We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need in a hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Ranked #5 of 166 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Avignon, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everything you need in a hostel”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

This is a great hostel for Paris. It is worth paying a little extra for the security and convenience that St. Christopher's provides. There are always lots of people around, free breakfast, good location, and friendly staff. The hostel rooms are huge, with massive lockers (although noisy... not great when people are reaching for their stuff in the middle of the night), and beds are clean. My only disappointment was with a few of the other people in the dorm, who were incredibly horrible and selfish young women who proved the tag given to travellers from a certain country. But people are people everywhere, even in the most beautiful city in the world!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilyr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    485
    181
    54
    42
See reviews for
21
119
497
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed in a double room with ensuite, so we did not experience the full "hostel-vibe". The breakfast is basic but good, the lockers are big and easy to rent.

The hostel itself is located in the 19th district, which is very much up and coming with bars, restaurants and other hang-outspots for youth. The center of Paris is not very near, but there is a metro station nearby. The Louvre is about 20-30 minutes away, depending on how busy the time of day is.

The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly and there are A LOT of lockers (small, medium and big). All in all, a great experience, great value for money.

Room Tip: Double rooms have a very big balcony with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Good, clean and nice facilities. Large lockers, big rooms, clean bathrooms. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Location is the only thing not good in this hostel. It is close to metro stations but far from everything in walking distance (taxi is the only option if you come back late at night)..and the neighborhood is not exactly the best to be walkng at nit.

The bar closes very early and during our stay, not a lot of people hang out there.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank eszechet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I stayed in St. Christopher's Paris Hostel between March 13 and 15. The environment is cool, is has a bar downstairs where you can eat, make friends and it also has a internet spot available for all bedrooms. For me this was surely one of their pros.

I stayed in a double bedroom. It has a little skin in it, so it was helpful to brush you teeth or wash your face when waking up. Is has also a little table with an eletric kettle and some power coffee and tea and a couple crackers. The bedroom was neat and cleaned every day. For me is was a little bit unconfortable to know that a stranger to you entered your bedroom to clean with your stuff in it.

The breakfast is not that rich. It had only some bread, nutella, jelly, juice and coffee available. Sometimes it was so crowded that the silverware ran out and it took a long time to provide clean ones.

The hostel is a little bit far from the main attractions, but as the subway system is very well connected, it is easy and relatively fast to get to the places. One thing that was very good is that the hostel is in a plain site. I noticed that my other options were located in Montmartre and there was up in a hill, so after walking about 10 hours one day I couldn't even think about going up somewhere. It was a relief to return to St. Christopher's.

The bathroom in my floor was kinda far from the bedroom. Women's bathroom were in the end of a long hall, the door squeaked out loud. I also was not fond of the bath system. After you pressed the button to start the shower it took about 25 seconds to shut down the water, then you had to press it again. Washing my hair was a little bit annoying, but nothing that would make me rate the hostel negatively. I had a blast in it and I recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Nice and clean hostel (even according to Scandinavian standards). Crimee Metro station is really close by and the line 7 takes you directly to the city centre from there. Small markets, cafes and places to eat all around the place. The hostel has a nice bar with good food and ok prices. I walked to the city centre the first day and it is not too far away and the big streets feel safe.

The downsides are that, first, there is no kitchen in the hostel and not even a possibility to make your own tea/coffee. Second, no bigger/better maps of the city available so you might want to take one from the airport. Third, I would've hoped for more showers (not a real problem though). And the last thing, this is not one of those cozy little hostels where the staff becomes your family. This is more hotel-like.

Overall St Christopher's is deffinately a good place to stay. It's not cheap but worth the investment I think. It's safe and clean and welcoming!

Remember to take slippers since the shower might be a bit further away from your room. And if you want to use the lockers under the beds, take a bit bigger padlock...I was unable to use mine which is only of normal seize.

Oh, and free wifi is a big plus! And the fact that all the beds have curtains to provide privacy and a possibility to sleep when you want.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FinnishFemale123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel France Albion
Hotel France Albion
#271 of 1,802 in Paris
998 reviews
Montmartre
Ibis Paris Montmartre 18eme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
Montmartre
Le Village Hostel
Le Village Hostel
#2 of 166 in Paris
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's Canal Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's Canal Paris

Property: St Christopher's Canal Paris
Address: 159 Rue Crimee | 68-74 Quai de la Seine, 75019 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > La Villette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 166 Speciality Lodging in Paris
Price range (per night): $44 - $204
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's Canal Paris 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A multi-award winning hostel only three stops away from the Gare du Nord Eurostar station with a waterfront terrace overlooking the Canal St Martin with modern pod beds and FREE WiFi. We offer a variety of rooms including female only dorms and private rooms and every room includes heating, electronic key security, secure locker storage, private or shared bathrooms and modern hostel POD beds with curtains for extra privacy as well as comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your St Christopher's Canal Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Christopher`s Paris Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing