We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Paris-Avenue Marceau
Ranked #568 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2012

This is a small luxury hotel in the best part of Paris. Looking outside our window, we to the right could see Arc de Triumph and to the left the Eiffel Tower. If you like the old pompous hotel, you should not stay here. This is a small, nice hotel with attention to details. I have never seen so many attentive staff at same time in a European hotel, that was ready to give you service whenever you need it.

Lovely and high quality of the guest rooms with Hermes bathroom amenities, nice fabrics and good features such as I-pod station and good selection of english TV-channels. Perfect with free internet and a well stocked minibar. Our room was on the higher floor and was bright and elegant in a modern, but classy, way.

Restaurant was nice and with a good atmosphere. It is located inside the hotel, so at a first sight you might guess it is an empty place for a few hotel guest, but it was actually full of frenchmen enjoying the high quality of food. We was a little bit picky in our need, but they solved it without a problem.

Breakfast was very high class, they serving you whatever you need and more. I think to be Paris it is generous to have this comprehensive small buffet. Even if I praise it, because it is a small jewel, on the same time it was maybe to small in some points. The corridors was narrow and you could easily get a poky feeling, but when you come to your room that disappear directly. Not a really hidden salon where you can sit by your self in the lobby area or the bar.

Comparing with other upscale premium hotel in Paris, I think you get a good value here if you enjoy the discretion and personality that comes with a small hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KamiltonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

383 - 387 of 671 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2012

As the other reviews state the rooms are small but the rooms are very clean and modern, the beds are very comfortable. The smallest of the rooms didn't bother my wife and I so much as we were probably out of the room 80% of the time. The hotel is situated in a great location so the use of cabs were minimal. Also the Concierge service was outstanding and the rest of the staff were great. I would return again to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KD1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Keen to find value, location and comfort in centre of Paris we stumbled over this property and achieved two of these three criteria ! Rooms are minuscule even in premium categories but service, comfort and breakfasts were all excellent. Travel light as storage space is at a premium - sleep heavily as beds are very comfy !!

Room Tip: Check room size before booking or accepting on check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agedbutcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

This review is a bit unfair since I did stay at this property over a year ago. That said ... I have been to Paris subsequently three times and did pop into the hotel on two other occasions - most recently in October 2011. I am member of the Intercontinental's Ambassador program and had a perfect stay three weeks later at the Intercon in Bali.

The positives:
The location is excellent and the concierge service was exceptional. Not surprisingly, two concierge members were les clef d'or from the Four Seasons George V - Oliver Cambournac and Vincent Evain. I was in Paris for a wedding and they were invaluable coordinating my itinerary and even wrapping my various gifts. In September 2011, I requested - and received - travel advice from the concierge team even when I was not staying at the hotel on a subsequent Paris trip. I did forget my hat at the bell desk and the concierge did leave a message at my hotel at CDG. If not for the concierge desk, my rating of the hotel would have been a "1". The concierge team should be rated a "5" and certainly a class act.

The negatives:
All the reviews are correct. My room was small - even by European standards. If available, I typically receive an upgraded room with my Ambassador status; as another review already stated, I just hope my room was not upgraded. It was too small for even one person and there was not enough room to put one suitcase. It was also expensive, though I did have a certificate for one free weekend night courtesy of my Ambassador status. This certificate was the source of my biggest gripe.

To avoid any confusion whether this certificate would be good with the booked rate, I spoke to an Intercontinental reservation agent in America and did not book on the Internet. I went over with the agent several times whether the certificate would be good and asked that a notation be placed in the reservation that I met all the terms. When I went to check-in, the front desk manager questioned whether the certificate would be good - no language problems here, she is English. After a little back and forth, she agreed to accept the certificate. But when I went to check-out, I did not receive the free night. A different person said that the certificate did not apply to the room rate. I explained that I already went over this issue with the front desk manager and she agree to accept the certificate. This person then went to the back office and found my certificate attached to the sign-in card, with the certificate signed and dated at the time of check-in. She finally acquiesced and said that she was "doing me a favor." I went apoplectic. As a general business principle, you cannot say that you are doing me a favor when you are just doing what was previously agreed upon. While it was not their responsibility, I reviewed what had just transpired with the concierge desk and said this was completely unacceptable.

One further problem that I encountered was the room did not have a "do not disturb" card and the maid service - understandably - kept knocking on the door. This was an not optimal situation with overcoming jet-lag. The next day a "do not disturb" card was placed in my room.

As a confirmation of the service issues with this property, I was in Paris two months ago staying with friends, and went by the hotel to thank Oliver - and leave him a tip - for helping me. For the tip, however, I needed change and went to the front desk for smaller bills. The same English front desk manager (I have nothing against her and she seems like a nice person) was working at the time, but she said that she could not provide change since she did not have a key. My visit was not on a weekend or a bank holiday - it was the middle of the week - and I was going to have wait for change. Remember this hotel has a five-star rating.

Before suggesting some of the problems could be attributable to "cultural differences," I do travel internationally three to four months a year, have several French friends, and - once upon a time - I did have a French wife. After this review, I will give my regards to the concierge team when in Paris next month ... I just will not be staying at the hotel.

Room Tip: I never do this but if I were to stay at the hotel - and I am not - I would ask to see the room befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SanMoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Hotel is quite expensive about 2 or 3 blocks from the Champs Elysees. The staff are quite friendly and answered any questions. The room was very small. I was entitled to an upgrade as an Ambassador member and if this room was an upgrade, it must have been upgraded from a broom closet. We were shocked to find a single desk chair for 2 people. Requested another chair which when delivered was anothe unconfortable desk chair. So dismayed I intend to cancell my membership.

Room Tip: Inspect your assigned room before checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hopbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, IHGCARE at InterContinental Paris-Avenue Marceau, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Dear Hopbob,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at InterContinental Paris-Avenue Marceau. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests.

I am pleased you did find our staff as friendly and helpful. We would like to express our sincere apologies for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay at InterContinental Paris-Avenue Marceau and for the inconvenience this has invariably caused you.

Thank you and best regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Radisson Blu Hotel Champs Elysees, Paris
Champs-Elysees
Sofitel Paris Arc de Triomphe
Opera / Bourse
InterContinental Paris Le Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Napoleon Paris
Hotel Napoleon Paris
#111 of 1,802 in Paris
356 reviews
Hyatt Paris Madeleine
#264 of 1,802 in Paris
1,176 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Balzac
Hotel Balzac
#699 of 1,802 in Paris
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Paris-Avenue Marceau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Paris-Avenue Marceau

Address: 64 avenue Marceau, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#200 Business Hotel in Paris
#210 Family Hotel in Paris
#325 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#379 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $313 - $658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Paris-Avenue Marceau 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW HOTEL... A stroll from the Champs Elysées and the Arc de Triomphe, close to trendy french restaurants and to the Avenue Montaigne's couturiers, not far from Place Vendome's jewellers, the newly opened Crowne Plaza Paris Champs Elysées is the ideal adress for your stay in Paris.It is also the place for business travelers and corporate meetings with its 300m2 of meeting facilities. Located with easy access to Porte Maillot, La Défense, Le Palais des Congrès, and Orly and Roissy Airports.Harmony of modernity, comfort, design, a jewel box of unique objects, the Crowne Plaza Paris-Champs Elysées is the new place of the capital that you must not miss.This former private mansion once owned by the Comte de Breteuil, displays a Haussmannian façade which hides from glances two other buildings of surprising architectural style. Once the porch has been passed through, decorated with a work of art by Raymond Moretti,a Picasso follower,a garden patio and a Renaissance inspiration turret appear.In such an environment the visitor feels immersed in a universe mingling warm colours, immaculate white, works of art and noble materials. Designed by Bruno Borrione,a member of Philippe Starck s staff for 20 years,the decoration of this luxurious hotel plunges the guests into a warm and comfortable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, IHG, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Paris-Avenue Marceau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Paris-Avenue Marceau Hotel Paris
Crowne Plaza Paris
Crowne Plaza Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing