean and well maintained. The staff are very attentive and friendly, all staff at reception we met spoke very good English. They were genuinely interested in us, what we are going to do, how was our day and if we need anything. Attentive to details. For example, we bought two new suitcases, and they offered to store the old ones for us so that we have enough space in the room.
There is a bar in the small lobby downstairs. We had one breakfast in the room on our last day to save the time, and it was good, typical French mix of baguette, butter and jam with orange juice and coffee, all good quality. Delivered precisely on time we asked. Same value for money you will get in most of cafes in the area.
The price of the night was somewhat higher than the average we paid for a similiar room. Given the comfort, level of service, convinient location and atmosphere the hotel is definitely good value for your money and a comfortable and welcoming place to have a rest after a busy day.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluecrush_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoemHotel, General Manager at Apostrophe Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time and writing such an extensive review. Seems that we have inspired you ! Truly we are unique in an exclusive neighborhood and we apreciate you pointing out that at Apostrophe hotel you get what you paid for. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#163 of 1,802 in Paris
686 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Chaplain
Hotel Chaplain
#211 of 1,802 in Paris
790 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Academies et des Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
#135 of 1,802 in Paris
504 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Louison Hotel
Louison Hotel
#201 of 1,802 in Paris
1,103 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Sainte Beuve
Hotel Sainte Beuve
#32 of 1,802 in Paris
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apostrophe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apostrophe Hotel

Property: Apostrophe Hotel
Address: 3 rue de Chevreuse, 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#137 Business Hotel in Paris
#387 Family Hotel in Paris
Price range (per night): $164 - $339
Hotel Class:3 star — Apostrophe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apostrophe is a stylish design hotel set near Saint-Germain-des-Pres and the Luxembourg Gardens in central Paris. It offers air-conditioned rooms, free Wi-Fi and modern facilities. Guest rooms at the Apostrophe include a flat-screen TV, DVD and CD player and a powerful jet shower together with a rain shower. They are uniquely decorated and each room has a different theme. The Balneo rooms have a jacuzzi bath with chromotherapy. Breakfast is "a la carte" and served in room without any extra charge. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. The Apostrophe is near Vavin Metro station and the RER at Port-Royal. This gives direct access to the heart of the city and CDG or Orly Airport via the RER B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Apostrophe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apostrophe Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing